43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This turned out great. Simple to prepare. I did not use the "meatloaf mixture", but just used lean ground beef. I was worried, due to another reviewer's attempt, that the lasagna noodles would be gummy, that did not happen. It did, however, take a little longer for them to cook and I did have to add more water. (That was probably just the brand I used.) I also replaced the ricotta (not a fan) with cottage cheese and mixed it into the "lasagna". Thanks for the recipe LifeIsGood.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetsmidnight March 12, 2011

Super recipe and so simple to prepare. I used 93% lean ground beef only as the only change. I did add a bit more water to keep it from drying out but that is to be expected based on the sauce used and the fact I had a bit more beef than what was called for in the recipe. That is one of the bonuses - you could add veggies to this and skip the beef, you can bulk up on more sauce or less, more cheese or less and truly make it your own lasagna dish with minimal effort. We really enjoyed it and I know I'll make it again as it saved me so much time! I tagged this in the I Recommend tag game based on weekend cooker's review.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 24, 2011

This in wonderful! I hadn't had lasagna in forever because of the time it takes to make. But this was quick, easy and SO good! I make this weekly. Thanks so much LifeIsGood! *5/17/09* I just wanted to add that I only use ground beef. I make this about once a week because of the ease and the requests from hubby. I've made this for numerous people and I always get compliments.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NellieGirl21550 May 18, 2009

Very good recipe. Made a few changes. I used ground beef instead of meatloaf mix and added onions as it browned, added a little extra garlic, and fat free ricotta. Quick and easy recipe and was perfect because it made a smaller amount than a pan. Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarrieQuiteContrary April 11, 2009

This was very very yummy! I used hot pork sausage instead of the beef and eyeballed the other ingredients (oops, forgot the basil) and will definitely be making this again. Even picky girl who doesn't like melted cheese ate 3 servings worth!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patty9901 February 21, 2011

I love this lasagna--it tastes great, it's quick to make, and the recipe can easily be scaled down for fewer servings (I made 2-3)! Instead of meatloaf mix, I used ground turkey; for the whole milk ricotta cheese I used part skim ricotta; and I replaced the fresh basil with the dried variety (1 tsp. of dried for every 1 tbsp. of fresh)--all of which worked well. I have a feeling this is going to become one of my most used recipes (DH said it was a 5 star recipe after his first bite!). Thanks so much for sharing this LifeIsGood!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal May 03, 2009

Easy and good! I used Mafalda noodles instead of breaking up lasagna noodles. I added some of Penzey's "pasta sprinkle" instead of using fresh basil. And I had to reheat it a bit because the ricotta didn't warm up enough with just covering it. It's on the "make again" list. Update: I made it using 1/2 hamburger and 1/2 sweet Italian sausage. Wonderful! Oh make me stop eating!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie March 26, 2010

Wow this was easy to make, delicious and not to mention a hit at dinner. I hadn't heard of meatloaf mix before so I bought each of the 3 meats. I ended up with approx. 2 lbs of meat mixture and adjusted the seasoning accordingly. I saved half the meat mixture for the next batch. I made my own marinara sauce with fresh tomato sauce that I had canned this year. I used extra lean ground beef, whole wheat pasta and light ricotta cheese. I also added a few more pepper flakes (my error when calculating) but was glad I did. This is definately a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather in Ont, October 14, 2009

This is the perfect recipe when you crave lasagna, but don't have the time for the traditional style. This was easy to put together, and the taste was wonderful. I used all ground beef and a jar of Ragu Roasted Garlic sauce. I also stirred in the ricotta, because DH simply wouldn't eat it if it were sitting on top. I also had to add an extra cup of water, but that may have been due to the thickness of the sauce. No matter....I'll be making this one again real soon. Thanks LifeIsGood, for a wonderful meal. Leftovers tonight. :) Made for the Auzzie/NZ Recipe Swap #32

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 September 04, 2009

This has been my new go to recipe! I love how simple it is. I also add onion when browining. My 7 year old can't get enough of this one. Thanks for a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claxton5 April 13, 2009
Lasagna in a Skillet - in About 30 Minutes!