Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lamb for Learners! Redcurrant and Honey Glazed Lamb (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lamb for Learners! Redcurrant and Honey Glazed Lamb (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      Very tasty! Because I used only a pound of lamb, I altered the measurements by using approximately a quarter of the recommended amount of each ingredient in the sauce and baked in the oven. Everyone loved it and wished I had made more. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      This is an AMAZING recipe. I followed it as written but when I served it, I took the leftover redcurrant jelly, put it on the stove and boiled and reduced it. I used it to top the lamb straight out of the crockpot and served it with orzo and it was an instant hit. I'm so glad to find a lamb recipe without mint, with little work and with great flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      This was so tasty...the gravy was delicious too, I made a slight change in that I covered the lamb with three sprigs of rosemary.....also I had smashed potatoes and parsnip with the lamb. Now I have enough for three meals in the 'fridge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      Wow, this is the second one of your recipes I have reviewed today, I actually made this for OAMC and served it with your cauliflower cheese, which I just reviewed and also gave 5 stars! Your instructions and times worked very well, it came out perfect and smelled sooo yummy. It tasted even better. We can't eat the whole leg in one go, so its great that we could freeze it in ziplock bags to pull out for a quick meal. This was also great for lunch on fresh bread rolls! Mmmm, I am salivating just thinking about this lamb again, lol! Thanks for another amazing recipe French Tart!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      Delicious! Mine got a bit dry, but that's because I unexpectedly had to work a few hours late. However, the sauce is so incredibly flavorful it was the perfect topper to the dry parts. I didn't have redcurrant jelly this time so I used a mix of raspberry, apricot, and strawberry - but I will be on the hunt for the redcurrant and will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe. We enjoyed it with a fresh green salad and roasted potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      Made this for the first time this evening and I can assure that it will not be the last!! It was absolutely delicious and very tender. Hubby loved the gravy which I reduced and then added cornflour to thicken. Served with mashed potatoes, carrots and green beans and it quickly disappeared- even my two teenage sons wolfed it down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This was my first time making lamb and it was amazing!!! I didn't have any regular dijon so I used some stone ground mustard that had horseradish in it. I think it added a nice little kick. I also added some dried rosemary after a couple hours, I think next time I'll throw a couple fresh sprigs in there. So good, so easy, I will definitely use this recipe again and again! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      This is one of the best lamb that I have had (ever!!!) Delicious, mouthwatering, restaurant quality and I would definately serve this lamb to guests. I cooked the gravey down to much and it ended up in a glaze...but "man oh man" was it delicious!!! I had huge compliments from the family. I couldn't find red currant jelly, so I used blackberry currant. I encourage everyone to try this phenomenal dish!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      My first lamb roast! And it was very good! I used a 4.5 pound "semi boneless" roast and it was done in my crockpot after 5 hours. I actually freaked out a little bit because when I check it the internal temp was 190F! It was a little dry on the edges, but was still fantastic. Use black currant instead of red because I couldn't find the latter. Thanks FT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      We had this as part of our Easter dinner and it was absolutely delicious. I had to use a boneless leg, cooked for 4 hours on high, with about another half hour on warm (until it was time to eat). I used red currant preserves (imported from Switzerland) and local honey (produced just up the street from me!) Thanks for another fabulous recipe FT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      So tasty, and so easy! I had a 3-4 lb lamb, and cooked on high for about 5 hours. Any fat that I didn't trim off the lamb all melted off and made for quite the delicious sauce. Thanks for a good first time experience with leg-o-lamb!
      4-9-12-- I've been making this for Easter for the past 4 years. Always delish! Note, my new crock-pot runs really hot. Recipes that I used to cook on high 4hrs or low 8hrs, I have had to adjust the temps/times. I cooked the lamb this year 3 hours on high and 2 hours on low. It turned out beautifully. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Made this for Christmas Dinner. Got up at 4:30 am to put it on and was back in bed by 4:40. Spectacular! The meat literally fell off the bone (I had even forgotten to add the water). The family members who sniffed they would never eat lamb devoured it. My lamb-loving kids asked me to fix it every day. I did add a couple of rosemary sprigs, as other reviewers suggested. Next time I will use some of my home made plum jam, instead of the store bought red currant jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This is a great recipe. I am a rookie in the kitchen and recipes like this make me look like a pro. It came out perfect and the gravy was fantastic. I did Easter dinner for family and in-laws. Everyone raved about this lamb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Fantastic! My first time cooking a leg of lamb and it worked out perfectly. Followed the recipe exactly except cooked it in a dutch oven at 225°F for 6 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This was divine! I used lamb shanks and I couldnt get any currant jam so I used black doris plum. At first I thought it was going to be too sweet but then the flavours developed and it was so so good. Served with mashed potato, green beans and carrot, superb! Thanks French tart YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This was the most tender and moist leg of lamb I have ever cooked and I usually do one once a week. Brilliant recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      OMG Shame shame shame on me, I can't believe I haven't rated this yet, and I am making it for the 3rd time. This is the only way I do my leg of lamb snce stumbling upon this fabulous recipe, all I have is praise, it's amzing. I made it for guests, and all I got theough lunch was compliments, and how they would never get anything as god at a restaurant. I served it with spiced carrots, and horse radish mashed potatos. What a great meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Oh My! Oh Wow! I do not have a crock pot FT (hope you do not mind.) I do know about cooking times of lamb, as I cook it often. I decided to do a 2.7kg leg of lamb in a slow oven for 6 hours and boy oh boy was it amazing. I have a lamb recipe that I probably prefer more for the flavour that is infused into the leg, but for how perfect it was cooked and for the glaze, that omg made for the best gravy I have ever served with a lamb leg before, it was amazing!!! Every single person I had for my Sunday Roast today complimented the tenderness of the roast. I can only guess, this is how it works in a crock pot, but the slow cooking method in the oven was just fall of the bone amazing. I will say it again, but I have never had so many compliments on the gravy before, the glaze added such a wonderful flavour and I do not know how it works in a crock pot. But cooking this in a slow oven, gave me so much more yummy liquid off the lamb, that when it came time to make the gravy, I had a 5 star restaurant quality gravy to serve along side. Fabulous FT :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2009

      AMAZING. This is the best lamb dish we've ever tasted! The only variation is that we used lamb shanks, which were perfectly falling off the bone in 6 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      This was delish! My lamb was small to be cooked in a crock pot for several hours, so I cooked it in 425 degree oven just under an hour. Great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lamb for Learners! Redcurrant and Honey Glazed Lamb (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 511.3
     
    Calories from Fat 276
    54%
    Total Fat 30.7 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 13.1 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 151.9 mg
    50%
    Sodium 175.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.8 g
    47%
    Protein 42.3 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes