Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Lacy Potato Kugel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lacy Potato Kugel

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2004

      This recipe is taken word for word from "Kosher by Design," a great cookbook by Susie Fishbein. It's really not right to post things without giving credit. It IS a great recipe, as are all the recipes I've tried from this cookbook. EDITOR'S NOTE: Recipe description updated 4/30/04

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      I have made this recipe for passover and high holidays for several years. It is a delicious if somewhat labor intensive kugel. I make it early in the day and leave it on the counter to keep hungry kids from picking at the other dishes.The only optional adjustment I have made is to substitute chicken broth or parve stock for the H2O. Wonderful recipe. Thank you for posting it. It's a staple now in my family of 12.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This is a great recipe but way to many steps. It got rave reviews but 2 or 3 pkgs frozen hash brown potatos the eggs 1 pkg of frozen onions some chopped garlic and parsley would bring the same results

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      This is the first kugel of any kind that I have ever made. I used 1 1/2 cups diced caramelized onions and 1/2 c raw onion puree mixed with the eggs and oil. Then I grated 7 large peeled Yukon Gold potatoes on the small side of my cheese grater. Grate fast and squeeze dry and place directly in the egg so they don't turn brown. I did the starch and boiling water thing even though I was very dubious. Add salt and pepper and nuke about a tablespoon for 30sec to test for seasoning. Add more salt and pepper if needed. At this point I put the whole mix in the fridge overnight. I took it out about an hour before cooking and stirred it well. Then followed directions exactly for baking. It was done after 20min on 500F and 25min on 400F in my oven. I was told it was absolutely delicious and the tiny bit I got to taste was yummy. There wasn't a drop in the pan at the end of the night. So even though I thought the starch thing weird. It worked out very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      great recipe! I make it for Shabbat morning and put it on hot plate an hour before serving. Everyone loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2011

      I have not had Kugel since my Dad passed away. I just made this recipe today and I love it!! It's not at all like my Dad's, which was very thick and weighed a ton.. This one is so light and delicious, I am sure he would have loved this. This will be a monthly regular instead of the same old potatoes. Thanks for the recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      out of this world!!!!! huge hit at our passover meal last night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Everyone loved this at Rosh Hashannah! Thanks so much I'll definitely be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Okay, made this for like the 12th time! Delicious recipe. I actually added more starch and less water. I also threw in some of the powdered chicken soup from the matzoh ball mix. Everyone just adores this kugel!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      The BEST! I forgot to add the potato starch and didn't miss it at all. Also reduced the water to 1/4 cup. Made in muffin tins...they came out like potato pancake muffins! Everyone raved and I've now been elected to make them every Passover. Would be so yummy with applesauce or sour cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      Fabulous. Rave reviews - from guests who have been making and eating kugel for years!. Used mini muffin pans and reheated before dinner. And, I used chicken fat to saute onions. I think this made a huge difference in taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      This is the first time we have had potato kugel. I am still not sure how I really feel about this dish a few days later. Part of it may be that I am not a huge potato lover but I just didn't think there was enough flavour and the inside was too runny. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using corn starch as I couldn't fine potato starch anywhere. Perhaps it would be more to our tastes with some garlic and a little less water. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      A fantastic kugel. My cuisinart doesn't have a fine grater, so I put the potatoes through the shredder disk and then gave the shreds a few short pulses with the chopping blade to achieve the perfect texture. Here's a tip: if you cannot find potato starch (same as potato flour) where you live, you can substitute corn starch. There will be no difference in the result, except that it will not be kosher for passover. I added a clove of garlic when I pureed the onion because I love garlic. Also, I substituted chicken schmaltz for the 5 Tbsp of oil (but NOT the 1/4 cup oil) because I love that flavor. If you happen to have some gribenes on hand, it wouldn't hurt to toss that in, too. Still, this kugel is awesome as is. I baked it in two deep quiche pans and served it in wedges with brisket for Shabbat. It was a big hit with everyone at the table. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      I shredded rather than grating the potatoes. I also added 1/4 cup matzoh meal. It was excellent. Everyone wanted seconds!! I took the advise of the person who recommended reducing the water,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I am a good cook but I can't get my potato kugels to stay good when re-heated; finally a recipe that does the job! This was enjoyed by all. I just had to come back and edit my comments because of the bad, bad review posted after me. This kugel is the best there is! Creaminess is a sign of a good kugel. Some people like theirs with shredded potatoes and matza meal which reminds me of latkes which I love very much but not in a kugel and I have yet to taste one made that way that I like. It just goes to prove there's no accounting for taste but take a chance and try this, I'm so glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      In my 50+ years of enjoying potato kugel, this was one of the worst I've tried. I made this recipe to the letter. While the potato and onion flavors were good, my family just couldn't get past the weird "creamy" element from the added potato starch and boiling water. It made the kugel seem under cooked, even on reheating the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Wow, this recipe is a winner! I used a lot less oil but more onions. I ran around to find potato starch, but still wondered if it was needed! Thank heaven for my Cuisinart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Though it takes a bit more time to prepare than other potato kugels I've made, it's well worth the effort. My family raved about it. Next time I prepare this, I will reduce the water to 3/4 to 1/2 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      Oh, yummy! This was a delicious kugel that my family loved for Rosh Hashanah. We ate it with sour cream and applesauce. I am looking forward to making it for Chanukah as a substitute for latkes. Thanks for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      This was a first timer with kugel for us and we found it tasted very similar to German "Kartoffel Puffer" just it's a lot less fussy to make. I halved the recipe and found it needed about 10 minutes less baking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lacy Potato Kugel

    Serving Size: 1 (260 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.0
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    38%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 62.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 425.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites