Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Laundry Detergent Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Laundry Detergent Powder

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2009

      At first I wasn't sure about this I wanted to make liquid soap but didn't have the time. I've never used powdered detergent before. I usually wash in cold water so I put enough soap into a pint jar with hot water in the kitchen. I shake and walk to the laundry room and have it mostly dissolved by the time I get to the washer. I like the smell of fels naptha but would also like to try it with other soaps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Wonderful! The hardest part is grating the soup, and we aren't allergic to it! Not to mention that there aren't any chemicals and it's extremely cost efficient! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      I made this today and my loads came out fresh and clean. I used one full Ivory soap bar. I didn't have any washing soda (soda ash) so I used baking soda and it worked great and all the stains came out of my three boys clothing. I dabbed a pinch and added a few drops of water on the heavier stains and rubbed it in the fabric. Thanks so much for sharing. It just kills me to spend $9 bucks on a medium bottle of detergent plus we can use the savings on something worthwile or fun.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      This smells so fresh. I used fels naptha soap. I can't quit smelling my clothes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This stuff is awesome!!! I used a bar of Sunlight Laundry Soap and it turned out great. My whites are brilliantly white in cold water. Husband loves it too and asks me to make it all the time. AND best of all, it is cheap and according to David Suzuki, fantastic for the environment. It's one of the recipes in his Nature Challenge. http://www.davidsuzuki.org/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Works AWESOME. Makes the sports unfimorms smell fresh and saves A LOT of money. What spured me on to find something like this was a commercial on TV where they show how much water is in the liquid laundry soap you buy in the store. IT'S HALF WATER!! Thanks so much for posting. I've forwarded this to many friends to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Making this recipe was way too easy....I am kinda kicking myself for not doing this years ago!!! (I am really having a "Dahh" moment right now!!! The primary reason for making my own detergent was for the fact that every time I opened the lid I would almost gag on the concentrated smell and would have to turn my head and hold my breath. Since I already make my own soap this was a natural conclusion for me. I grated a bar of soap and then added it to the borax and washing soda. To get a finer powder, I put the ingredients into my food processor. Next time, I will try adding different essential oil blends to give it a nice scent. Thanks for a wonderful contribution

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Love this recipe! We have been looking for ways to cinch in every where we can on the ole budget and this cleans wonderfully and smells pretty darn good too. I like to use 2 tbs on my husbands work clothes but just the 1 tbs on everything else works just fine. Thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I've been using this recipe for about six months now and it works great. I'll never buy laundry detergent again! I like to use the Fels Naptha and I've found that 2 tablespoons works better for my loads usually. This really isn't hard to make, especially since I only have to do it every couple of months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Excellent and easy recipe - works great. I use Ivory soap, and have saved tons of $ on prepared detergent. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      Thank you for posting this recipe! I just completed my first load of laundry using this powder and it seems to work well though I have not tested it out on stained items. I had a little difficulty in finding the ingredients - I eventually found the borax at safeway and the washing soda at fred meyer (they had borax also). I used an all natural oatmeal soap, and found it difficult to grate - it basically turned into a paste. I just mixed it in as best I could.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      I used that pink soap that's next to Fels Naptha and WOW it smelled so good! Worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Love this!! Saves me money, and I love the fresh smell of my clothes, and they are extra clean too!! I use colgates octagon all purpose soap. It did take me forever to find washing soda, Finally Krogers!! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I love this. I took the recipe x6 to get a big batch. Very cheap and effective!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I was worried about the rash story, since I have sensitive skin, but I lucked out! I LOVE this cleaner, and your clothes come out smelling and FEELING clean, not like they're still coated with detergent. I use the dryer balls (those "seen on TV" ones at Walgreens) instead of dryer sheets to eliminate even more chemicals, and my skin has thanked me ever since. Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Update: My son ended up allergic to this, awful rash, I am so sad, BUT I am using it for other laundry items that he doesn't use. DARN SENSITIVE SKIN!!! LOL Oringinal Post:Okay, I decided to make this because I am very broke right now, I was going to make the liquid version BUT why the extra work with the same ingredients?? Now I have just done a load of wash with it and it appears clean so I am happy so far. I bought both washing soda and borax and skipped the fels naptha ONLY because I had a million trial size/hotel size soap bars, so I ground them up in my processor and used it instead. It made LOTS!! WOW!! Whenever we run out which will be a little while we will buy the fels naptha, luckily it was all at our store right in plain view-YAY- I was concerned about this soap recipe working good enough because of using so little because both boxes say to add a 1/2 c. of either mix in with your regular washing soap so I was thinking WOW I am using all that to make a bunch of soap to last awhile..... After turning my soap into dust and having it fly everywheres I couldn't believe how clean the kitchen floor came with ground up regular body soap.LOL Makes me think twice about buying expensive cleaners......well at least right now while I am broke. Found lots of homemade recipes lately like this one thankfully, time to go and expierment with vinegar now- thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Love it! Better for the environment, no dyes or other icky stuff, and it works and smells great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      OK....I did this, exactly. Just tried it and it's so blah. Clothes didn't get very clean, doesn't smell good at all and most of the washed clothes actually smell bad...like dirty laundry. HELP??? Did I miss something? Should I add more that 1 tablespoon? I soooooooooo want this to work, so ANY suggestions would be appreciated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      I made this using Kirk's Castile soap instead of Fels Naptha, as I have sensitive skin and was concerned about too much irritation. Definitely need to use more than a tsp, however. But I liked making it and will experiment with essential oils to add fragrance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

      I've used a similar recipie like this and it works wonderful! I will say if you have trouble finding washing soda...then add in some extra baking soda. It doesn't work like washing soda (it's completely deferent)...but as that I can't find washing soda where I live it was my only other alternative...and seems to be working ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Laundry Detergent Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    washing soda

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites