Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Laundry Detergent Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Laundry Detergent Powder

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-75 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2007

      I just tried this this weekend and it turned out great! I doubled it and used one whole bar of flowery-scented Dove soap (LOL) grated with a cheese grater because our processor was broke (it still made perfect flakes and easy to grate the soap), 2 c. borax, and 2 c. washing soda (I just got the Arm & Hammer baking soda in the huge box in the washing aise but I don't know if it was washing soda or not--it said great for washing clothes and cleaning--LOL). Anyway, I have to use about 1/4 c. or little more for my large loads and all the clothes actually turned out clean! Yay!! I was very, very skeptical but I needed to try because my grocery bill was going through the roof with having to buy laundry detergent every week, prices going up, and with two very active kids and a husband who works in a meat locker. Yes-it did get out all of his dirty, bloody clothes from the meat locker! Yay! They don't have a heavy perfumy smell like they smell like after just using Tide on them, but you can tell they are clean. Thanks for posting this!! I am forever grateful!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      I can't believe I haven't rated this yet as I've been using it for almost a year. Does a great job, saves money and is a tiny bit kinder on mom earth@

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This detergent is a huge money saver, and it works pretty well, too. When the clothes came out of the laundry, they had a slight rubbery feel to them, but that went away within a few minutes. I gave some to my mom, and she said that when she tried it, it didn't rinse out very well. I think I'm going to try the liquid recipe next and see if that helps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      This really works!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      I've been using this recipe for about a month and it has really saved money. I have 3 children, 5, 3, and 9 months, plus one on the way. I'm trying to potty-train my older girls at night, plus my 3-year-old still has accidents! I usually do 4 loads of laundry a day. I was spending at least $20 a month in laundry soap, now it's about $5. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      i came across this recipe by accident and as i do several loads of washing a week i thought id give it a go as hey nothing ventured nothing gained! it took me a few weeks of searching here in the uk to find borax £2.19 in boots and tesco`s stocked the washing soda 63p but it was right on the bottom shelf tucked up in the corner! it took me literally no more than 10 mins to grate the household soap 99p (for 2 bars)and measure out the ingredients and i gave it a go straightaway, my hubby was very sceptical and thought it might ruin the clothes, but i have to admit it was great, everything came out lovely and clean and very soft i will definately be using this from now on as it is soo sooo cheap for just under £4 i have washing powder that should last me ages at 2 tablespoons a wash and i have the added satisfaction that i made it myself! a great big thanks to cbw for helping me hang on to some of my hard earned cash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      This recipe is great, thank you so much for posting it! I was using Tida, which is so expensive and really doesn't do a very good job compared to this stuff. I've been using this four about six weeks and it works great for my business casual clothes, as well as for my fiance's work clothes (he's a mason, so his clothes get VERY dirty). I grate the Fels Naptha in my little Kitchenaid mini food processor, but I have to cut it into chunks first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      Where can I find naptha soap bars? I have looked in the supermarket and Walmart; but didn't find them. Maybe I was looking in the wrong place. Mary sorry, I have this posted in the wrong area. Never mind

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      This is so much cheaper than buying the brand name stuff! It works well for everything but DH's work clothes. He does transmission work and gets oil all over is clothes. I get the oil out with Lestoil, works great. However, there is some kind of chemical reaction between this soap and the lestoil. The lestoil bonds to his clothes and doesn't wash out the oil, leaving an outline where I prespotted. I use this for everything but his clothes. Still keeping a bit of the other stuff on hand for that. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2004

      I haven't used this yet, but I wanted to add my comments anyway! I just made this with one 5 1/2 ounce bar of Fels Naptha and one bar of glycerin soap (as an added fabric softener and for the strawberry scent!), and two cups each of washing soda and borax. I'll let ya'll know how it turns out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2004

      I use this all the time with Dove Unscented soap since my daughter has eczema. I use the small holes on the grater, and grating the soap is the only bummer about this recipe. I use 1 c. grated soap to 1/2 c. each Borax and Washing Soda. I start the washer with a little warm water and let the soap dissolve, then switch to cold if I'm doing darks, and add the clothes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2004

      I finally go around to making up a batch of this laundry soap, I wish I had done it sooner!! It's great, especially in our hard water. I don't even have to use fabric softener. Towels turn out soft and fluffy, and still are very absorbant. I'm going to make some to give to friends. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Works great! I won't be buying the boxes of detergent any more. I used 1/2 bar of Fels Naptha, which was 1 heaping cup, grated in the food processor. Mom came to visit over the weekend, and I mixed up a batch for her, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      This is great, so easy to make and very inexpensive. I was using the liquid detergent but like this better because it is easier to store and not as messy. I'm off to make another batch right now. Thanks CBW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      Works like a charm. Even on my sons nasty icky clothes. I used the recommended Fels Naptha soap (which smells great) which I grated in my food processor. I honestly will be using this from now on. And the cost is so incredibly low compared to the premade brands! Why would anyone buy laundry soap? Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Laundry Detergent Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    washing soda

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites