15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my "New Baby" recipe I use. All of my friends get a big tin pan of this recipe to feed the family for a good week when a new baby arrives. I've made it at least 6 times and everybody LOVES it. Only subs for me are using fresh mushrooms and a jar of Trader Joe's Tomato Basil Marinara and a small can of diced tomatoes instead of the canned tomato sauce. FANTASTIC!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brooke_jolly January 26, 2011

Great turned out perfect both times. Once w/ spinach one w/o because I didn't have any. I haven't added the mushrooms yet but will someday. Thank you for making my first Lasagna a success! My 2 year old have 3rds both times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m December 05, 2010

This turned out excellent! I added 8 oz pepperoni/italian sausage so I increased the cottage cheese & tomato sauce (marinara) abit. In the past I've found the dry noodles don't work for me so I par-boiled them 2 mins & cut the recipe water back by 1/4 c. I sub'd steamed kale for some spinach & garlic powder for the salt. I added some chopped artichoke & italian seasoning for personal tastes. Used 12 noodles & it worked beautifully with lots of flavour. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 November 25, 2009

In a word, EXCELLENT !!!! The spinach really makes it. I used a third beef, a third pork and, a third ground turkey. A little extra sauce makes the pasta incredable.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Mad Ukrainian April 19, 2009

Thanks for posting this. This is my wife's favorite lasagna recipe. And yes, it does freeze really well too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Axe January 23, 2009

This recipe is excellent MaeEast. Great flavor & not overbearing on the spices. Our family thoroughly enjoyed it. (Our Miniature Pinscher, Peter, sat in front of the oven the last 20 minutes of cooking in hopes of partaking with us.) I only added one spice and that was basil. We are a basil family. Hubby said to tell you the Lasagna was excellent at our house. Thank you, Chef # 447005

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbsandquilts July 04, 2008

This was a really good basic lasagna. I doubled the recipe expecting to make two lasagna's but only had enough to fill one 9x13 dish. When you're buying those catelli lasagna noodles, be sure to get the large box. You'll use most of it. Will definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perogy Ball June 05, 2007

This is a fantastic recipe! I had never made lasagne before I found this recipe and it is a hit! I actually use turkey meat, fresh mushrooms, and Classico Tomato Basil Spagetti Sauce (to which I add spices). Instead of frozen chopped spinach, I put fresh spinach leaves on top of the cottage cheese blend, then top with more noodles, etc. It is a family favorite and a guest favorite too! I will be making it tonight! Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NiniLettner January 19, 2006

This is the best homemade lasagne I have ever had! I also added diced tomatoes and more sauce as suggested by the other reviewers, but kept everything else the same. Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacy S. December 21, 2005
Lasagna