Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on March 03, 2005

      These are so good! I've made them several times. The only change I make is to leave out the nuts because I don't like them. They are always a hit! Thanks for posting, Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2005

      Oh WOW! These cookies were so rich and delicious! It is Definately going into my permanent cookbook. I used salted butter on the bottom layer, and I think it added a nice taste to the graham cracker crumbs kind of a salty sweet thing going on. Thanks for posting Marg!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2004

      Made these for a Christmas cookie tray and they were very good. We made the recipe exactly as stated and they turned out very good. We lined the pan with Reynolds’s Release Foil, and they came out beautifully. Maybe next year, I will use red/green M & M’s as Paula G. did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Every year I make these and this year was no exception. DS loves them! This year I sprinkled a few red and green M&M's on top after they were baked and pressed them down slightly. They were very attractive with the red and green addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2004

      Awesome cookies. Has become a Christmas tradition

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      These are a holiday staple at our house! We cut them into small squares and put them out with our other cookies. They are always the first to go. They are very rich and very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2004

      Just finished making a batch of these and they really are delicious! Next time, I'd probably cut back on the butter slightly since I found the base to be just a bit too soft. I had some slivered almonds which I used on top. I figured I'd better put some of them in the freezer right away or there wouldn't be any left by tomorrow! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      This recipe if very simple and great when you are craving sweets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      These are a wonderful and easy bar cookie. Very rich and addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      Just like my mom used to make. My fiancee was loathe to let me give them away for Christmas! haha

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      VERY DELICIOUS, perfect for the holidays. Easy to make, perfect to make with a child!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      These are SO easy to make. Excellent flavour. I used cinnamon chips because I didn't have any butterscotch chips. I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2003

      We dont like butterscotch so we use peanut butter chips, they are devine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2003

      I made as directed - yummy! Very easy to make. 7-Layer Bars were at big hit! Thanks so much for sharing. If you like this recipe, try this other version (without coconut) Simplest 5 ingrdient sweet heaven #46204 ( sorry I don't know how to do a link).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Ditto on all the other reviews! If you're not a nut person, they can totally be left out - or you can substitute Heath toffee pieces - very tastey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2003

      Yum! I made these for a superbowl party and had to try one early... Not only are they super easy but they taste great. Can't wait to share these with the crowd at the game!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2003

      "Heavenly" is what best describes these bars. I had to restrain myself from eating the whole pan. Unfortunately, my hubby doesn't like butterscotch, so I was left to eat them by myself. I decided to share with the neighbors. I left out the nuts (personal preference). I think next time I won't use as much butter or sweetened condensed milk because they were more wet than they needed to be. I enjoyed them anyhow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      Oh my gosh, I have been searching for this recipe for years, my mom used to make it all the time when we were kids in the 60's and I was not able to find it with all her other recipes.....These are the best......Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      These are one of my FAVORITE bar cookies! If you haven't tried them yet, do so! They are really good!!!And simple to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      I used to make these cookies a long time ago, lost the recipe. Thanks so much, these are really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.2
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    55%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 23.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 190.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes