26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe - tastes authentic. Slight suggestion- I added a little dry tomato bouillon and it boosted the flavor a bit. I highly recommended it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheri Lynn December 17, 2003

Was grounded at home and wanted tacos something fierce. I am an absolute user/consumer of Lawrys Taco Season mix. All I can say is, this recipe is PERFECT! It hit the mark right on the head. Trust me, I would know! I put my reputation as Taco Queen on the line for this one! Great Job! I will not have to buy another package of seasoning mix again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tracey C. July 15, 2014

Didn't have taco spice and wanted tacos for dinner so found this and it's great. I also added chopped onion and garlic to the ground round for extra flavor and it was great. Smelled so nice at it was cooking and tasted better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 September 05, 2012

Love this recipe! Like others I found this during a panicked moment when I was out of taco seasoning. I never have to worry about running out again :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lagea April 14, 2012

This didn't turn out anything at all like the Lawry's Taco Seasoning Mix. It was very blah tasting, I think maybe the flour sucked out all the flavor and it was mushy textured as well. Maybe my spices that I had on hand were too old, but I won't bother with this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
clarissegibson August 20, 2011

This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tsrweb March 22, 2011

I'm being very harsh with the rating on this primarily because the amount of salt was almost unbearable. I'm going to have to mix the taco meat with something that will reduce the saltiness - not sure what - maybe put it in some chili? I think it should have a lot more chile powder, and it shouldn't be "chili" but "chile" powder. The former makes it taste too much like chili con carne. For the same reason, I'd recommend reducing the cumin somewhat. The flavor was OK, so it's a good starting point to tweek to personal taste, but I'll not be making this one exactly as written again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest March 15, 2010

I'm giving a 3. I usually use Old El Paso. Is Lawry's usually 'weak'? This seemed a little weak. I added more shakes of salt, cumin and chili powder. With that, it was pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me and my 3 February 09, 2010

Very close and good enough.If using more than a pound of meat double the recipe if you prefer a spicy outcome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman November 10, 2009

I had no idea that I had run out of taco seasoning, so in a scramble I searched this one had all the ingredents that I had on hand and it turned out great. No need to buy it anymore!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JNR September 27, 2009
Lawry's Taco Spices & Seasoning Mix by Todd Wilbur