Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lasagna Supremo (The Best Lasagna Ever!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lasagna Supremo (The Best Lasagna Ever!)

    Average Rating:

    130 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 130

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2012

      This is delicious! The marinara sauce is some of the best I've ever eaten. During the simmering, the tomatoes lose their acidic bite, but the sauce isn't cloyingly sweet, either. Perfect balance! I was surprised to see that the same herbs and garlic are added to the sauce TWICE, but I absolutely understand why he recommends that. Adding them before simmering gives the sauce its complex, rich flavor, but the herbs then get so mingled that you can't really taste their individual components. However, adding another dose at the end of the simmering gives the basil, garlic, etc. their individual notes back again, without losing the complexity of the sauce. Fantastic, marvelous, exquisite!

      I had no mushrooms or olives on hand, so I left those out. I don't think the lasagna suffered a bit, though. It's the marinara that deserves the blue ribbon here. I plan to make up several batches and freeze them in small containers to use on spaghetti, rotini, etc.

      This makes an enormous amount of lasagna, so you could bake it in two pans and freeze one. We ate our leftovers the next night, and I swear the lasagna was even better then. I didn't think that could be possible!

      One comment: the recipe says the total time will be 1 hour 45 minutes. I would allow an extra hour. I can't imagine how anyone could prep the noodles, onions, garlic, beef, and sausage in a couple of minutes, and the sauce really should simmer for more than an hour to give it that deep, rich flavor. Also-this makes a DEEP lasagna, so mine took about an hour to bake all the way through.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      Amazing flavors! Deep and complex. We use it with eggplant lasagna as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      I just prepared three of these tonight for a New Year's Eve dinner party. Not only did they look and smell fantastic, I had to sneak a little taste - OH WOW! Loved it. The recipe was easy to follow, although it does take time to make the sauce, etc. However, it was worth every minute of preparation time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      This was outstanding! I added a little red wine to the sauce, otherwise I kept the rest the same. Thank you for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      Delizioso!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      I made this for my husband with homemade noodles, no black olives, and I subbed the 1/4 lb of ground pork with ground beef. He loved it. He couldn't keep his hands off of it, and after he was full he couldn't keep his hands off me ;) thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      The family loved this recipe! It is a very thick dish so I would suggest to get a throw away tin pan, the tallest one, from the store to make this dish. I think next time I might finely chop up some other veggies to add to it to have a fully rounded meal. We will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      nice recipe.next time just put your film wrap over the pan THEN the foil.That way the aluminum cannot melt into the lasagne.I have done many hotel banquets and buffets and I always did that and with leftovers too...nobody likes to eat aluminum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Excellent Lasagna Supremo, easy to make, delicious to eat. Family LOVES this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      I wouldn't even try this recipe - mushrooms, olives, sugar and fennel seeds? In Lasagna? I guess this person isn't Italian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2012

      Wonderful flavors in this lasagna. I made half a recipe in a 9X9, used fresh pasta and it was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Just made this, it's awesomeeeee! Next time though I'd use less olives. Also made my own pasta but sure it's just as good with shop brought stuff. Also couldn't find Italian seasoning anywhere and you can't get hunts tomato's in the UK but chopped one's work just as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2012

      I would have to agree with Alan, "The Best Lasagna Ever!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      I have used the identical recipe for over 30 years--it is spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      So simple, easy and DELICIOUS. Thanks, this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      everyone absolutely loves this lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Very good, will def. do this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      We found this to be VERY salty. We also changed the number of servings to 12, to reduce the calories per serving, listed in Nutrition Facts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      For anyone who is gluten free - I used gluten free lasagna noodles and this lasagna was fabulous! Because it is made from scratch everything else is naturally gluten free and so it is safe and is truly the best lasagna I have ever eaten. I served it to my entire family at a party and everyone raved. It was even better the next day. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Pork Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lasagna Supremo (The Best Lasagna Ever!)

    Serving Size: 1 (654 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1169.1
     
    Calories from Fat 602
    51%
    Total Fat 66.9 g
    103%
    Saturated Fat 29.7 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 230.3 mg
    76%
    Sodium 2926.9 mg
    121%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 14.0 g
    56%
    Protein 66.5 g
    133%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites