Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layered Fruit Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layered Fruit Salad

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2002

      I made this for a church women's group function. I doubled the recipe and layered the fruit in a large trifle bowl. It looked so beautiful. The citrus-y dressing was just delicious and the touch of cinnamon was extra special. This recipe is stunning in looks and delicious in taste. Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I am not a big fan of fruit salad with sauces. I prefer to just have a bowl of simple cut up fruit instead where the flavor of the fruit really shines. And that was my plan for my Mother's Day brunch yesterday but as I was cutting up the fruit and tasting it, I was pretty disappointed in the quality of the fruit. It just wasn't sweet and juicy enough. So I decided to try this recipe and I was very pleased. The fruit was still simple but it enchanced it quite a bit. I had different fruits than those listed- strawberries, blueberries, rasberries, blackberries, fresh pineapple and cantalope but they all worked well with the sauce. Everyone really enjoyed it. I did only chill if for a couple of hours and I thought that was perfect. When I went back later that afternoon some of the fruit was getting mushy and the syrup was starting to overtake the simplicity of the fruit. Overall, we really enjoyed this dish. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      I used oranges, bananas, pineapple, and strawberries and this was really wonderful. Even better than I anticipated - the sauce is subtle but wonderful. Won't use bananas again because they got mushy in the leftovers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This was an absolutely beautiful fruit salad, and the best tasting one I've every had. It's a bit pricey to make, but well worth it. I added fresh blueberries and raspberries as well, which rounded out every color in the rainbow. I highly recommend using a fresh pineapple for this instead of canned, the color is much more brillant and the taste is so much better.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      We loved it. I made 3 servings, and put them in two glasses, 1.5 servings each. It turned out beautiful. I put them in the fridge overnight. Everything stays pretty except for some thin pieces of banana turned grey. Tips: cut the banana in thick pieces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      I have made this several times and everyone loved it! I actually had coworkers disappointed when I didn't bring it in for our next potluck...I will not make that mistake again :). Very tasty, light and refreshing. I have used various fruits each time, all we're great. Beautiful when presented in glass trifle bowl! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I made a few substitutions with this salad. First, I subbed cara cara oranges for strawberries which aren't in season here. The kiwis were omitted because they aren't our favorite fruit. Used the juice of the cara cara oranges and juice of Meyer lemon, too. All fruit used was fresh except for a small can of pineapple. The pineapple juice was added to the mixture, too. Very easy and went well with an Indian dal main dish. Reviewed for Best of 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Quick, easy, delicious fruit salad recipe-I do not usually add sugar to my fruit salad, but the combination of brown sugar, citrus and cinnamon was lovely! I made this without bananas because I don't like the texture of bananas in fruit salad. I made this for Best of 2010 Tag-thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      OH I love this recipe! I have made this a couple of times with different combinations of fruit. I was afraid to try with grapefruit so I left that out each time. This is delicious, subtle, and very easy to make. This recipe doubles easily and makes a wonderful presentation. I have never had any leftovers! Thanks for great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      I love this; it's easy and beautiful. Cinnamon stick not necessary.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      This was good, except that I felt the grapefruit and cinnamon combination worked very poorly. I'll probably leave both of them out next time, and throw in either more tropical fruits like mango or berries depending on the season.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Fabulous! I really enjoyed this and so did my guests. It looked fantastic in a trifle dish. I was a little worried that the fruit would get really soggy, so I only prepared it a few hours in advance and I left out the banana. I look forward to making this again when local berries are out. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      FABULOUS!! Although i've never really been fond of fruit salad- I LOVED THIS!! The sauce really makes this so wonderful. Substituted splenda for brown sugar. Fruit used was strawberries, grapes, pineapple, kiwi, oranges, apples & mango. Really awesome!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Nice sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      This is a really nice fruit salad. I used apples, pineapple, oranges, strawberries, & kiwi. The sauce compliments the fruit very well & enhances the flavors. To be honest I was wanting a little more sweetness in the sauce, but this is still really good. I would suggest this when you're wanting a fresh & light fruit salad. I loved the cinnamon in it as well and we'll be making this often! Thanks for this recipe that will help us get in more of our much needed fruit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Love this! Served it at my daughters 4th birthday and nothing was left! I used canned pineapple chunks, apples, grapes, banana, and strawberries instead of the specified fruits and it still came out great. Thanks for a lovely and refreshing fruit salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This recipe was just OK for me and I was actually disappointed in the sauce. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This turned out very good. Took to a dinner gathering and everyone enjoyed. I found the sauce to be a nice combination of tart & sweet, definitely not bitter as some others had said. I included bananas, oranges, strawberries, and grapes in my salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      This was really nice! I had my reservations as I feared the bananas would brown or the apple slices darken ( I used pear and apple in my variation) but surprisingly the fruit stayed sweet, and the dressing was very refreshing. Finally a make-ahead fruit salad, very handy for company and especially nice for a summer luncheon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! The dressing was somewhat bitter so I added some splenda. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layered Fruit Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 214.9
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    88%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.7 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 40.6 g
    162%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites