Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2011

      I'd like to give this recipe 3.5 stars. The lasagna was good and oh so easy and quick to make! That's a plus! I purchased a pound of ground round and a pound of Italian sausage links (5 in the pack). I love the taste of sausage, but I didn't want to chance having the flavor overwhelm the dish. So, I opted for using a pound of the ground beef and two of the five sausage links. In the end, I thought the balance was just right. I boiled the ground beef as you would when making Cincinnati chili. I remember noticing how fine the ground beef was in a lasagna I ordered at a local Italian restaurant and loved the consistency of the meat. Boiling the meat gave me the desired outcome. I just strained the water by using a mesh colander - pressing the water out with a large cooking spoon. I cut the casings of the sausage open and cooked the sausage in a small frying pan - mashing it up so it would form into sausage crumbles. I sauteed the garlic in salt and red wine instead of using sugar (personal preference). I usually use a sweet red wine in tomato sauce dishes, such as port. I mixed the ricotta cheese with fresh parsley - no chopping required...I just washed the parsley and tore and broke the leaves by hand. I did not need to add milk. I didn't find red pear tomatoes, so I used crushed tomatoes. When the sauce was simmering, I poured in a couple more splashes of red wine. I used the no boil lasagna noodles (my first time - and knowing what I know now..definitely not my last). Just read the directions. They call for slightly overlapping the noodles and covering them completely with the sauce. The noodles will expand out to the edges of the bake ware you are using. And completely covering the edges with sauce will ensure there are no dried out noodles in the end. I didn't measure out the mozzarella. I simply envisioned the serving sizes of the lasagna and placed the large slices of fresh mozzarella where they would need to go. I baked according to the directions on the box of lasagna noodles...I believe it was 375 degrees for 50 minutes. I will definitely make this recipe again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      I loved this lasagna recipe! I wasn't sure what "red pear tomatoes" were, so I just used a can of peeled diced tomatoes. I also left out the fennel seeds because I didn't have them and used the no-precook noodles. SO GOOD!!! The way that the sausage carmelized because of the sugar and garlic in the pan was amazing. I got a lot of great compliments =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      I just made those Lasagne and it was really delicious. I substitued Italian sausage with Chorizo (spanish/mexican sausage) and served with fresh sour cream. I can really recommend this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2013

      This is a really good lasagna. My family just loved it. Will be making again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2012

      This is a geat lasagna recipe. I will continue to make this, I liked the combo of Italian sausage and beef. Thank you for sharing with us

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      It is the first lasagna I made; it came out so tasty that all the family members said that is the best lasagna they ate; I skipped the fennel but otherwise I followed the recipe closely, except for a little less salt , about one teaspoon; used no boil noodles. Can't wait to make it again !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2011

      This lasagna is VERY tasty and has really SAVORY and RICH flavor. I made it in dutch oven and it came out so tasty...I would even say-much better than in restaurant...more meat for sure. I think a lot of success of this lasagna belongs to the type and quality of Italian sausages that you are going to use and to the right amount of spices. So, don't skip any spices and buy sausages with rich flavor! Good Luck!
      I also could't find pear tomatoes, so I used diced tomatoes from can.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      This is delish! I did not find "red pear tomatoes" so used regular sauce instead. Used no-boil noodles with success-cooked covered longer than stated to ensure they were cooked through. Added 1/2 c milk to ricotta mixture. Served with salad and galic bread! Will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      Despite winging the amounts and screwing up the layering, this lasagna turned out to be delicious. I'll be making it again and following the recipe more closely next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2010

      I really like this recipe, and everyone else did too! I will be making again. I also thought the sauce was very thick, but I just added pasta water to it until it got a little thinner. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      A sure crowd pleaser! They will ask for leftovers! I omit the sugar but KEEP THE FENNEL! I add more garlic, plus a layer of chopped spinach in the middle. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This came out amazingly well for someone who can't cook! :) Friends LOVED the taste.

      However, I'm incredibly confused by the ratio of sauce to meat! Is there a certain brand of red pear tomatoes extra water/broth that we're supposed to use? I only used half the meat suggested, (added a cup of sliced mushrooms in full disclosure, but I needed to get rid of them!) and my sauce was still... well, let's just say my boyfriend was eating it out of the pot with a fork. Not a spoon. :(

      I was afraid to simmer it too long, only went 15 minutes and still felt while assembling the lasagna that there should somehow be more liquid. Plus after refrigerating a day the leftovers were pretty dry. Augh, I should have followed "Life is Poetry" review and added milk, but wasn't confident I wouldn't blow something up...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Oh my gosh this was a super delicious recipe. My husband loved it as did our guests. As suggested I served it with a green salad and garlic bread. We will enjoy this recipe again and again. Thanks for sharing. Sassyrose from Utah

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I've made this numerous times and it's always a huge hit. Unlike other lasagna recipes, this doesn't have to set for a while for it to come together. I use all the meat and salt recommended but usually add more parmesan for a tangy bite. Otherwise it's a little sweet for my taste. I use the no-bake lasagna noodles and it's super fast and easy. Everyone thinks it took me forever to make from an old family recipe! Looks like I just outed myself :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      this was wonderful. i followed the recipe pretty much as stated except that i halved the salt, used fresh cherry tomatoes instead of canned because i had them on hand :) and i added a bit of milk to the sauce to make it thin out and go further. i think next time i'll add more garlic as we like it to stand out a bit more, but hands down this was awesome. first time i've made and liked a lasagna other than my dads and i believe this just might be a bit better! thank you for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      amazingly rich and smooth andtaste! only wished i had fennel seeds. it's been a while since i made time to make a lasagna; i'm so glad this was my welcome-back! beaner, you ain't kidding about feeding a crowd. i had to use 2 11x7x2 oval dish to fit it all in. the only reason i couldn't give it a 5 star is because i thought it used too much meat. i would use only about 1/2 - 3/4 the ground beef next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This was absolutely amazing. I have never made lasagna before and this one went off without a hitch, not only was it delicious, it really wasn't too difficult. I am over the moon that I now have a reliable go to lasagna recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I made this recipe for company, it was very good, I used the hot italian. Had a great flavor just as written, will be making again this week. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2007

      Super easy with relatively few ingredients. i used a fresh whole garlic minced, and dry cottage cheese instead of ricotta. Everyone loved it. I will keep this recipe and it will be my lasagna recipe. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      I have to update my rave review of this recipe. I have made this countless times for different parish activities, since I'm the designated caterer. I always receive compliments on it. I make my own pasta usually, which adds to the tastiness. Even when I suggest a different menu, people ask for this. I made it this month for 60 people. I have to say I was hoping for the Pasata salads, becuase it's very warm in Tucson in June and ditto my kitchen, but they had no mercy and demanded the Lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (359 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 726.9
     
    Calories from Fat 369
    50%
    Total Fat 41.1 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 19.6 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 146.8 mg
    48%
    Sodium 2389.8 mg
    99%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.9 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 12.3 g
    49%
    Protein 43.7 g
    87%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites