26 Reviews

Very tasty! Because I used only a pound of lamb, I altered the measurements by using approximately a quarter of the recommended amount of each ingredient in the sauce and baked in the oven. Everyone loved it and wished I had made more. I will definitely make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kcps96 May 01, 2010

This is an AMAZING recipe. I followed it as written but when I served it, I took the leftover redcurrant jelly, put it on the stove and boiled and reduced it. I used it to top the lamb straight out of the crockpot and served it with orzo and it was an instant hit. I'm so glad to find a lamb recipe without mint, with little work and with great flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julieannie January 10, 2011

This was so tasty...the gravy was delicious too, I made a slight change in that I covered the lamb with three sprigs of rosemary.....also I had smashed potatoes and parsnip with the lamb. Now I have enough for three meals in the 'fridge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IWYG November 14, 2010

Wow, this is the second one of your recipes I have reviewed today, I actually made this for OAMC and served it with your cauliflower cheese, which I just reviewed and also gave 5 stars! Your instructions and times worked very well, it came out perfect and smelled sooo yummy. It tasted even better. We can't eat the whole leg in one go, so its great that we could freeze it in ziplock bags to pull out for a quick meal. This was also great for lunch on fresh bread rolls! Mmmm, I am salivating just thinking about this lamb again, lol! Thanks for another amazing recipe French Tart!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang November 02, 2010

Delicious! Mine got a bit dry, but that's because I unexpectedly had to work a few hours late. However, the sauce is so incredibly flavorful it was the perfect topper to the dry parts. I didn't have redcurrant jelly this time so I used a mix of raspberry, apricot, and strawberry - but I will be on the hunt for the redcurrant and will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe. We enjoyed it with a fresh green salad and roasted potatoes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FitWitch September 13, 2010

Made this for the first time this evening and I can assure that it will not be the last!! It was absolutely delicious and very tender. Hubby loved the gravy which I reduced and then added cornflour to thicken. Served with mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans and it quickly disappeared- even my two teenage sons wolfed it down.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SALLYSIAM September 05, 2010

This was my first time making lamb and it was amazing!!! I didn't have any regular dijon so I used some stone ground mustard that had horseradish in it. I think it added a nice little kick. I also added some dried rosemary after a couple hours, I think next time I'll throw a couple fresh sprigs in there. So good, so easy, I will definitely use this recipe again and again! Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Gwenie July 02, 2010

This is one of the best lamb that I have had (ever!!!) Delicious, mouthwatering, restaurant quality and I would definately serve this lamb to guests. I cooked the gravey down to much and it ended up in a glaze...but "man oh man" was it delicious!!! I had huge compliments from the family. I couldn't find red currant jelly, so I used blackberry currant. I encourage everyone to try this phenomenal dish!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl April 20, 2010

My first lamb roast! And it was very good! I used a 4.5 pound "semi boneless" roast and it was done in my crockpot after 5 hours. I actually freaked out a little bit because when I check it the internal temp was 190F! It was a little dry on the edges, but was still fantastic. Use black currant instead of red because I couldn't find the latter. Thanks FT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen April 10, 2010

We had this as part of our Easter dinner and it was absolutely delicious. I had to use a boneless leg, cooked for 4 hours on high, with about another half hour on warm (until it was time to eat). I used red currant preserves (imported from Switzerland) and local honey (produced just up the street from me!) Thanks for another fabulous recipe FT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 April 08, 2007
Lamb for Learners! Redcurrant and Honey Glazed Lamb (Crock Pot)