20 Reviews

Let me start out by saying that I made several changes due to a certain someone in my family not liking cheese, etc... ;-) It still turned out great! My changes: I used rigatoni, half the amount of all cheeses (and not even putting extra on top), used ground turkey and only used 2 jars of marinara sauce. With that said, I think this recipe is probably indestructible. I'm glad it made a big pan because I will have it for work lunches the next few days! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 11, 2014

Scaled this down to 1/3, to fit one dish. Excellent!! Only things I did differently were- used only the egg whites, whisked. Used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. This was delicious!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate July 06, 2010

I would give this more than 5 stars if I could. This is so good! I made a HUGE pan of it, and there is only half left. I can't wait to have some for lunch tomorrow. I served this with breadsticks and a salad. The ease of this recipe, along with the great cheese taste, is fantastic. I used one large jar 45 oz. of sauce and it was perfect. This got rave reviews from my family, and I would love to bring this to a covered dish because I know it would go over big time. Thanks for sharing, definately will be making again, thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula June 21, 2010

So easy and delicious, the only downside was that it seemed to beg for some veggie-ness. But really, how could this be anything but delicious? Epic quantities of cheese, noodles and spaghetti sauce? You better believe I'll be craving this nightly. I actually divided this into 3 as some others have suggested, freezing 2 for later. Perfect easy OAMC fodder.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowswell October 20, 2009

Both of my teenagers gave this a thumbs up and asked for it to be made again. The only thing that I did differently was to use half ricotta and half cottage cheese since I didn't have enough cottage cheese. Easy and tasty !

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sambini January 18, 2009

Great basic recipes. I made some modifications to make it healthier: I added drained spianch to the ricotta mix; used past skim ricotta and mozzarella cheese. I also used whole wheat pasta and used TVP with the pasta sauce(I also added a can of no salt diced tomatoes) for added healthy protein. It turned out great. I only used about 3 cups of cheese and 15 oz. ricotta for a huge tray. Great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YorkieMom73 November 10, 2007

This was really yummy! I used only about 5 cups of mozzarella (b/c i didn't have more :blush: ) and I only used 2 jars of spaghetti sauce because that looked like plenty. I cleaned out the pantry of a bunch of partial boxes of pasta (some shells, mini penne, wagon wheels, and macaroni) to total 16 oz by weight and that worked great. The pan I used was one size up from 9x13, and it barely fit in that! I should think you could easily serve 10 with this dish. Definitely a winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy November 07, 2007

lazyme, you are my new best friend! This recipe is the best of both worlds. Tastes just like the real thing and is so much easier to make. I have made this more times than I can count and it always comes out wonderful. Huge bonus that it makes 3 meals for my family. Everyone loves this and my 7 y/o gets so excited when I make it. I try to keep at least one in the freezer for someone who is under the weather, or for myself when I feel lazy. My oldest has added this to the list of recipes I am required to give to his future bride... when he finds her. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Honey Bea October 16, 2012

excelent flavor and so quick to make. I made this prior to an RV trip, popped it in the freezer and sure got the rave reviews when I served it at our outdoor get-together. Thanks for a good recipe. made for zaar star tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby April 17, 2009

This was really good! I used bread pans, and made 3 casseroles. I used elbow macaroni, and a mixture of ricotta and cottage cheese. I only needed 1 jar of spaghetti sauce - my family doesn't like too much sauce. I froze 2, then baked the third. It got rave reviews!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer R July 29, 2007
Lasagna Casserole - Fake Lasagna