53 Reviews

This really does work very well!! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplemom January 03, 2008

I should have reviewed this much sooner... WORKS wonderfully cheap to make and does the job!!! thank you for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady November 25, 2007

This is in response to the last reviewer who warned aginst using vinegar on laminate flooring. I Googled this topic and there are many, many references to using vingear on laminate flooring. Indeed, the official Pergo site itself recommends using this very mixture of water and vinegar. (Of course, they also recommend their own Pergo cleaning product.) I have personally used vinegar/water on my Mannington laminate flooring for approx. 4 years and have had excellent results. And saved tons of $$.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golfergirlj November 07, 2007

We just installed out laminate floors and were told repeatedly by all the dealers we spoke to NOT to use vinegar... the finish guarantee would be null & void if we used vinegar as it slowly corrupts the finish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
therowlands November 06, 2007

We have had laminate floors for about 9 years. They were getting streaky and I couldn't figure out why. After reading this recipe and talking with my DH we figured out why. He was using about 1-1/2 c vinegar per gal of water. Using this recipe we now have no more streaks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH November 04, 2007

Thanks so much for this simple yet effective floor cleaner recipe. There was a slight smell of vinegar hanging in the air after mopping but it eventually cleared. I will definitely stock up vinegar from now on. Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmee-of-3 September 27, 2007

This is the only thing i use to mop my ceramic floor tiles with & they are streakless & not sticky... will use this when we get laminate flooring put in too...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Littlemomma July 20, 2007

I was out of my usual floor cleaner and didn't want to go to the store - but the floor desperately needed cleaning. I knew I'd find something on Zaar to use :). I did have to scrub a little more than I do with my commercial floor cleaner, but it did do a very nice job. No streaky or sticky residue and the vinegar odor is not very strong at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 05, 2007

Thought this was never going to work!! It is so much more effective than all those brand name products that never quite pick up the stains and shoe scuff marks! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn April 16, 2007

I have had laminate wood flooring for just over 18 months and have tried too many floor cleaners to count. They are all expensive and always seem to leave my floor sticky. WELL, I was desperate the other day because they always seem dirty, even with every other day cleaning. I found this recipe on the Internet and decided to give it a try. I added a tad of rubbing alcohol to the vinegar and water. The vinegar, water and alcohol did an amazing job--my floors have never been cleaner! This is going to save me a ton of money AND time. I also feel it is now safe for my babies and pets to walk on the floor. Who knew what was in that other stuff I was using? Thank you to the person who invented this recipe! My floors now pass The Sock Test (where I can slide on them they are so clean). They also have stayed clean, where before they were sticky and gritty the following day. Yay!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinekeenan April 04, 2007
Laminate Floor Cleaner