11 Reviews

So simple but the flavors are so interesting. My dressing came out much darker than the photo, sort of a purple color which looked so great over greens. We had it with our side salads tonight but I plan on using the left overs to drizzle over some bruschetta I'm making tomorrow. A real keeper. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing August 25, 2009

I absolutely love this recipe. I tried this at home and served it on greens and took it to work, it was a big hit. Simular only I used 1 tablespoon of honey, lemon juice not lime, herbs de porvance (I crushed these). I had a simular dressing at Cuvee' in Del Mar, CA and the Chef' would not give me the recipe. I am so greatful for this website. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef lmmestisa May 21, 2009

I can't believe that after all this time I've never rated this recipe before! I always make my own salad dressings and other than my own 'every day salad dressing' this has become our absolute favorite salad dressing. The only change I make is to use Maple syrup instead of the honey and I'm more generous with the grainy mustard (heaping tsp.) I use my Braun hand held mixer that has it's own little container and it blends up quickly into a beautiful thick dressing...OMG it's so good! Usually makes enough for 2 big salads. I've seen the other lavender dressing recipes but I don't even want to try them because my family and friends would kill me! PS. The addition of some goat cheese just puts this recipe over the creamy top!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
george-sophie July 11, 2007

Mmmm.... mmm I have made this several times already with the abundant lavender flowers in our yard. My mom raves about this and so do my officemates. Great with breaded tilapia fillets as well. Don't care much for argula but young Romaine lettuce is great. Also scrumptious as a dip for those crusty slices of bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunday HB. May 14, 2016

Quick, simple and very flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gkostova04 September 07, 2014

Perfect in every way! This was our official Thanksgiving salad dressing and I served it with a simple salad consisting of: arugula, baby spinach, butter lettuce, white endive, radicchio, cucumber and shaved carrot. Topped the salad with Oregon-made Rogue Creamery's 'Smokey Bleu' cheese (slowly cooked over Oregon hazelnuts), dried tart cherries and toasted pine nuts. Fantastic combination! Reviewed for Veg Tag/November. Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 25, 2012

Wow! I really liked this! I too used lemon juice rather than lime, as that was what I had. I could see this also served on a salad with goat cheese. Thanks for a super recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyw514 April 29, 2009

C'est parfait Rita! You know I am a lavender grower and lover like you, so this was a delight to tag and photograph for the Mediterranean Photo Event in the Photos Forum. I made it exactly as posted, with the exception of adding the juice of a lemon and not lime. We drizzled this over a fresh fig and blue cheese salad - the figs were from the garden! A wonderful dressing with lots of oomph and ooh la la! Merci ma leeetle petits pois! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart October 06, 2008

I had to make a dressing to take to a lunch and made this one. I used lemon juice instead of lime and used half canola oil, half olive oil since I didn't have the extra virgin olive oil and thought regular would be too strong. I also used Dijon mustard since I didn't have grainy mustard. I crushed the lavender with my fingers before whisking it into the dressing. This dressing was a big hit with people at the lunch and I had several requests for the recipe. I found the taste a bit too flowery for me personally but since it was so well received I had to give it at least 4 stars. I will make this again but will cut back on the lavender a wee bit to see if I like it better that way for myself. It was a surprise to folks at the lunch since many had never realized you could use lavender to flavour foods. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansies June 27, 2005

I put this on a spinach salad with hard boiled egg and grated cheese. Loved it.I used dijon mustard and lemon juice instead of lime. Thanks for a wonderful salad dressing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 03, 2003
Lavender Salad Dressing