47 Reviews

Save yourself a lot of trouble and buy frozen shredded hashbrown potatoes. No peeling, grating soaking, or drying required. Done in 10 minutes! Yummy recipe though.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PradaContessa September 20, 2010

This recipe halves well for my family of 4. I made them small, as my husband likes them crispy, but no mush inside, and they turned out perfect. Highly reccomended recipe!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linsey S. August 12, 2010

would give this 10 starts if I could! I grated the onion, and I felt like that made the texture better, and we got a really great onion flavor. The last 2 were fought over, I will be making this again, and again.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XandersMom March 22, 2010

These are so yummy! I have tried other recipes and they always fell apart. these are great. i think i have to double up though cause they are sooo good, i eat them all:)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pizza Fetish December 17, 2009

These were my first attempt at latkes for my first ever channukah dinner with my new in-laws, and I am so happy I found this recipe! They came out delicious and I got rave reviews! They definitely are a little bit of work, but worth the outcome.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LolaBugge December 13, 2009

My husband and I loved these. It was hard to keep from eating them as I stood there cooking them! He said next time he wants green onion added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeatnikIvy May 21, 2010

Haven't had good latke before so I don't know how it SHOULD taste. Made these for Hanukkah with homemade applesauce (Applesauce). My friend's kids loved it. I used a hand blender because my food processor is small so I would be doing potato batches til the cows came home. I only used my small food processor to grind the scallion and onion. I chopped the potatoes (used 6, peeled) into small squares and pour them into a mixing bowl, then used my hand blender to mash it up. I used corn oil because that's all I had aside from olive oil, which I am told changes the flavor when used for frying. I added about a tablespoon of sugar and paprika because I had no cayenne. Took me longer than 50 minutes to complete, but hey, it's Hanukkah!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyx March 15, 2010

This was delicious!!!! I added seasoning salt instead of salt and it gave it a great flavor will definetly keep in my favorites

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolymari February 02, 2010

I added a salad toppings mix to mine that had parmesan cheese, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic, salt, pepper, and chili powder and it was yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eryielle February 02, 2010

YUM! Exactly the recipe I was looking for. I wouldn't change a thing. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjenjenp December 06, 2009
Latkes (Potato Pancakes)