Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Latkes (Potato Pancakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Latkes (Potato Pancakes)

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2011

      I make these often and we love them! We like them better if I soak the starch off the potatoes then dry them. They come out kind of pasty if I don't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Mmmm.... just like the little old church ladies used to make at the block party. Very delicious- I saved it to my cookbook- thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      These were wonderfully satisfying! I added 1/2 cup of bell peppers because I had them left over from another dish and it turned out great. This is my first time making latkes and I'm very impressed :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Delish our family loved them! Just like my Mom's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      Yummy! Even my picky boys liked them! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      I loved the was these came out. Crunchy on the outside and still nice a potato like on the inside! My picky preteen vegitarian had 3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      The last time I had latkes I was a teenager and was visiting a friend during the holidays. Ever since then I have wanted them but thought they would be too challenging to make (I've since become more adventurous and skilled in my cooking thus more confident). This recipe is simple. The most difficult part is just shredding the potatoes. The rest is a breeze. I did place the potatoes in a thin cloth and squeezed out the excess liquid before frying. They were tasty with a nice flavor of onion. I served them warm (I made a double batch so kept the first fried in a warm oven) with sour cream. Yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      I've always wanted to try Latkes. Today I was going to make Kittencal's Onion Latke recipe when I discovered I didn't have enough onion so I decided to try these. Mmmmm, were they ever good. I didn't soak the grated potatoes for 8 hours because I didn't want to wait, but they were still delicious. When I was a child, my mom used to make what she called potato pancakes. They were just grated potatoes and salt (sometimes with some grated onion) made into patties and fried in butter (the butter is a must). I loved these as a child and frequently make them. Today I wanted a change of pace and I must say this is a recipe I will be making again. My fiance and I both thought they were great. I have tried several of your recipes, Kittencal, and I must say they have all been very good. Some of the recipes I have tried are Kittencal's Garlic Bread, Parmesan Chicken and Buttercream Frosting. Thanks for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2008

      Delicious! We all loved em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Just like my Polish Grandma used to make. We LOVE these, thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Mmmm... I am full of these right now. The kids were clammering for more. I didn't drain my potatoes quite enough - too impatient, but they were still fabulous. My only suggestion would be to put the approximate number of potatoes that makes up 3 lbs. I just guessed. Thanks a batchful! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Until now, the only place i could get really great potato pancakes was at a pricey german restaurant in town. These are just as good, maybe better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Yum!! Just like my mom used to make! My only suggestion is to add some garlic for extra flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      We really enjoyed these. They're simple to make if you use the food processor - I don't think I'd make this often if I had to grate it by hand. I had to guess at what the exact consistency of the "batter" needed to be before frying it. I went with it beign quite sloppy. Next time I will follow some the reviewers and add some garlic and/or herbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Really good! The only change I made was to add a little garlic and a little more salt. Easy to prepare and better than the packaged stuff....thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      To echo the consensus--very good and very easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      Wow! These are fantastic and easy to make. Thank you for listing the weight of the potatoes--that really helped.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Very quick and very tasty!! Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Great stuff. I wasn't sure there'd be any to serve because I kept eating a batch while the next one was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Latkes (Potato Pancakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.8
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    57%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 273.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites