26 Reviews

Delicious! Took the advice of other reviews and doubled the broth/port wine. Didn't have chicken broth so I used beef broth, and I also added pearl onions with the 10 garlic cloves.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minglemonkey August 18, 2012

My lamb shanks were large (just over 500 grams/1 lbs ) each (I scale the recipe up for 3 serves) and added another 10 minutes to the cooking time. I could not brown my shanks in my electric pressure cooker as I couldn't get them to lay flat so did them in a frypan and then deglazed the frypan with the chicken stock before adding to the lamb and the cloves of garlic (which I browned in the pressure cooker). Once lamb was cooked I put into a casserole dish and kept it warm in the oven while I reduced the sauce (as my pressure cooker would take to long to do this , I put the liquid in a pot and rapidly boiled to reduce and then added the butter and voila a delicious gravy that was out of this world. Thank you Mrs. Goodall, made for ZAAR Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat August 14, 2012

I have never made Lamb Shanks before, this recipe was easy and convenient. It was extremely tasty and my husband and myself thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks Mrs Goodall for sharing !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dialgranpop June 22, 2012

Very tasty recipe. Super easy to make. Reading other reviews I was worried about the sauce's consistency, but mine turned out fine. Served this with green leaf salad and the Orzo with Mushrooms from this website.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolenecaruana July 18, 2014

4 stars as written, I followed recipe the first time I made it except for tripling the liquid and all seasonings. I wanted lots of gravy, plus I didn't want sludge forming in my 6 qt pressure cooker. The shanks weren't nearly done in specified time, garlic was lost, not much flavor. When I did it again for my 2 large shanks, I seasoned them heavily with granulated garlic and then dredged in flour with even more in that, plus lemon pepper, garlic salt, Mrs Dash Tomato and Basil then browned, removed and deglazed pan with 1/2 C merlot. Used 2 C chicken broth and another 1C of merlot, and increased the tomato paste to 2T. I sliced 1/2 onion into basket in bottom of cooker, + 4 sprigs rosemary +~2T refrigerated minced garlic. Put shanks on top, slathered with more refrigerated minced garlic, 2 rosemary sprigs, and sprinkled with oregano and Italian seasoning. Next time I'll put 3 4" rosemary sprigs atop each shank rather than 1, also maybe some cloves of garlic sliced thinly. As much of both that I used this time, neither were used in excess this time I cooked 45 min, turned down gradually to ~#2 mark. They were cooked perfectly.I thickened with cornstarch then added malt vinegar 1T for this amount of gravy. I used the butter but not necessary, it's just added fat. I had more gravy than needed but I didn't want to take the chance of it going dry in my big cooker for the extended cooking time. I.served them on mashed potatoes with asparagus and fruit salad., and with my many changes I give it 5 stars. 2 shanks serve 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef February 10, 2014

Delicious! I made the recipe as directed having to brown the shanks in a frying pan so they would fit. This is my favorite lamb recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac June 13, 2013

Delicious and fast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dortheabooks June 07, 2013

Great recipe! This was my first time using my pressure cooker AND I had company for dinner! It turned out awesome! I made a few small changes, used Merlot instead of the port, doubled the amounts of liquids, used fresh rosemary (and a lot of it), added small potato's, carrots and a can of diced tomatoes. YUMMO!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie Moo's BBQ February 25, 2012

The meat falls off the bone! Unfortunately, I too had a similar experience as the other two raters in that at the end of cooking, rather than having a liquid base to flavor and reduce, I had a thick mat of gunk on the bottom of the pan.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom February 02, 2012

Perfectly awesome, this recipe is. I was fortunate to get a couple of true lamb shanks from the butcher this week, and looked online for an easy PC recipe. This was it! I honestly had nothing to change. I did make orzo with mushrooms and raisins as a side but, as far as the lamb, it was PERFECT. Many thanks to "Mrs. Goodall!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebinCO October 16, 2011
Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Port Wine - Pressure Cooker