Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lady and Sons Asparagus Sandwich - Paula Deen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lady and Sons Asparagus Sandwich - Paula Deen

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2013

      Made as written and preparing three sandwiches (3 asparagus spears each sandwich) and reducing the amount of dressing yield by one third. Delicious! Subbed aged white cheddar for the Monterey Jack. Thanks, Sharon! Made for Veg Tag/April. Will make again soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Comment only: regarding teh calories. I think the calculator is giving calories for the whole dressing recipe and of course you wouldn't use it all on one sandwich! I think I'll be making this for lunch today!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      I will not be making it till later this week, but wanted to comment about the calories. It seems the calorie amount has included the full recipe of the dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      wow this was an expensive sandwich, the price of asparagus is very high right now, I made this using my Kittencal's Thousand Island Dressing with a pinch of cayenne pepper added to the dressing, I I did not have any Monterey Jack at the time so I used Provolone instead, I always enjoy "The "Ladys" recipes, thanks for sharing Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      it is a comment only: - it has 2439 calories, must be the asparagus :) or pumpernickel bread

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      5 Stars, a quintessinal sandwich, the contrasts in flavors and textures are exquisite, all of which accent the asparagus perfectly. I came for the asparagus, I'll make this again for the bite of the red onion, the still crunchy asparagus, the mellowness of Monterey Jack cheese, the yumminess of a zesty Thousand Island dressing, and the grounding of intense Mestemacher Pumpernickel bread. Note that the recipe includes directions for 2 3/4 cups of Thousand Island Dressing, although you only use about 2 tablespoons for one sandwich; that's because it's hard to subdivide one egg, and once you try this sandwich you'll want it again and again! I selected smaller asparagus spears for their tenderness, but for this recipe it might be better to use the larger spears so the asparagus will stand out more. A lot of the asparagus is trimmed away, but I'm saving the discarded asparagus to make Vegetable Stock #135453. I loved the red onion, but I may use half as much next time. Thanks for posting this recipe, Sharon, I love it! Made for November 2008 Veg*n Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      This really is a GREAT sandwich!!! I love the homemade dressing. I made this recipe a couple of years ago when I first saw it on TV and we all loved it. I use scallions instead of the onion suggested, but no other changes. I hope others tr;y this because they will LOVE it!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      the calories are outrageous, i hope that is not right. however the sandwich was great. i'm a sucker for a vegetable sandwich being that i am a vegetarian. i'm always on the lookout for a new sandwich recipe. i would have never thought of making an asparagus sandwich especially with 1000 island dressing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I have had this sandwich several times at the restaurant, and the key is to make the dressing yourself rather than using bottled. The Lady and Sons is located in Savannah, Georgia, not Atlanta.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Very good and so unusual! Seems like 2-3 spears of asparagus is enough for 1 sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lady and Sons Asparagus Sandwich - Paula Deen

    Serving Size: 1 (1029 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2439.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1549
    63%
    Total Fat 172.1 g
    264%
    Saturated Fat 45.5 g
    227%
    Cholesterol 418.7 mg
    139%
    Sodium 6959.7 mg
    289%
    Total Carbohydrate 208.3 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 84.1 g
    336%
    Protein 36.9 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites