Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Laundry Detergent Powder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Laundry Detergent Powder

    Average Rating:

    75 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 75

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2006

      Just wanted to inform the extra frugel out there that you can get washing soda in bulk and very cheaply at the pool suply stores. Just ask for sodium carbonate! You can get a 5 gl bucket for less then 10$. You can even increase the ratio of washing soda to borax to save more. For fabric softener, try vinegar. Yes, I am serious. It will soften your clolthes, rinse them cleaner, and help with static. Don't worry, there will not be a vinegar smell left on your clothes. Vinegar is a natural deoderizer. It will dry oder free. I just fill up my downy ball with vinegar and throw it in the wash cycle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Updated Review: We've been using this for 3 years now and prefer it to any commercial powder. I use 2 bars of pure soap, and 750g (1 1/2 lbs) each of borax and washing soda. (Lately, I've been able to buy the washing soda in powdered granules rather than as crystals which makes things easier.) Be careful grating the soap in the food processor - you might break the bowl (as I did the first time). Now, I slice the soap into shards with a knife, then grate the shards. To make it finer, I process the grated soap with the chopping blade. If you've bought washing soda crystals, you'll need to whizz these in the food processor or blender as well. Then, just mix the lot together in a large mixing bowl, and decant into jars. The quantities above make two large jars full. We use about 2 tablespoons per load and it works on even muddy jeans and leaves everything crisp, clean and smelling sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I made the recipe using zote and it seemed to fade some clothes. I read that borax can act as bleaching agent so I made a second batch with only half the borax and replaced the other half with baking soda. The second batch works better on black clothes. I have two batches one labeled whites one colors. I know the whites came out very white with the first batch. I also use 1 cup vinegar in the rinse it wont leave a smell. I use 2 Tbsp per large load I never have small loads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      The best soap I've found is Kirk's Castille Soap - olive oil based - Fels Naptha is a harsh detergent based soap, so this is more natural. I use a full bar. Also, I've added about 20 drops of essential oil after its all combined and mix it in with a fork and it smells great and works well! I also find I need 2 Tbsp per load.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Very similar to the recipe I found, which has a full bar of Ivory soap, instead of half a bar. Works fantastically, everything is brighter and just looks clean. No perfumy smell and works great in our new "he" washing machine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2003

      I like this dry powder better than all the mess of the liquid that I used to make. This saves space, too. You can find SUPER WASHING SODA in the laundry aisle of your supermarket. (look down low on the shelf as they really don't want you to find it.. they'd rather have you spend tons of money on the name brand stuff). I also read where you should not substitute baking soda for the washing soda... but you use your own judgement. I've been mixing 1 cup of grated Fels Naptha soap (grated in my food processor) and then I add one cup of Borax and one cup of Super Washing Soda and blend them all together in the food processor. I've made many batches and have given them to friends along with a 1-tablespoon coffee scoop with the directions to use 2 tablespoons per load. I find that one tablespoon isn't enough for my wash.. so I use 2. Thanks for the idea of the money saver and space saver of a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I use this but the recipe I used I cooked the soap and melted it down in water and added to 5 gallon bucket adding the cup of borax and cup washing soda stirring till disolved then filled 5 gallon bucket till full. Then you use a 1/4 cup for a large load or dilute 1/2 and 1/2 again and use a half cup per load

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Love this stuff!!! So I accidently bought sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) at the pool supply instead of sodium carbonate (washing soda) and I didn't even realize it until I had mixed it all up. So I went back and bought the sodium carbonate & just decided to add it into what I already had because I had quadrupled the recipe & was not going to waste all that! There is another recipe for fabric softener which has baking soda & vinegar so I figured I would just use vinegar for the fabric softener since I already have my baking soda added in here! I used Pure & Natural soap because there were a bunch of scary ingredients on the ones listed on the recipe. Clothes are coming out fresh, soft, and bright! This is a space saver and super economical. I have also used it for other cleaning...a tablespoon thrown into the mop bucket and scouring powder for grout & tub. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      I cut the soap into chunks and processed with a cup of washing soda. Sooooo easy and not dusty because the soda sticks to the soap for a finer grind. I used Zote. 2 bars equals 7 cups shredded. According to other recipes I have seen, it would be 2 cups shredded soap to 1 cup of soda and Borax. This is pretty cool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      I am currently using this and it's great. You can use this in a front loading machine since it doesn't suds up. It costs pennies compared to the specialty detergents needed for the front load machines.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      I just took my first load off of the line, this washing powder is amazing.... it has removed stains from my daughters clothes that even the best stain remover and washing powder from the supermarket couldnt shift... just take a tiny bit from the tablespoon you would use in your wash and rub it into the stain adding a couple of drops of water so its a paste..... leave for 10 minutes then wash as usual... amazing, bye bye spaghetti stains :)... the rest of the wash came out bright and clean and while not highly perfumed like commercial products, it did smell clean , thankyou jellyqueen, this will become my washing powder of choice from now on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2004

      Excellent and inexpensive. The acid test was my black clothing (I have a lot of it) which came out black black. Sometimes detergents cause it to look greyish. Not so with this recipe! I added lavender oil to the mix as I processed the powdered Fels Naptha with the other ingredients. I used my food processor with the cheese shredding device to chip the soap, then switched to the chopping blade to really pulverize it and mix it with the washing powder and the Borax. I have bought lots of washing powder and Borax for their other many uses. You really can economize and help the environment here at the same time. The natural brand detergents in the store discourage bargain seekers from doing the right thing. You will be happy you make this soap when you don't have to lug great bottles of Tide in from the car when it is icy and snowing. This also means less to have to recycle. The recipe is the BEST!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2004

      This detergent works great! I used Fels Naptha Soap, which is a laundry bar soap (sold near the pre-made detergents), and it smelt wonderful! One bar of Fels Naptha Soap will make two batches of detergent. I used my Pampered Chef Cheese Grater to grate the soap and I mixed it up in about 5 minutes! It was so easy to make and my clothes look and smell wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      All of the ingredients for this recipe were available at our local Wal-Mart, so not difficult to find (though I was unfamiliar with some of them before). This recipe takes almost all the work out of making your own laundry detergent. It does feel like a very small amount to use per load, but everything seems to come out clean and fresh. I also figured out that with prices here, and if you buy enough to use all the materials (i.e. enough Fel-Naptha to use with all the borax and soda), it comes to about 3 cents/ load. Sounds like money in the bank to me! Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I have been using this recipe for about a year and just love it. To be extra frugal I use my soap slivers from the shower. I place a bag on the side of the tub and by the time I make more detergent I have quite a bit. I use equal parts soap, borax and washing soda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I just started using this as well, here are some helpful tips: You can use Ivory soap and if you cannot find washing soda you can use Oxyclean in equal amounts. It cleans my clothes very well and leaves them soft so you don't need to use fabric softener. I do use 1/2 cup vinegar in a downy ball to help rinse out any residual soap in the clothes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      I didn't realize this recipe for laundry detergent was on Zaar. I've made this recipe for nearly five year after having found it on a frugal website. Processing the soap into powder is integral for the soap to dissolve, especially if using Fels Naptha, which btw, is an old fashioned laundry soap that has already proven itself for more years than I am old. Anyhoo, people think me crazy for making my own laundy soap, but I'm crazy alright...like a fox carrying my savings all the way to the bank!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      I too have been making a liquid soap for my wash. This seems much easier! And less time consuming! As for washing soda, search it out it will make all the difference in how clean your clothes get. I have to travel to a grocery store 30 min away to get it, my local ones don't carry it. So I buy 2 or 3 boxes! Also search for the Fels Naptha soap it is awesome and smells great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      If you are allergic to soaps like I am, skip the Fels Naptha.

      I have been using the following mixture for more than 30 yrs. Mix 1:1 ratio of Arm & Hammer and Borax into a coffee can. Do not inhale the Borax - as it will cause severe reaction. Use one full cup per large load.

      Use one full cup white vinegar in the rinse water.

      Vinegar is not only a deodorant, but if you need to set colours - it's what you use.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I am about half way through my first batch that I made several weeks ago. I didn't tell anybody in my family that I was making my own detergent and I never received any complaints/inquires so that is a success in my book. I used Fels Naptha (1/3 bar) and grated it with the cheese grater then gave everything a whirl in the blender.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Laundry Detergent Powder

    Serving Size: 1 (350 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    washing soda

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes