82 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love these cookies, I remember making them with my mother when I was a little girl. We left the graham crackers whole though; and the final cookie is not crumbly. I line the 9x13 pan with parchment paper, then make an entire layer of whole graham crackers. Make them whatever size to make a full layer, then pour the 1/2 c. of melted butter on top. Proceed with the other ingredients, as per the recipe. (I use pecans).

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwcohen3 November 29, 2009

This is an excellent recipe which makes delicious bars but I wanted to make a suggestion about the method. I saw this recipe on an internet video but the woman put in the condensed milk first on top of the crushed biscuits and then topped it with the coconut, chocolate chips and nuts leaving a few choc chips for the top layer. Then she pressed down gently on the pan with a spatula and then baked the bars. I found this method far superior to the other method of adding the condensed milk at the end because the ingredients tend to get spread more evenly and I have a terrible time pouring the condensed milk evenly over the top. I found this other method even easier to follow and highly recommend both the method and the biscuit bars.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook April 10, 2009

I use fat free condensed milk and tastes just as good and you cut out half of the fat, sugar, and calories. Delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephie_j December 15, 2009

These are really good!
I added a cup of chinese rice noodle on one. Gave it some extra crunchy/chewyness!
They're good both ways!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique December 16, 2010

yummy! we have some nut allergies around here so we used red and green christmas m&m's in place of the nuts. very sweet and very yummy. looked great on the christmas cookie trays and got lots of compliments about them. thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caffeine_queen_ak December 23, 2009

So good and easy but I think 25 minutes is way too long. It should be like 10 to 15. Mine were overdone but managed to save most of them. So just be aware it may be too long.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basilbuns April 22, 2009

I fixed these today but instead of using butterscotch I substituted caramel bites. They were wonderful.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tams67 April 12, 2012

Wish I had read the reviews more carefully. DO NOT bake these for 25 minutes. :(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackieblue January 12, 2012

Oh gosh! I haven't thought of these in years. So glad to be reminded of it. I especially liked the addition of butterscotch chips to the recipe. Very easy and very tasty and they freeze well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windywood October 11, 2011

I made these for a bbq yesterday and they were a complete hit. One lady liked them so much she made sure to get the recipe from me. They are delicious and super sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daema September 05, 2010
Layer Cookies (Magic Layer Bars)