Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Port Wine - Pressure Cooker Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Port Wine - Pressure Cooker

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2012

      Delicious! Took the advice of other reviews and doubled the broth/port wine. Didn't have chicken broth so I used beef broth, and I also added pearl onions with the 10 garlic cloves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      My lamb shanks were large (just over 500 grams/1 lbs ) each (I scale the recipe up for 3 serves) and added another 10 minutes to the cooking time. I could not brown my shanks in my electric pressure cooker as I couldn't get them to lay flat so did them in a frypan and then deglazed the frypan with the chicken stock before adding to the lamb and the cloves of garlic (which I browned in the pressure cooker). Once lamb was cooked I put into a casserole dish and kept it warm in the oven while I reduced the sauce (as my pressure cooker would take to long to do this , I put the liquid in a pot and rapidly boiled to reduce and then added the butter and voila a delicious gravy that was out of this world. Thank you Mrs. Goodall, made for ZAAR Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      I have never made Lamb Shanks before, this recipe was easy and convenient. It was extremely tasty and my husband and myself thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks Mrs Goodall for sharing !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2014

      Very tasty recipe. Super easy to make. Reading other reviews I was worried about the sauce's consistency, but mine turned out fine. Served this with green leaf salad and the Orzo with Mushrooms from this website.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      4 stars as written, I followed recipe the first time I made it except for tripling the liquid and all seasonings. I wanted lots of gravy, plus I didn't want sludge forming in my 6 qt pressure cooker. The shanks weren't nearly done in specified time, garlic was lost, not much flavor. When I did it again for my 2 large shanks, I seasoned them heavily with granulated garlic and then dredged in flour with even more in that, plus lemon pepper, garlic salt, Mrs Dash Tomato and Basil then browned, removed and deglazed pan with 1/2 C merlot. Used 2 C chicken broth and another 1C of merlot, and increased the tomato paste to 2T. I sliced 1/2 onion into basket in bottom of cooker, + 4 sprigs rosemary +~2T refrigerated minced garlic. Put shanks on top, slathered with more refrigerated minced garlic, 2 rosemary sprigs, and sprinkled with oregano and Italian seasoning. Next time I'll put 3 4" rosemary sprigs atop each shank rather than 1, also maybe some cloves of garlic sliced thinly. As much of both that I used this time, neither were used in excess this time I cooked 45 min, turned down gradually to ~#2 mark. They were cooked perfectly.I thickened with cornstarch then added malt vinegar 1T for this amount of gravy. I used the butter but not necessary, it's just added fat. I had more gravy than needed but I didn't want to take the chance of it going dry in my big cooker for the extended cooking time. I.served them on mashed potatoes with asparagus and fruit salad., and with my many changes I give it 5 stars. 2 shanks serve 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      Delicious! I made the recipe as directed having to brown the shanks in a frying pan so they would fit. This is my favorite lamb recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2013

      Delicious and fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Great recipe! This was my first time using my pressure cooker AND I had company for dinner! It turned out awesome! I made a few small changes, used Merlot instead of the port, doubled the amounts of liquids, used fresh rosemary (and a lot of it), added small potato's, carrots and a can of diced tomatoes. YUMMO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      The meat falls off the bone! Unfortunately, I too had a similar experience as the other two raters in that at the end of cooking, rather than having a liquid base to flavor and reduce, I had a thick mat of gunk on the bottom of the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Perfectly awesome, this recipe is. I was fortunate to get a couple of true lamb shanks from the butcher this week, and looked online for an easy PC recipe. This was it! I honestly had nothing to change. I did make orzo with mushrooms and raisins as a side but, as far as the lamb, it was PERFECT. Many thanks to "Mrs. Goodall!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

    • on February 08, 2011

      This recipe was delicious and so easy. I love it! I couldn't find lamb shanks at the store so I used a 2 lb piece of lamb leg instead so added 1/2 cup more broth and 1/4 cup more port wine and cooked it for 35 min in the PC....served it with mashed potatoes and peas and it was amazing. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      One of the best lambs ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      awesome dish, i used chopped garlic(3 teaspoons) and it was quite evident in the meal. apart from that all was the same as recipe. Definitely will be making it again, absolutely fantastic!! >=D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      wonderful rich sauce...I serve with Israeli cous cous and peas and mushrooms. Everyone in my house loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This is excellent lamb. I was unable to find lamb shanks, so I got lamb shoulder chops and followed the technique for cooking, but only cooked it for 10 minutes and it was perfect. The sauce is fantastic. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This recipe is fantastic! My family loved it and my youngest son is begging me to cook it again. He says it's the best dish I've done to cooking lamb. I adjusted the recipe though. I used fresh rosemary sprigs, and instead of tomato paste, I used half a cup of stewed tomatoes minced to puree consistency. I also added an extra cup of water to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      Wow...I've been making this for a while now with lamb shankslamb chopsbeef short ribs....nothing less than DEE-licious! Thank you so much for a fab recipe. I love using fresh rosemary from my garden...it's a very rich sauce that demands potatoes of some kind in all respects...we just love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

    • on July 11, 2009

      Was very wary about the amount of garlic but what can i say, absolutely DIVINE! I have now made these FIVE times in the last 2 months and they'll be a family fave for years to come now! Well done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lamb Shanks With Garlic and Port Wine - Pressure Cooker

    Serving Size: 1 (612 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1278.7
     
    Calories from Fat 628
    49%
    Total Fat 69.8 g
    107%
    Saturated Fat 27.8 g
    139%
    Cholesterol 425.0 mg
    141%
    Sodium 453.4 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 122.7 g
    245%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes