Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lancaster County, AMISH Cornmeal Mush Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lancaster County, AMISH Cornmeal Mush

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2003

      Gee, ours never made it into the fry pan. And you mentioned syrup so out came the maple syrup. Then out came the black banana and I mushed banana through it, and then added a touch of cinnamon. I'm probably being a Philistine with the recipe but I don't know any better as I have no idea what it should taste like! Yum!!! Thanks for putting the basic recipe down as I wouldn't have thought about using polenta for breakfast :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      This is a great,simple, homey recipe. I made this twice - this first time preparing it as hot cereal, as suggested in the description, and then the second time chilled, sliced, and pan fried as directed in the steps. Both ways were equally delicious. Thank you for sharing this versatile, quick, and tasty family recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Have made this several times, It is delicious fried and eaten as a beakfast side dish, with eggs or with syrup or jelly. D, Car

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      I haven't had this for a LONG time either. I had forgotten how to make it. The recipe on the box of cornmeal I have only has the recipe to make a hot cereal so was happy to find your recipe because I prefer mine fried. It is in the fridge waiting to cool so I can slice and fry some for breakfast this morning. Thanks for the recipe,WJKing. I can hardly wait to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      I have not had this for a good long time,very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      We love cornmeal mush for breakfast, sliced and fried served with syrup. Instead of plain water, I make a broth of smoked pork neck bones and use it along with the meat that comes off the bones. This gives the mush an extra tasty zip and adds a bit of protein. Give it a try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      I haven't made cornmeal mush in years but I came across it this morning when desperately looking for easy breakfast ideas. Today was the kids first day of summer break and I'd forgotten to stock up on breakfast stuff last week in preparation. So no oatmeal, no granola, no quinoa flakes, pancake mix, or even butter, oil and eggs! Grrr... I'm so glad I came across this. I served it to them cereal style (no way would the ravening hoard be patient enough for it to cool so I could slice it & fry it) with raisins, drizzles of local honey as well as a dash of local raw half & half poured over it. They loved it and demanded more. :D This brought back so many memories.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Exactly what mush should be. We always had it as a treat with my grandma's hungarian goulash (NOT the the kind with tomato & pasta) or even chicken paprikash - eating it like mashed potato. On the rare occasion there were leftovers it was fried the next morning for breakfast. Silly some people give a poor rating when they don't understand what the dish is. For future ref - can be eaten like mashed potato, grits, hot cereal or fried - cheap and versatile!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2010

      I guess I might not be sure what mush is supposed to be like...but this was awful. I'm sorry...expected a 'cornbread' type of product...this was just terrible.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This is the easiest cornmeal mush I've ever made. I used Quaker cornmeal. It thickened nicely before it came to a boil; therefore, I got to skip step 3 in the recipe. I cooled it in the frig for several hours, sliced it, and fried it with a little oil and butter. My husband loves fried mush. He eats it as if it were bread. Thanks so much for posting this easy old timey recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2009

      Good stuff! We add a tablespoon of butter to the mix while cooking. And we like it fried in butter, and top with syrup. thnaks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      LOVED IT! My husband and I thought it tasted (and looked) like cornbread french toast sticks...I drizzled them with syrup. YUMMY!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      My mother makes this for us all the time. Her mother used to make it for her when she was a kid. We like it fried in a bit of butter and oil. The only "topping" we like is salt, no sweeteners.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      Wow. I've never had this before! Surprising, since I grew up pretty close to an Amish community!! It reminded me a little of Malt O Meal or breakfast grits but with no awful preservatives and hidden sugars. What a fantastic recipe! I also noticed that when I dragged my box of Quaker corn meal out of the pantry, there is a very similar recipe on the "can" but it called for an extra cup of water and less simmer time. Hmmm. Not sure the difference but I plan to play with this one a little. I also added a TBS of my cinnamon/Splenda mix like the pp suggested. I put Smucker's sugar free syrup on it and went into a "happy coma". Thanks WJKing! Update: As of 2008, I no longer use Splenda. I use Stevia or sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      My mom introduced this to me aobut a week ago for the first time. I didn't think i'd like it since i'm not a fan of farina or grits but I loved this recipe. The only difference is that she adds about 3/4 cup of milk at the end of cooking before serving. I tried it with some butter but LOVED it with maple syrup. I will make it in my own home and follow your directions for cooling the rest and then frying it up. Sounds delicious!! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Unbelievably easy and satisfying. Loved having it fresh out of the pot with some real butter and real maple syrup (although that strayed from the WW core plan - oops!).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I made this when I was craving polenta, so I followed the recipe, but added a little garlic and onion powder, served pan fried topped but a dab of butter and some parmesan cheese. Go great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2007

      Just like mom used to make! Perfect texture (I like to simmmer 10 minute for a slightly less firm texture.) and oh so easy to whip up the night before for a warm & filling breakfast the next morning. If you are expecting some kind of 'taste explosion', well this isn't that isn't going to happen. This is a warming, soothing comfort food that, IMO, has to be dripping in syrup & butter with a little sprinkle of cinnamon on top. A healthy dash of Pumpkin Pie Spice mixed into the cornmeal while cooking can give you a flavor burst along with some brown sugar for a sweeter version. I also like this with apple pie filling (warmed) on top. If you like savory polenta, then I'd recommend giving this a try. It easiky halves if you don't want a full batch your first time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      So many names for the same creature. Polenta, marmaglia (think thats right) its all very similar. I make this often for myself and my 6 year old. We like it with butter and salt. I also like it with cottage cheese and sour cream and a sprinkle of cinamon sugar and nutmeg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Sorry, but I wasn't really a fan of this. I've not had cornmeal mush before but wanted to give it a try as I like cornmeal plenty. I think the problem was that it was simply too bland for my liking. There was just nothing much too it. I ate it both ways - right after it was cooked (with syrup) and fried, but I didn't like it either way. It was edible and all but I probably wouldn't have this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lancaster County, AMISH Cornmeal Mush

    Serving Size: 1 (83 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 55.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    96%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 298.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites