75 Reviews

After reading several recipes online here and other places for powdered laundry deteregent (most of them being these 3 ingredients) and reading their rave reviews, I was convinced to try this out. I am sorely disappointed. My dish cloths still smell sour and my husbands clothes still smell like his deoderant. I used fels naptha, washing soda and borax just as recommended and even tried adding another scoop to the load to make it work to no avail.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoeyGirl October 17, 2006

Great stuff! Works great on grass, blood, and spaghetti stains even though I passed on the Fels Naptha and used plain Ivory soap. "Caution: Skin irritant" kind of scared me away from the Fels Naptha. It works, it's cheap, it's easy to make, and it's better for the environment than commercial laundry detergents... what more could we want? :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marty B September 27, 2004

Wonderful, wonderful recipe and I am so happy I found this! I have spread the word on a couple of forums and passed it along too. I used Sandalwood soap and Jasmine soaps for the fragrance aspects and love that about this too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karyl Lee May 06, 2004

I have been using this for a few months now, made with Ivory soap, and I absolutely love it. I use usually just 1 Tbs. per load; two on towels that have been sitting in the hamper wet. If you can't find washing soda, you can bake regular baking soda on a baking sheet in your oven at 400 degrees for one hour. Now you have washing soda.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
llpa April 12, 2014

Great stuff! I use Fels Naptha, and my laundry comes out clean and fresh smelling. I grind up my soap in my KitchenAid, and then add it, the Borax and Super Washing Soda in the food processor for 2 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii February 02, 2014

Works great! I had so much fun making this. I took another review's suggestion and put the bar of soap in the microwave to soften it. I won't do that again. It made it easier to pulse in the food processor, but the microwave smells like soap now. lol Oh well...I'll figure out another way to soften it next time. Thanks for posting this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 06, 2013

Love this! I've made it many times and am saving a bundle over buying tide AND it works better! Blacks are black, colors are brighter - noticeably different than when washed in tide! Smells clean, not perfumy. I've tweaked it and this is my favorite variation - 1 bar fels naptha, 2 cups washing soda, 2 cups borax, 1 cup oxy clean powder (I use a store brand; $3 container makes 4 batches) and I add white vinegar to the softener dispenser.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam in the Kitchen January 28, 2013

I really can't add to what has already been said. This stuff ROCKS & I will never go back to buying laundry detergent...ever! I used 2 tablespoons for my load and I do use white vinegar in the rinse cycle! Awesome Stuff! Smells great too!!! Thanks for Posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's January 14, 2013

Do not work will on will water, it is a hard water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA November 09, 2012

I just started making this a couple of months ago. I love using it and it is quicker to make than driving to the store when you run out. I think it works just as well as the commercial stuff and there is nothing in it to irritate my skin. For heavily soiled loads I do add a scoop of Oxy Clean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned July 29, 2012
Laundry Detergent Powder