Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lawry's Taco Spices & Seasoning Mix by Todd Wilbur Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lawry's Taco Spices & Seasoning Mix by Todd Wilbur

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on December 17, 2003

      Great recipe - tastes authentic. Slight suggestion- I added a little dry tomato bouillon and it boosted the flavor a bit. I highly recommended it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2014

      Was grounded at home and wanted tacos something fierce. I am an absolute user/consumer of Lawrys Taco Season mix. All I can say is, this recipe is PERFECT! It hit the mark right on the head. Trust me, I would know! I put my reputation as Taco Queen on the line for this one! Great Job! I will not have to buy another package of seasoning mix again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      Didn't have taco spice and wanted tacos for dinner so found this and it's great. I also added chopped onion and garlic to the ground round for extra flavor and it was great. Smelled so nice at it was cooking and tasted better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      Love this recipe! Like others I found this during a panicked moment when I was out of taco seasoning. I never have to worry about running out again :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This didn't turn out anything at all like the Lawry's Taco Seasoning Mix. It was very blah tasting, I think maybe the flour sucked out all the flavor and it was mushy textured as well. Maybe my spices that I had on hand were too old, but I won't bother with this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This recipe was created by Todd Wilbur for his book entitled "Even More Top Secret Recipes" (Penguin/Putnam 2002)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I'm being very harsh with the rating on this primarily because the amount of salt was almost unbearable. I'm going to have to mix the taco meat with something that will reduce the saltiness - not sure what - maybe put it in some chili? I think it should have a lot more chile powder, and it shouldn't be "chili" but "chile" powder. The former makes it taste too much like chili con carne. For the same reason, I'd recommend reducing the cumin somewhat. The flavor was OK, so it's a good starting point to tweek to personal taste, but I'll not be making this one exactly as written again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      I'm giving a 3. I usually use Old El Paso. Is Lawry's usually 'weak'? This seemed a little weak. I added more shakes of salt, cumin and chili powder. With that, it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      Very close and good enough.If using more than a pound of meat double the recipe if you prefer a spicy outcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      I had no idea that I had run out of taco seasoning, so in a scramble I searched this one had all the ingredents that I had on hand and it turned out great. No need to buy it anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Very good! I looked this up b/c I was about to start dinner and realized I had no taco seasoning. I will not be buying seasoning after making this one though. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Like others, I sought out this recipe in an "emergency". I had all the ingredients on hand, so I gave it a try. The whole family liked it. It wasn't too spicy for my 2 year old, and still had enough flavor for the adults. I'm going to keep this as my go-to recipe instead of buying the packets. Thanks so much for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      I promised DH taco salad for dinner tonight but alas, I had no packets of seasoning mix. What to do?? RECIPEZAAR - my life saver once again. This recipe was easy; I had all the ingredients on hand; the flavor was excellent; and DH is a happy man. Excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Definitely a five star recipe that has a very good flavor as written and doesn't need any changes. There is a perfect amount of cayenne pepper. Tip: Add 1 tsp. of Tomato Powder to boost the flavor of any taco seasoning mix. Personal preference: I use up to 1 TBS. of Grandma's Zesty Chili Powder which contains pizza red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was a great recipe! I need to take down the cayenne a bit for my DD, but if I can get the amount for that tweaked, I'm going to make it in a big batch! It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      This was recipe came in so handy this evening and turned out great-the flavor and texture of the taco meat came out just right. I did double the recipe but kept the flour at 1 Tablespoon. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This is a wonderful combination of spices you probably have right in the pantry. I'll never spend $$ on packaged taco seasoning again. Just great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      great flavor! Not too strong (like all the others I've tried)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Perfect! I ran out of taco seasoning packets and needed a quick fix. I don't think I will use a packet again. The ingredients were easy and accessible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      LOVE it! This is so much tastier than that sore packaged stuff. A lot less preservatives too. I omitted the sugar and salt and still tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lawry's Taco Spices & Seasoning Mix by Todd Wilbur

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 7.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    17%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 224.0 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes