10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So simple but the flavors are so interesting. My dressing came out much darker than the photo, sort of a purple color which looked so great over greens. We had it with our side salads tonight but I plan on using the left overs to drizzle over some bruschetta I'm making tomorrow. A real keeper. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little_wing August 25, 2009

I absolutely love this recipe. I tried this at home and served it on greens and took it to work, it was a big hit. Simular only I used 1 tablespoon of honey, lemon juice not lime, herbs de porvance (I crushed these). I had a simular dressing at Cuvee' in Del Mar, CA and the Chef' would not give me the recipe. I am so greatful for this website. Thank you so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef lmmestisa May 21, 2009

I can't believe that after all this time I've never rated this recipe before! I always make my own salad dressings and other than my own 'every day salad dressing' this has become our absolute favorite salad dressing. The only change I make is to use Maple syrup instead of the honey and I'm more generous with the grainy mustard (heaping tsp.) I use my Braun hand held mixer that has it's own little container and it blends up quickly into a beautiful thick dressing...OMG it's so good! Usually makes enough for 2 big salads. I've seen the other lavender dressing recipes but I don't even want to try them because my family and friends would kill me! PS. The addition of some goat cheese just puts this recipe over the creamy top!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
george-sophie July 11, 2007

Quick, simple and very flavorful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gkostova04 September 07, 2014

Perfect in every way! This was our official Thanksgiving salad dressing and I served it with a simple salad consisting of: arugula, baby spinach, butter lettuce, white endive, radicchio, cucumber and shaved carrot. Topped the salad with Oregon-made Rogue Creamery's 'Smokey Bleu' cheese (slowly cooked over Oregon hazelnuts), dried tart cherries and toasted pine nuts. Fantastic combination! Reviewed for Veg Tag/November. Thanks, Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 25, 2012

Wow! I really liked this! I too used lemon juice rather than lime, as that was what I had. I could see this also served on a salad with goat cheese. Thanks for a super recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyw514 April 29, 2009

C'est parfait Rita! You know I am a lavender grower and lover like you, so this was a delight to tag and photograph for the Mediterranean Photo Event in the Photos Forum. I made it exactly as posted, with the exception of adding the juice of a lemon and not lime. We drizzled this over a fresh fig and blue cheese salad - the figs were from the garden! A wonderful dressing with lots of oomph and ooh la la! Merci ma leeetle petits pois! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart October 06, 2008

I had to make a dressing to take to a lunch and made this one. I used lemon juice instead of lime and used half canola oil, half olive oil since I didn't have the extra virgin olive oil and thought regular would be too strong. I also used Dijon mustard since I didn't have grainy mustard. I crushed the lavender with my fingers before whisking it into the dressing. This dressing was a big hit with people at the lunch and I had several requests for the recipe. I found the taste a bit too flowery for me personally but since it was so well received I had to give it at least 4 stars. I will make this again but will cut back on the lavender a wee bit to see if I like it better that way for myself. It was a surprise to folks at the lunch since many had never realized you could use lavender to flavour foods. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansies June 27, 2005

I put this on a spinach salad with hard boiled egg and grated cheese. Loved it.I used dijon mustard and lemon juice instead of lime. Thanks for a wonderful salad dressing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 June 03, 2003

Just made the dressing, I love lavendar. I would put less balsamic vinegar or less lime juice in next time. It is alittle tart for me so I added a tsp of sugar. I love the taste of all the flavors together, however and will have it on salad tonight with the pinenuts. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando May 30, 2003
Lavender Salad Dressing