75 Reviews

I have been making this for about 6 months and I will never go back to commercial laundry detergent. This soap smells great, everything comes clean, stains that I never thought would come out haven't been a problem. I do add an scoop of oxyclean to white loads but only because they are mostly my husbands work shirts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mim B April 13, 2012

I've been using this recipe for years. It's great for stains too! My daughter got blood on her pants and I just literally put 1 tbsp in a typical 2 gallon bucket with cold water and stuffed her jeans in. Left them overnight, dumped the entire bucket into the washer the next day (with more regular dirty jeans) and voila... blood gone. Oil/grease sometimes takes a longer soak.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leytonlady April 10, 2012

I used Dr Bronners magic soap Lavender.It give this very inexpensive laundry detergent a wonderful fresh aroma. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ February 10, 2012

Great!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okitsme December 12, 2011

Well call me a convert! I have now used up one batch of this, and its great! Clothes are clean, whites are really bright and I haven't noticed any fading. Smells clean..that's it, no perfumy smell to your clothes. Love it, never plan to buy detergent again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 December 12, 2010

This is a great recipe and I'm glad I came across it before I tried the liquid detergent. I did use a whole bar of lava soap since I couldn't find those listed. Of course it dosen't have the same scent as commercial laundry detergent but I'll add more ess. oil to my homemade fabric softner next time I make it. I did use 2 Tbl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caseyhayes May 10, 2010

We love it. So easy, and it really works. Good for the environment, and easy on the wallet. We're never going back.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wood stove stoker April 03, 2010

I've been using this now for about two months. My clothes seemed to fade quickly with the expensive commercial liquid I was buying but I haven't had those problems since using this recipe. I love the smell of the Fels Naptha soap, crisp and clean as several othe reviewers have mentioned. Our clothes are softer too! Thanks, Jellyqueen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lynettejs September 29, 2009

I have been using this for about 3months now and love it!I use 2T per load as per some of the reviews I read. It really gets your clothes clean and saves a ton of money.Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom July 24, 2009
Laundry Detergent Powder