25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My son and I enjoyed this soup very much. It was tasty and went very well with a loaf of Italian bread. I changed two things in the recipe: I used DICED tomatoes instead of stewed (personally, I think diced are much better for soups because they are smaller) and I also used a frozen block of spinach instead of fresh and it thawed out beautifully and added a nice green to the soup.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djphonegirl February 17, 2008

Great, hearty soup! Almost made as directed - Used garlic and basil tomato sauce AND diced tomatoes (rather than stewed tomatoes), used 8 oz. of whole wheat rotini pasta (before I doubled recipe), used hot Italian sausage, used 16 oz. pre-sliced mushrooms (before I doubled recipe), and doubled the recipe as the original recipe says it only serves four. No way! Even for my hearty eaters the single batch would have been AT LEAST 6 2-cup servings. (It is my best estimate as I've double it, and there's SO much!) Great taste! Thank you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyssie71 February 09, 2012

This is quite easy and really good. I chopped everything in the food processor which made it really quick. I used those baby carrots and I used whole grain Bow Tie pasta as I could find the kind called for. I think a different kind of mushrooms than your typical white whatever in the grocery store would be good. My kids like it too.

It's decent as leftovers, but best the day it's made, the pasta gets a little soft after sitting in the fridge. Don't leave out the basil, it really adds that little something.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig October 11, 2011

Used dried spinach.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom May 07, 2011

Love this!! My mother in law made it so I brought it home and tried it!! Let's see how the hubby likes it! I'm about to serve it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.eskew April 18, 2011

I actually got this recipe from Cuisine at Home, but it's the exact same recipe, so I thought I'd review it. This is a very simple, but tasty recipe. What's not to like - all yummy ingredients, and they all work well together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohanoa March 01, 2011

Very good. Major change was in regards to pasta. Found out I didn't have any. I used Ramen noodles and result was very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SlpSawdust January 10, 2011

Very yummy!!! Used whole wheat rotini and used whole tomatoes which i had chopped up..also frozen spinach.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babydoll070409 December 06, 2010

A friend of mine gave me a recipe for lasagna soup which didn't sound all that appetizing, but I liked the idea. So I came online to find another more suited to my tastes and this was AWESOME. I agree the prep is a bit time consuming but I didn't mind at all once I realized how much of a hit it was.....I'm also slow at chopping so it's probably my fault. In addition to the cup of pasta, I added a package of Buittoni's cheese tortellini and it was amazing!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaceyLyn78 November 14, 2010

I made this soup today and it is wonderful! I plan to add it to my soup collection. The prep is a little time consuming but well worth the effort. All the ingredients blend so well. Thanks for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okon May 19, 2010
Lasagna Soup