11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love tapioca, but usually use instant in order to avoid the soaking time. When I want it, I want it now! This is a great recipe that requires no soaking.<br/><br/>If you use a double boiler, why would you need to stir constantly? I just put it in a pot and stirred frequently and it was dandy with just the right tapioca lumpiness. Tapioca is not a gourmet dish! I'm making this again today with 1/2 the sugar. It's way too sweet as is, and if I need it sweeter when I eat it, I'll add a dollop of blackberry jam. Yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Paul August 13, 2013

Excellent recipe but even with half the sugar it was still too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mary h. October 04, 2014

Great recipe. Would make again. <br/><br/>I would modify a few things though next time:<br/>1) Add slightly less sugar...maybe use 3/4 cup. It does seem a bit sweet and I even have a sweet tooth!<br/>2) I would cool my tapioca mixture slightly before folding in egg whites on the last step.....I chucked it all together right after taking it off the stove and I think it cooked the whites a bit and made it chunky...as it would....I should have known better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpatter1 June 28, 2013

I just made this pudding today and it is hands down the best I have ever had other than my Mom's. I would swear she used the same recipe. I had to use seed tapioca and it worked great. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oologahma March 30, 2011

Excellent! To speed up the cooking time put tapioca in a bowl, cover with cold water and refridgerate overnight. Drain tapioca when ready to use!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carleton4 September 09, 2009

Great Recipe using the large pearls!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zinniasnmarigolds January 30, 2008

Really good! Rich and creamy. I used whole milk. Very sweet, you could et away with cutting down on some of the sugar and it would still be good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil' Lori September 26, 2007

I had been to the dentist and was looking for something light to eat this was just great I added diced fresh peaches when it cooled. It is certainly worth the time to cook, I will make this for a summer treat with fresh fruit salad.Thanks Chefiebig

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yum.yum September 03, 2007

My kids love this recipe!! They also love having it when friends visit and telling them it is 'Fish Eye' pudding. LOL I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and tossed in a bit of cinnamon. Then put it all in the slow cooker on low. When it is done I add the eggs, including whites, and vanilla, continue to cook a bit longer say 10 minutes. Then I serve with whole raw cream. Yummmmmmy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maeven6 June 01, 2007

This is a very tasty pudding! I'd never cooked pearl tapioca before, and after two hours ran out of patience, so the tapioca was still a little hard in the center. I didn't consider that when giving stars, however - we just thought it was a little too sweet. That's probably a matter of personal taste; people who like their puddings very sweet will probably love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 June 17, 2006
Large Pearl Tapioca Pudding (AKa Eyeball Pudding)