24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy as and a fantastic cake! The children loved it and all of the parents told me that it was the best ice cream cake they'd ever had! Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieD Oz May 06, 2010

Love this idea! I made it with some 3-chocolate ice cream sandwiches and gave it an oreo crust. First ice cream layer was cookies and cream. I covered that with a layer of magic shell and then let it freeze up a bit. Covered the magic shell with crumbled oreos than piled on top a layer of yummy chocolate ice cream. Then more magic shell, yay! Topped it off with whipped cream and a few rocher candy I had on hand and of course... More Magic Shell! Anyway, everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne :) February 19, 2010

I made this for my dad's birthday and it was a huge hit. My 2 kids had a blast helping make it. We just used 2 flavors of the 1.5qt ice creams and a thin layer of whipped cream on top with squirt whipped cream as decoration with cherries on top. Also put an extra layer of oreo mixture in between layers. Everyone said it tasted better than a Carvel cake.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa Webster June 23, 2008

I made this for my daughter's 4th birthday (at her request after looking at recipes together) and it was a huge hit!! We did make 2 changes, I used a graham cracker crust, Basic Graham Cracker Crust, as she preferred that to oreos and we used all strawberry ice cream in the middle. It used up most of a half-gallon. This couldn't have been easier and is very impressive!! Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TnuSami January 30, 2008

Easy and a hit. Cut the ice cream sandwiches quickly when frozen. Get soft fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
closet chef in ma December 30, 2007

I made this for a party we had last night, and it was a hit. For some reason (user error), I had a hard time with the directions - like I read the 15 oreos, then that you processed them, but didn't realize you only processed 12. Then I got to the end and re-read that you are supposed to freeze overnight! Not sure how I missed that before because I must have read the recipe at least 3 times, and I read a bunch of the reviews. One thing I don't remember anyone mentioning is how difficult it is to cut when you take it out of the freezer. (I guess the ~7 hours was enough time in the freezer!) Maybe there should be a step to take it out 10 minutes before serving? Oh, and I used Peanut butter tracks (a take on moose tracks, but with pb ice cream instead of vanilla), chocolate, and cookie dough. It was very good, but I think I'd like to try different flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three December 23, 2007

This cake was great! I made it peanut butter chocolate instead of oreo. I used peanut butter filled oreos, peanut butter ice cream sandwiches, peanut butter cup ice cream, dark chocolate gelato, and moose tracks ice cream. I topped it with chopped peanut butter cups instead of oreos. What a pretty and tasty ice cream cake. My husband had wanted a Dairy Queen ice cream cake for his birthday but it is an hour away so I made this and he said it was better than a DQ cake! Thanks so much for sharing this!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Christi December 03, 2007

Wow this is so good. I made it for my DGD birhtday, I made it with 2 flavors with crushed cookies in between the flavors. I made it in a 10 inch. spring form pan, I thought we needed that little extar cause there was a lot coming to her 5th bithday party. Everyone just loved it, it didn't last long. Thanks so much for a lovely cake and so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robirdie October 07, 2007

I made this for my step-son's birthday. Everyone loved it and kept going on about how much time it must have taken to make (heehee...it was so easy!). The presentation is fantastic. I used chocolate, strawberry and vanilla ice creams. I think next time I'll try different flavors to make it even more unique. Thanks so much for the posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Robin October 02, 2007
Layered Ice Cream " Cake"