Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lamb Meatballs with Spicy Tomato Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lamb Meatballs with Spicy Tomato Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2003

      I am so glad that I picked this recipe to make for the RSC contest because it is a real winner! I made this dish exactly as instructed and got perfect results and a wonderful meal for two with one serving left over. I actually made this recipe the day before and reheated it with outstanding results! The meat balls are so very tender and the sauce filled with flavor. However, it was very spicy (fine for us) and some people might want to cut down on the cayenne pepper just a bit. I know I will make this again, not only for my family, but as a great dish to serve to company. Congratulations on creating an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2003

      we really enjoyed this recipe. my husband kept raving about how buttery the lamb tasted and couldn't believe that the recipe didn't have butter in it. Unlike Geema, the sauce wasn't quite spicy enough for MY taste so i doubled all the spices. This made it spicy but not too much, my 18 month old ate it. We thought the meatballs would be delicious on a pita with some raita. We served it with rice as directed which was quite good. I also substituted milk for the 1/2 and 1/2 to cut down on the fat, i don't think it affected it much. Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2004

      These are just too good for words! We are trying to stay away from beef and this is an excellent choice! I doubled the recipe and served them over rice pilaf with a tzatziki style cucmber salad on the side. the meatballs were tender and flavorful and the sauce is just beyond description...tomatoey,creamy,spicey yet mellow, very comforting. I will be serving this often. Thanks Kelly for creating this scrumptious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      Great recipe! doubled w/o problem. Kept meat seasoning proportionally as written but doubled curry and cayenne in sauce ( quadrupled as I doubled recipe). Absolutely delicious! Served with a scattering of chopped fresh Italian parsley and steamed Super Basmati rice. Will make for company and proudly serve. Seems like a perfect dish to cook up and then throw in the crockpot on "warm" to serve buffet style with rice and a salad and maybe creamed spinach on the side - easy entertaining! Thanks for posting Kelly M.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      Made this for a dinner party and didn't change a thing. They were a hit! The flavor of the sauce and the meatballs is divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2013

      I really loved this recipe. Very comforting, very easy for a weeknight meal. I will double the recipe next time though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      This was a winner! We pureed all of the sauce because we like a smooth texture with our curries. The meatballs are so yummy! We ended up eating it with ground turkey instead of lamb because that is what we had, but I can only imagine it is even tastier with the lamb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      Really a great sauce. I doubled the sauce ingredients, used milk instead of 1/2 and 1/2, used Panko for crumbs. Meatballs were good but could have been baked, its the sauce that makes this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Very good. Loved everything about it. The sauce was to die for. I served it over white rice. When I got home my husband told me after he ate his dinner, he put some more of the sauce over his noodles. Again, awesome

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This was a great recipe. I had been wanting to make it for awhile but lamb is hard to come by in my area - especially ground lamb. Upon reading the reviews I doubled the garam masala, garlic and curry but left the cayenne the same. The dish had a nice kick but it wasn't overwhelming. The tomato sauce turned out great. I served with sticky rice and broccoli. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Absolutely stunning. I'm not one for trying to make "a healthier version" of good recipes, but if you sub the cream for some low fat yogurt, there's no real difference. The meatballs are still beautifully juicy, and the sauce goes perfectly with boiled, sticky rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      These were different and pretty good. I too doubled the curry powder and garam masala. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2008

      I thought this was great. We love spice, so I took others' advice and doubled the curry and the garam masala. I left out the sugar and added a chopped jalapeno with the onion. It was definitely hot, but delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      These are yummy~~My DH liked them very much. I doubled the curry powder and the garam masala. I put in 1 1/4 tsp. sugar, and I think next time I will leave it out. Thanks for sharing!! :O)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      DH and I had this for dinner last night and absolutely LOVED it! It had a nice texture and spicy flavor. I doubled the garam masala, tripled the curry, and halved the sugar as suggested by other reviewers. I also used cream, only because I didn't have half and half on hand, and used slightly less chicken broth; again, because it was all I had on hand. My DH remarked how much he enjoyed the dish, which is a real compliment as he is somewhat difficult to impress. We will definitely be making this again. We had the meatballs over Jasmine rice, and served this with Potato & Zucchini Curry, Potato and Zucchini Curry by Love4Culinary. It was a nice compliment. Thank you for this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      This made a lovely rich curry sauce with meatballs. I did need about twice the curry powder, but the strengh of curry powder, as well as individual tastes, varies. I used somewhat less broth and heavy cream. I simmered the sauce until it reached the desired thickness, so didn't need to thicken it with flour. Oh, and only used about 1/2 teaspoon sugar. Thank you for a nice recipe. I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      Kelly, this is wonderful. We really enjoyed this with french bread and green beans. I'm really glad I doubled the recipe! Actually, I doubled all ingredients except for the broth, added more like triple the curry powder, and used only 1 tsp sugar. This was great. Thanks for posting! -- posted Jun 4, 2005 UPDATING because I forgot to say before that I used nonfat milk thickened with cornstarch instead of half-and-half...yielded a rich-tasting but lower-calorie result. Fantastic meal. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2005

      Yum yum and another YUM!! Made a couple minor changes - only used about 1 1/4 tsp sugar and also 1/2 cup canned tomato puree instead of fresh tomato. Also used fat free half-n-half which worked great and reduced the fat level but not the richness! Wonderful delicious, spicy, creamy, rich dinner. I cooked my rice with some garam masala. Thanks soooo much for the recipe Kelly!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2004

      The reviews were so positive for this recipe that I boldly decided to quadruple it before I even made it. I'm glad I did because the flavor is glorious! I decreased the amount of sugar by half because, like Lizzie-Babette, I didn't want a very sweet sauce. Other than that I didn't change a thing. I thought the spices were perfect - smoothe and comforting with just a little bite! I served the meatballs over brown rice with a cucumber raita on the side. My husband and I enjoyed it very much and I look forward to serving it to my in-laws. Thanks for a delightful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2004

      I made this recipe exactly as directed; unfortunately, this dish didn't overly appeal to DH or me. It smelled great while cooking, but didn't have the flavor we expected. The sauce seemed extremely sweet to us, with a less pronounced tomato flavor. However, the lamb meatballs were quite good, with a nice spice to them, and I plan to use that portion of the recipe again to make lamb meatballs in a different tomato sauce. This is definitely a unique recipe, with unusualy yet pleasant taste, and if a sweeter tomato sauce is what you're looking for, this recipe may be just the ticket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lamb Meatballs with Spicy Tomato Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 623.3
     
    Calories from Fat 400
    64%
    Total Fat 44.5 g
    68%
    Saturated Fat 18.0 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 198.3 mg
    66%
    Sodium 1278.0 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    31%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites