43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a church women's group function. I doubled the recipe and layered the fruit in a large trifle bowl. It looked so beautiful. The citrus-y dressing was just delicious and the touch of cinnamon was extra special. This recipe is stunning in looks and delicious in taste. Thanks :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower July 26, 2002

I am not a big fan of fruit salad with sauces. I prefer to just have a bowl of simple cut up fruit instead where the flavor of the fruit really shines. And that was my plan for my Mother's Day brunch yesterday but as I was cutting up the fruit and tasting it, I was pretty disappointed in the quality of the fruit. It just wasn't sweet and juicy enough. So I decided to try this recipe and I was very pleased. The fruit was still simple but it enchanced it quite a bit. I had different fruits than those listed- strawberries, blueberries, rasberries, blackberries, fresh pineapple and cantalope but they all worked well with the sauce. Everyone really enjoyed it. I did only chill if for a couple of hours and I thought that was perfect. When I went back later that afternoon some of the fruit was getting mushy and the syrup was starting to overtake the simplicity of the fruit. Overall, we really enjoyed this dish. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri May 10, 2010

I used oranges, bananas, pineapple, and strawberries and this was really wonderful. Even better than I anticipated - the sauce is subtle but wonderful. Won't use bananas again because they got mushy in the leftovers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SuzieQue July 06, 2009

This was an absolutely beautiful fruit salad, and the best tasting one I've every had. It's a bit pricey to make, but well worth it. I added fresh blueberries and raspberries as well, which rounded out every color in the rainbow. I highly recommend using a fresh pineapple for this instead of canned, the color is much more brillant and the taste is so much better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeAnna Owens March 30, 2008

We loved it. I made 3 servings, and put them in two glasses, 1.5 servings each. It turned out beautiful. I put them in the fridge overnight. Everything stays pretty except for some thin pieces of banana turned grey. Tips: cut the banana in thick pieces.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ehm...Doughnuts! January 11, 2008

I have made this several times and everyone loved it! I actually had coworkers disappointed when I didn't bring it in for our next potluck...I will not make that mistake again :). Very tasty, light and refreshing. I have used various fruits each time, all we're great. Beautiful when presented in glass trifle bowl! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Avica July 09, 2012

I made a few substitutions with this salad. First, I subbed cara cara oranges for strawberries which aren't in season here. The kiwis were omitted because they aren't our favorite fruit. Used the juice of the cara cara oranges and juice of Meyer lemon, too. All fruit used was fresh except for a small can of pineapple. The pineapple juice was added to the mixture, too. Very easy and went well with an Indian dal main dish. Reviewed for Best of 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 30, 2012

Quick, easy, delicious fruit salad recipe-I do not usually add sugar to my fruit salad, but the combination of brown sugar, citrus and cinnamon was lovely! I made this without bananas because I don't like the texture of bananas in fruit salad. I made this for Best of 2010 Tag-thanks for a new family favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jociecee February 27, 2011

OH I love this recipe! I have made this a couple of times with different combinations of fruit. I was afraid to try with grapefruit so I left that out each time. This is delicious, subtle, and very easy to make. This recipe doubles easily and makes a wonderful presentation. I have never had any leftovers! Thanks for great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oh Taste & See... October 25, 2010

I love this; it's easy and beautiful. Cinnamon stick not necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn September 04, 2010
Layered Fruit Salad