Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lapin a La Cocotte - French Rabbit Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lapin a La Cocotte - French Rabbit Stew

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2010

      This is the first time I have cooked rabbit, and it turned out very well. The meat was tender, and the liquid had lots of flavor. I added some chervil and tarragon, as well as some chanterelle mushrooms and artichoke hearts for extra vegetables. Overall, a nice, easy dish that tastes good on a cold, wet evening. This would also be very good with chicken thighs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Awesome stuff! Added some extra wine/beef stock, tossed in carrots and mushrooms too and came out with a very tasty stew.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      This was excellent - rabbit was tender, sauce was tasty. I used 2 fryer rabbits, cut-up. I also put some quartered potatoes on top, but they needed a little extra microwaving after an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      Tasty recipe. I used a bit more broth and wine and also included some button mushrooms (~1.5 cups), which added a pleasant texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      Very, very good! However, I cooked a wild rabbit caught this morning, so I simmered for about 2 hours, as wild bunnies tend to be a little tougher than domestic ones. At the very end of cooking, I also added some sauted mushrooms and about 2 T. of heavy cream and threw the bacon back in the pot. A keeper recipe for yummy rabbit. Served over hot buttered noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This smelled wonderful while cooking! The sauce was excellent even though I didn't use the wine. (Used extra broth instead) I'll definitely keep the sauce in mind when I make another stew. The rabbit portion of the recipe wasn't my favorite, but that wasn't the recipe's fault. I didn't know what to do with the rabbit in our freezer, and this was a great way to use it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I used this recipe to create the broth for my own stew. As beef broth tends to lack a true savory heartiness, I switched it for chicken broth and let it simmer with the rabbit bones, fresh spices and wine for an hour or so before. The wine was what made this recipe so wonderful, it really gave the stew a full bodied kick! I highly recommend fresh spices as well as a little sage. I threw that in and my broth just smelled divine. This recipe is perfect as a foundation for your own stew, add a little extra of what suits your taste voila!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2006

      I lost my french grandma's recipe for rabbit stew. This is about as close as you can get. It was delicious. Thank you !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Rabbit Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lapin a La Cocotte - French Rabbit Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (576 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1059.0
     
    Calories from Fat 427
    40%
    Total Fat 47.4 g
    73%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 346.6 mg
    115%
    Sodium 809.4 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 121.2 g
    242%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites