11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These muffins were fantastic. The almond extract is a nice touch. I had some fresh berries to use up, and this was the perfect recipe! They're definitely best while they're still warm, but they still taste great the next day. I'll be making these a lot over the rest of the summer!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HerbalElf July 06, 2009

Delicious muffins. Mine looked just like those in the picture. Done after cooking 25 minutes. Good warm or at room temperature. Did not last long and asked to make again. Thanks for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' January 06, 2015

Awesome muffins! I walked out of the kitchen after eating one muffin, came back, and they were all gone! So obviously the family loved them. Nice edge but tender inside. My frozen blackberries are monster huge so I ended up pressing two blackberries into each muffin cup of batter, about 1 1/3 cups blackberries, so they'd be evenly distributed. Perfect at 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama December 30, 2013

These were very good. I used whole wheat flour and fresh blackberries. They are a great breakfast muffin- not overly sweet at all. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef de Sucre May 29, 2010

I think I waited too long to review these, because I forgot all the changes I made! If I remember right, though, I used plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk, mostly whole wheat flour, reduced the sugar and used part brown (something like 1/2 C brown & 1/4 C white), and used applesauce in place of half of the butter. I also used mixed berries, rather than just blackberries. These were wonderful right out of the oven, and then the next morning, but were definitely better warmed up, and eaten within about 24 hours of being made. Will definitely make these again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
qotw13 August 25, 2008

I made these for the first time and well... they didn't rise, a few actually sank. I followed the recipe except I added 2 cups blackberries (maybe that did it?) Also around the berries the dough was a little undercooked and I caught a slight oatmeal. Overall, I liked them and I will try again to see if they rise next time. Great taste and not too sweet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DessertQueen July 11, 2008

I loved this recipe,the oatmeal really adds a nice flavor and texture. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 18, 2007

We loved these muffins, very moist and lost of flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E P. August 03, 2007

My sugar shorts went CRAZY over these! I made it em, threw them in a container (had to use up some fresh frozen blackberries), didn't think much about them and WHAM. These guys were GONE. I only made half the recipe, won't make that mistake again. the only kind of mistake I did make was to try to get them out of the tin a little too quickly. They will stick but do pop right out once cooled. I have to do em again! Thanks Oregano.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jockey July 19, 2007

Tried these muffins this morning using Lvs2Cook's pre-freezing method. They did rise beautifully and were fully baked (in my oven) after 37minutes. What a time saver! The muffins were FABULOUS! I loved the addition of oats. It gave the muffins a slight chewiness and made them much more filling than a typical muffin.What can I say about the blackberries other than DELISH!!! This is a new favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather'sKitchen May 26, 2007
Langley Blackberry Muffins