20 Reviews

I have baked tons of cookies in my day, and these are among the worst. I can't believe the rave reviews that they have gotten. The cookies came out very cake-like and dry, very bland with little flavor. I am so ticked that I spent extra money on really good chocolate for these. What a waste of ingredients. No I didn't make any substitutions and used good quality ingredients. I am a very experienced baker, I have even earned a living from it. I was hoping for much better

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bakechef March 01, 2009

This is an excellent recipe. Great cookies that hold their shape,almost perfectly.I had never used shortening in a chocolate chip cookie recipe before so I wasn't sure what to expect. I found out that I very much prefer butter, and the flavor it gives the cookies. So while this really was an excellent recipe I think I'll stick to butter from now on.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali August 03, 2011

I made these cookies yesterday and I am so impressed with how they turned out! What a huge batch! I have 5 kids here, so the large amount works well for us. LOL! I split the batch as suggested and did half chocolate chips and walnuts and the other half with butterscotch chips and pecans. Yum! They are perfect. Crunchy on the outside and moist in the middle. This will be my go-to recipe for cookies! :) Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
All Astir and Mixed Up July 06, 2009

These are the best cookies I have ever had! Everyone who had one asked for the recipe and asked for more cookies! They are WONDERFUL! Because they are so thick, I found that it works great to bake them with a piece of parchment paper on the cookie sheet so they don't burn on the bottom before they are done inside.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teabear8 November 18, 2008

Excellent cookies! The texture is absolutely perfect: soft and chewy. I used half a batch with semi-sweet chocolate chips, and the other half with choc. chips and toasted pecans. 15 minutes in the 325 oven was perfect. Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozen_rain September 03, 2008

Excellent recipe. Hubby was thrilled. I was looking for a thicker, chewy recipe instead of the standard Nestle recipe, and this is it. I halved it, and only used 12 oz choc chips, which made the perfect chip to cookie ratio in my opinion! Should've used higher quality chocolate, but that's my fault. This one's a keeper! Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aletamarie February 27, 2008

There is a major discrepancy here. 7 cups of flour to just 3 cups of sugar and only 2 tspns of vanilla extract is to flavour this entire batch of cookies? There's no way that I can, in good conscience, waste this amount of ingredients or time on this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustineofQueens February 04, 2013

This is the recipe I've looked for forever. These don't flatten out when baked and aren't greasy looking or tasting. They keep a nice shape and are soft and a little cakelike. The second day they are more chewy which only makes them better. I only made half a batch and froze about half of the dough scooped out into rounds, which I gave about a dozen to each of my daughters and they baked them later, ones boyfriend said they were awesome. I got about 38 cookies using the smallest scooper. (Looks like and ice cream scoop.) I don't see how one person didn't like the cookies, just read all the other reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mposa2 March 05, 2011

This recipe is great!!!! We love it. This will be the only chocolate chip cookie recipe we use from now on. Does anyone know how to turn it into peanut butter cookies? Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
891756 July 11, 2009

these are really good cookies.If I could ,I'd go to 5,000000!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherylgatto January 30, 2009
Large Batch Chocolate Chunk (Chocolate Chip) Cookies (Oamc)