11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a wonderful treat this was!! I'd never made anything out of lamb before--this recipe is simple to follow, very well written, and beyond delicious!! The lamb was so tender!! We served this stew over white rice, and of course, had warm rolls to soak up the sauce...Dana, this was outstanding!!! Definitely a keeper--thank you so much for sharing!! TERESA

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TGirl,RN March 07, 2003

Perfect! I love new beef stew recipes! I think browning the meat on the onions was a great idea. I added potatoes instead of green beans only because nobody really likes green beans around here except me. Although everyone loved you Balsamic Geen Beans at Christmas. OK...I'm off the subject a little. This is the first time I ever made beef stew not in a crock pot, and the meat was tender and perfect. This was too easy! Thank you Dana!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kiss*My*Tiara March 07, 2003

This is a cracking meal!!!!! We had this with mashed potatoes. The sauce is very tasty. I used just over 2lbs lamb with frozen beans plus the addition of a teaspoon of rosemary at the end of cooking. Haven't got any left for freezing though!! Thanks for a great recipe Dana.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela Sara March 07, 2003

Extremely easy recipe with a very nice flavor I doubled the garlic and added more spices (oregano and basil) and a little bit of fresh lemon juice. I'll make it again. This review comes with best wishes and prayers for Dana.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ March 07, 2003

Very easy and interesting flavor. I added 1/4 teaspoon of oregano to the stew and it was just to my liking. I cut down cooking time by steaming green beans after the beef was being cooked for 45 minutes. I then added the steamed green beans to the stew and cooked for 10 more minutes, just enough for the flavors to blend. Served mine with steamed Jasmine rice. Super delicious comfort food. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Pan March 08, 2003

DANA ~ Excellent Stew!! I used the Beef and I never made it with the Tomatoe sauce & canned tomatoes But it gave the stew a great taste & a special tate that will be in my stew from now on !Hope I get to meet U ~ POKER~

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poker March 08, 2003

This was a refreshing change from beef stews made with a beef gravy. I substituted carrots for the beans (our preference) and added potatoes to make this a one dish meal. It would also be good served over broad noodles. Thanks Dana!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady March 08, 2003

I used lamb and followed the recipe as indicated. After cooking for the first hour, I tasted it and felt that it lacked flavour. I added a bay leaf and some marjoram which did help. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 12, 2014

Made this with lamb; also added some carrots and potatoes. Very nice flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo Anne July 14, 2009

This was really good!! My husband is not fond of stew, but even he admitted that this was great. Definitely a keeper! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evalina December 10, 2006
Lamb or Beef Stew