Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2009

      Great cookie one of my top 3 favs for christmas!!!Glad I found this on here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Made with chocolate graham cracker crumbs, chocolate and peanut butter chips...Awesome! Will definitely do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Wow! these layer cookies sure are mighty rich. I omitted the nuts but added some white chocolate chips in place. My dh just loved them. He is a sweet tooth person anyways. They were gone in a flash though. I took the advice and only baked 10-12 minutes. I did find that the bars needed to cool completely before cutting and digging in. I will be making these again, as my boys will be coming for the christmas holidays this year. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Excellent- just how I remember them! Thanks for a great recipe that is quick and easy to make! I crushed a packet of Graham crackers, which yielded about 1.5 cups, so I just melted 3 tablespoons more butter. All I had were mini chocolate chips (semisweet), but the varying textures and sizes of chips was good too. Thanks again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

    • on December 16, 2008

      Super easy. My DH loves these and always one of the first he asks for. Ty for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Love these cookies. So many flavors and very moist. Thanks for sharing Marg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Have been making these for years. They are easy and always the first to go

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      I find these way too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      I have been making these for years and no matter where I go, they are always enjoyed and eaten in a snap. I too sometimes use the heath bars and sometimes milk chocolate chips instead of the butterscotch chips and it gives them another whole dimension. I love them with pistashios or cashews too for a nice change. Great recipe to have on hand when you have kids who need to bring a treat to school or to a party. Kids love these and rave about them. Wendy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      These are very tasty, but I would suggest lining the pan with parchment before cooking AND mixing the butter & graham crackers together and spreading it on the bottom. Some of the graham cracker didn't get wet with enough butter. Otherwise, they are really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      These were so easy and delicious!! I took these to work for Valentines Day and they were a huge hit. I am not a coconut fan, but I tried one of these and loved them, so much so I made a second batch just for home!! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      I just made these with a friend who swears that she cannot bake anything. They came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      I love this recipe because I had everything (except the butterscotch chips) on hand. VERY SWEET, but soooo good. Next time I will try heath bars and maybe peanut butter! Thanks! Awesome recipe. Will definately be a party favorite...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      The flavors in these bars are simply sinful! I love how easy this recipe is. Your friends won't know how easy it was for you to put together. Betcha can't eat just one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      These cookies are absoblutely delicious. They kind of remind me of "Dream Bars" without the black walnuts, and they were so easy to make. Maybe next time, I'll sub black walnuts for the pecans that I used. This will be a must-have recipe for Christmas from now on. Thank you for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      These are great! My husband loved them....these will be enjoyed often since they are very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      I LOVE these bars. I have heard them called "magic bars". I like mine thick so I add a little extra of everything. I have never used nuts with these. There is this great salty-sweet combo in these and they are so moist. Quick and easy for a dessert or afernoon snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      Amazing! So easy to make too. I followed the recipe as directed. Thank you for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I've been making these since I was in Girl Scouts (in the early 1960s! Yikes!) They're still one of the best cookies around, and absolutely wonderful for kids and young cooks. Glad to see this was posted here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.2
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    55%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 23.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 190.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites