Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lancaster County Ham Loaf Wow Wow Wow Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lancaster County Ham Loaf Wow Wow Wow

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2011

      This recipe was SO GOOD! I made ham balls and used the pineapple glaze (that I tweaked a bit) for them and it was just like my husband's grandma (from Amish Country) makes. I wound up baking the ham balls for 45 minutes and then I transferred them to a crock pot and poured the glaze over them and let them cook for a few hours. It was really good. Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2009

      We love it too. Best ham loaf ever. I didn`t change a thing. Many thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      I bought "ham balls' at a farmer's market and hoped I could find a recipe and here it is. Very good dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      This was good and very easy to make. I always follow recipes exactly the first time and then modify them if necessary. This was fine as it was, but I may add onions or bell pepper next time, just to get some veggies in. I've never had ham loaf before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. My boyfriend said he would definitely eat it again, which is a compliment coming from him! It was good dipped in mustard! I served it with steamed asparagus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2010

      This was very good. The only thing I changed was I used graham cracker crumbs in place of the breadcrumbs. We loved the sauce on the top.....yummy. Thank you for sharing this delicious loaf recipe with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2010

      WOW! Add my thumbs up to the rest of the reviewers comments! Exceptional ham loaf recipe, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      This was very good, I used only ground ham because I had so much to use up. I should have added a little more egg/bread though so it would hold together better. My family loved the taste. I also used crushed pineapples in the sauce, and was told that it really "made" the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      I loved this, and did a mixture of pork and ham. Plus substituted water for Pineapple Juice in the sauce. Plus added a sprinkle of ginger powder into sauce. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2010

      THis is definately a 5 WOW recipe :) Did add some minced onions. Excellant recipe...thanks for posting! Update - made again for the 4th time. This time I used ground ham and ground pork. I also didn't put it in a loaf pan but shaped it into a loaf and slathered the whole thing with the sauce. I will never put in a loaf pan again! The leftovers are just as good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Very good. Everyone in my family loved it, couldn't ask for more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      We really loved this ham loaf. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      WOW is right. I ground up the leftovers from our Christmas Ham to make the loaf. All my guest raved about the loaf. As a word of cuation. Adjust the salt according the saltyness of your ham. I used 1/4 tsp of salt and it would of been better with no additional salt.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      W-o-n-d-e-r-f-u-l!!! I did add some diced onion and changed the ground turkey to about 1/2 cup mild sausage. The sauce IS TDF! Great for left-over sandwiches. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      omg.......i have not had this since i lived in pa......the best recipe i have ever tasted 4 ham loaf...was skeptical about serving to my husband......but he loved it....sauce is to die for...yum yum thank u will not lose this recipe:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Absolutely superb! I've made it once and I'm about to make it again. Last time it lasted only a day or two, so I may double it this time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      WOW.WOW,WOW, is right!! I made this tonight for dinner with hash browns. Amazing flavor. This is a keeper.!! Thank you W JKing for sharing your recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      I just used this recipe for my first ever ham loaf, and I'm not going to look any further for ham loaf recipes. It was GREAT. I topped it with pineapple rings and marachino cherries right before I poured the sauce on and that was the only change I made.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Delicious ham loaf! I used ground pork shoulder and ground ham. I also substituted Graham cracker crumbs for the bread crumbs - just a touch of sweetness. I make this in large quantities (6 pounds of meat, total) and scoop the mixture into muffin tins, rounding the tops, bake without the glaze for 30 -35 minutes, cool and remove from tins onto a baking sheet and freeze. Then I package them in meal-size quantities (6 to a freezer bag). I also make up the glaze and freeze it in one cup containers (enough for 6 ham balls). These are great to have on hand for a quick meal. I just place each frozen ham ball atop a pineapple slice on a rimmed baking sheet, and baste with the thawed glaze while I bake them at 325º for 40 minutes or till hot. I made 24 ham balls and a small ham loaf from this amount of ground meat. Thanks for a great recipe - a family favorite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2004

      I had to grind my own turkey ham but it was well worth it. This made my house smell wonderful, and today when I brought leftovers for lunch my boss tried to snitch them from me. He took a taste and said it was excellent. This is easy and delicious and I humbly than the poster for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Almost identical to Mom's (and she wasn't Amish). Mom used Virginia ham and ground beef (but I've also used ground pork) and 1/4 cup water. Other than that, identical. I generally shape as a round loaf on a pie plate with a crater on top to hold the sauce so it soaks in. IMPORTANT: use country-cured ham and not a picnic, Black Forest, or fully cooked/spiral ham. This is a good way to use the end of a country-cured ham that may be getting a bit dry. Ham loaf make a nice sandwich the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lancaster County Ham Loaf Wow Wow Wow

    Serving Size: 1 (197 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 316.7
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    27%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 95.1 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1309.3 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 18.6 g
    74%
    Protein 27.2 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites