Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      I love these cookies, I remember making them with my mother when I was a little girl. We left the graham crackers whole though; and the final cookie is not crumbly. I line the 9x13 pan with parchment paper, then make an entire layer of whole graham crackers. Make them whatever size to make a full layer, then pour the 1/2 c. of melted butter on top. Proceed with the other ingredients, as per the recipe. (I use pecans).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This is an excellent recipe which makes delicious bars but I wanted to make a suggestion about the method. I saw this recipe on an internet video but the woman put in the condensed milk first on top of the crushed biscuits and then topped it with the coconut, chocolate chips and nuts leaving a few choc chips for the top layer. Then she pressed down gently on the pan with a spatula and then baked the bars. I found this method far superior to the other method of adding the condensed milk at the end because the ingredients tend to get spread more evenly and I have a terrible time pouring the condensed milk evenly over the top. I found this other method even easier to follow and highly recommend both the method and the biscuit bars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      I use fat free condensed milk and tastes just as good and you cut out half of the fat, sugar, and calories. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      These are really good!
      I added a cup of chinese rice noodle on one. Gave it some extra crunchy/chewyness!
      They're good both ways!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      yummy! we have some nut allergies around here so we used red and green christmas m&m's in place of the nuts. very sweet and very yummy. looked great on the christmas cookie trays and got lots of compliments about them. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      So good and easy but I think 25 minutes is way too long. It should be like 10 to 15. Mine were overdone but managed to save most of them. So just be aware it may be too long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      I fixed these today but instead of using butterscotch I substituted caramel bites. They were wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Wish I had read the reviews more carefully. DO NOT bake these for 25 minutes. :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      Oh gosh! I haven't thought of these in years. So glad to be reminded of it. I especially liked the addition of butterscotch chips to the recipe. Very easy and very tasty and they freeze well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      I made these for a bbq yesterday and they were a complete hit. One lady liked them so much she made sure to get the recipe from me. They are delicious and super sweet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      57 people can't be wrong!! Marg - these are dangerous bars - can't eat just one!! ;) Made these with half milk chocolate chips and half dark chocolate chips. Also didn't add nuts because of allergies. Thanks Marg! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      I made these for baby girls first birthday and they were a huge hit!!!! Thank you for such an easy, tasty, wonderful recipe!! Definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      My husband loves these! BUT... The butter to graham cracker ratio makes the crust fall a part. I always add a little more graham cracker (Or animal cookies, or whatever I'm grinding up) and then sprinkle it with powdered sugar and mix it in until it's a harder consistency. The powdered sugar makes is so much better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

    • on February 04, 2013

      I am not a baker but I followed this recipe to the letter and I ended up with a gooey mess.
      They were really thin and I couldn't get them out of the pan in one piece. I was so disappointed as I had planned on serving these at my super bowl party. I won't make them again but I'd sure like to know where I went wrong. DandyD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I have made these for years and they are my son's favorite. The recipe I have uses crushed vanilla wafers instead of the graham cracker crumbs and I like it better. We call them "Magic Cookie Bars." I find the bars hold together better if you press down lightly as you add the nuts and chocolate chips. Definitely a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

      Heaven.....these are such rich and sinful bars. I didn't have nuts so I omitted them but they are still wonderful. I will make them many times over. Thank you so much for sharing this with us, its wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      These bars are wonderful! My kids loved them! I followed the recipe as written - no additions. Very easy to make with yummy results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Sinful I made 1/2 the recipe and I am glad I did. I would have gained a few pounds for sure cause I wouldnt have shared. I will make again and I may be good and make the full recipe , depends on how generous I am feeling Thank you for posting my hips love you. Made for the Comfort Cafe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      These are fabulous. I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 336.2
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    55%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 23.6 mg
    7%
    Sodium 190.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 30.4 g
    121%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites