36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Gee, ours never made it into the fry pan. And you mentioned syrup so out came the maple syrup. Then out came the black banana and I mushed banana through it, and then added a touch of cinnamon. I'm probably being a Philistine with the recipe but I don't know any better as I have no idea what it should taste like! Yum!!! Thanks for putting the basic recipe down as I wouldn't have thought about using polenta for breakfast :-D

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat January 18, 2003

This is a great,simple, homey recipe. I made this twice - this first time preparing it as hot cereal, as suggested in the description, and then the second time chilled, sliced, and pan fried as directed in the steps. Both ways were equally delicious. Thank you for sharing this versatile, quick, and tasty family recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather January 19, 2003

Have made this several times, It is delicious fried and eaten as a beakfast side dish, with eggs or with syrup or jelly. D, Car

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nanadixie November 26, 2002

I haven't had this for a LONG time either. I had forgotten how to make it. The recipe on the box of cornmeal I have only has the recipe to make a hot cereal so was happy to find your recipe because I prefer mine fried. It is in the fridge waiting to cool so I can slice and fry some for breakfast this morning. Thanks for the recipe,WJKing. I can hardly wait to eat it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Ross January 04, 2003

I have not had this for a good long time,very good.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karl henry December 05, 2002

We love cornmeal mush for breakfast, sliced and fried served with syrup. Instead of plain water, I make a broth of smoked pork neck bones and use it along with the meat that comes off the bones. This gives the mush an extra tasty zip and adds a bit of protein. Give it a try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gloria in Tampa December 05, 2012

I haven't made cornmeal mush in years but I came across it this morning when desperately looking for easy breakfast ideas. Today was the kids first day of summer break and I'd forgotten to stock up on breakfast stuff last week in preparation. So no oatmeal, no granola, no quinoa flakes, pancake mix, or even butter, oil and eggs! Grrr... I'm so glad I came across this. I served it to them cereal style (no way would the ravening hoard be patient enough for it to cool so I could slice it & fry it) with raisins, drizzles of local honey as well as a dash of local raw half & half poured over it. They loved it and demanded more. :D This brought back so many memories.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amis June 08, 2012

Exactly what mush should be. We always had it as a treat with my grandma's hungarian goulash (NOT the the kind with tomato & pasta) or even chicken paprikash - eating it like mashed potato. On the rare occasion there were leftovers it was fried the next morning for breakfast. Silly some people give a poor rating when they don't understand what the dish is. For future ref - can be eaten like mashed potato, grits, hot cereal or fried - cheap and versatile!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance May 02, 2010

I guess I might not be sure what mush is supposed to be like...but this was awful. I'm sorry...expected a 'cornbread' type of product...this was just terrible.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J'sSweetness April 21, 2010

This is the easiest cornmeal mush I've ever made. I used Quaker cornmeal. It thickened nicely before it came to a boil; therefore, I got to skip step 3 in the recipe. I cooled it in the frig for several hours, sliced it, and fried it with a little oil and butter. My husband loves fried mush. He eats it as if it were bread. Thanks so much for posting this easy old timey recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby March 12, 2010
Lancaster County, AMISH Cornmeal Mush