Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Latkes (Potato Pancakes) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Latkes (Potato Pancakes)

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2010

      Save yourself a lot of trouble and buy frozen shredded hashbrown potatoes. No peeling, grating soaking, or drying required. Done in 10 minutes! Yummy recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2010

      This recipe halves well for my family of 4. I made them small, as my husband likes them crispy, but no mush inside, and they turned out perfect. Highly reccomended recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      would give this 10 starts if I could! I grated the onion, and I felt like that made the texture better, and we got a really great onion flavor. The last 2 were fought over, I will be making this again, and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      These were my first attempt at latkes for my first ever channukah dinner with my new in-laws, and I am so happy I found this recipe! They came out delicious and I got rave reviews! They definitely are a little bit of work, but worth the outcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      My husband and I loved these. It was hard to keep from eating them as I stood there cooking them! He said next time he wants green onion added.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      Haven't had good latke before so I don't know how it SHOULD taste. Made these for Hanukkah with homemade applesauce (Applesauce). My friend's kids loved it. I used a hand blender because my food processor is small so I would be doing potato batches til the cows came home. I only used my small food processor to grind the scallion and onion. I chopped the potatoes (used 6, peeled) into small squares and pour them into a mixing bowl, then used my hand blender to mash it up. I used corn oil because that's all I had aside from olive oil, which I am told changes the flavor when used for frying. I added about a tablespoon of sugar and paprika because I had no cayenne. Took me longer than 50 minutes to complete, but hey, it's Hanukkah!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      This was delicious!!!! I added seasoning salt instead of salt and it gave it a great flavor will definetly keep in my favorites

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      I added a salad toppings mix to mine that had parmesan cheese, poppy seeds, sesame seeds, garlic, salt, pepper, and chili powder and it was yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      These are so yummy! I have tried other recipes and they always fell apart. these are great. i think i have to double up though cause they are sooo good, i eat them all:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      YUM! Exactly the recipe I was looking for. I wouldn't change a thing. Delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      Very nice - I chopped up some bacon and mushrooms into small bits and mixed it in with the rest. Tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      perfect recipe! My hubby loved them and so did I - definitely a keeper recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

    • on December 16, 2012

      OH WOW!!! These are delicious!! I substituted a Gluten-Free flour for the 3 T of flour. These are soooo amazing. The prep was a little time consuming, but I used my food processor to grate the onions and potatoes. We didn't soak the potatoes in water, but I did wring them out (saw a tip somewhere to put them in a towel and wring them out). They started to turn a little brown, but once they're cooked, you won't even notice!! This recipe made 24 (approx 1/4 cup per) pancakes for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      These are the best latkes I've ever made. The recipes I've used in the past (at least 3 others over the past 30 years) were okay, but they didn't have that perfect blend of soft potato mush in the middle and crispy outsides. This recipe has both, and good flavour. I prefer yellow-flesh (Yukon Gold) potatoes for latkes so I used those. And because I don't like it when the potato shreds are too long and gangly, I cubed the potatoes prior to processing them. Plus, I grated/shredded the onion with the potatoes as others suggested. My foodie guest asked for this recipe. What more can I say?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      Greetings from Latke Heaven! These are downright celestial! Cut Yukon Golds into large chunks to grate in the processor, then used the knife blade to grind up the onion (and a clove or two of garlic). Definitely soak the potatoes in salt water - bonus: no need to salt the mixture later. And they fry up a treat! Potatoes, onions, and garlic all home-grown...I'll be making these more often. Thank you for a lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      F*A*N*T*A*S*T*I*C! Like many others, I used the small shred blade on my food processor and alternated putting in the potatoes and the onions to get a head start on mixing. Adding the rest was a cinch! I did not squeeze out the liquid--it fell to the bottom of the mixing bowl and I used a slotted spoon to put the mixture in the pan. I fried them up in melted organic veggie shortening (Spectrum brand) and they were PERFECT! My husband took one bite and commented that I hadn't made enough (they covered the serving plate and then some!). Thank you SO much for a wonderful, simple, TRADITIONAL recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2012

      My German family call these potato pancakes Kartoffelpuffer. I love them and when my daughter and I went to a German restaurant in Denver, CO, I recommended she order this and she really ranted and raved over them. You can top them with either applesauce or sour cream. My late husband poured catsup over his and my poor Aunt. She was horrified! She snatched the plate from him, dumping it and replaced with a fresh plate with a dallop of applesauce on each pancake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Just like my grandpa used to make. I shredded both the potato and the onion in the food processor. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      These completely satiated my craving AND I finally found a potato my DH likes! So good, so yum, and so easy. I would bump up onion and spices a little bit as well as add some garlic powder (but that is just my taste) - made these exactly as written and they are wonderful as is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Latkes (Potato Pancakes)

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 131.8
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    57%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 37.2 mg
    12%
    Sodium 273.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes