Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / La Madeleine's Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    La Madeleine's Tomato-Basil Soup

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2002

      I'm so happy to have the recipe! I made it last night and it tastes just like the soup at La Madeleine's! It was easy to make and everyone loved it. I used canned, crushed tomatoes and 1 can of chicken broth with enough tomato juice to equal 4 cups of liquid. A new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      This is quick and easy to make and the flavour is wonderful. I used canned tomatoes and fresh basil. I would lighten it up next time by using a lighter cream or milk. Actually, we kept "testing" it as it simmered and both of us agreed that it would make quite a nice soup without the milk at all. I will make this again soon, and often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2002

      The only change I made was using light evaporated milk instead of cream. This soup with deliciously simple to make and tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      I made this soup yesterday. After reading other reviews I added a tsp of minced garlic and onion powder and salt in when I simmered the tomatoes. I used canned whole tomatoes and fresh basil and I used 3 cups tomato juice to 1 cup veg. stock. I did opt for the lemon juice based on other reviews also. It came out really good. Not exactly like La Madeline's but pretty darn close. I think it was a little thinner than LaMadelines version. I think next time I would use another cup or two of tomatoes and I think it would thicken it up a bit. Overall very good and would certainly make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      The first time I made this recipe, I pureed hot tomatoes. Big mistake! Next time, I used pre-pureed tomatoes from the can and it tasted the exact same. Since then, I have used the pureed tomatoes in a can and substituted half of the tomato juice for chicken broth. Yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      The best soup I've ever made. The whole family loved it. My kids asked to take some for lunch the next day. Will be making again soon. The recipe is simple and I used my Vita-Mix to puree the tomatoes and basil together. Turned out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      Pretty good. I made as written, with the exception of using 1/2 canned tomato and 1/2 fresh (come on it's a drag to peel and core tomatoes) (oh, and I also added 1 tsp garlic, and 1/4 c onion). I wonder if it's possible to cut back on the cream and butter? It was very filling, and a beautiful color. I used 14 (big) leaves of fresh basil, and it may have been OK to use a bit more (wasn't a strong basil taste to me). I also added lemon, but it didn't say how much to add, so maybe 1.5 tablespoons. I think balsamic vinegar might be a nice touch. I pureed half the soup, and left half "chunky" and mixed it together. Served it with Havarti and Gruyère grilled cheese (which when dipped in the soup put it into the next galaxy).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Yum! The lemon juice is a must. It was delicious. I used a can of cruushed tomatoes as well as frozen chopped basil cubes. Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I have never been to La Madeleine, so I can't say how close it tastes to their version. I didn't puree the soup, as I had a VERY messy and painful experience last time I tried to puree hot soup, so I just finely chopped the basil beforehand. Also, I added garlic powder and onion powder for a bigger flavor. Finally, I topped with grated Parmesan cheese. The leftovers didn't last long!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2009

      Delicious! I doubled the recipe adding a chopped onion and 3 garlic cloves which I sauteed in advance. I used canned crushed tomatoes and V8 juice with chicken stock. I did not see the need to process the soup. I really like the basil torn up into small pieces, so I didn't want to process it. I made this for a group of precious friends and they all loved it. Thanks, will be making it again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      very good. i sauteed some onion and garlic minced and added to first step & added some parmesan cheese per other reviewers. All enjoyed, adults and kids!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      we loved this soup. It does remind me of Lamadeline's soup. We eat there quite often. I did'nt have fresh basil so I substitued about 3 tsp. dried basil. I also used 3 cups tomato juice and 1 cup chicken broth. I also added about 1/8 cup sugar. This soup was wonderful. I will be making this in the winter months.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2002

      I made this tonight for a late New Years supper. It was delicious! I made it with canned diced tomatoes, and I didn't puree it (we like the little chunks of tomato in it. I also used evaporated skim milk instead of the cream, and it was plenty rich enough. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2014

      yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      I have to admit that I decided to make this recipe on the spur of the moment (at the supermarket) and, having to reconstruct it in my head, grabbed a container of half-and-half rather than heavy cream. Other than that, I followed the rest of the recipe to a "T" (3 cups tomato juice, 1 cup vegetable broth in my case) and it was delicious! I don't think it needs the lemon juice -- it was acidic enough (although perhaps the heavy cream would have made a difference). Perfect served with sandwiches on a snowy winter's day, and *so* easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2014

      This was fabulous! I used canned crushed tomatoes and used half tomato juice and half chicken broth and added a bit of lemon juice. We loved it! Thank you! ?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      Wow, is this ever good! I am making it in 2 batches of 40 portions each for an event tomorrow. I used crushed tomatoes and did not have to use the immersion blender. And because I was making so much I combined a couple steps by pureeing the basil with a little of the soup in the blender and then adding back to the soup. Delicious. Simple. Wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      This sounded like the perfect dinner for a cold night. I made it with tomato juice and left out the optional lemon juice. We all felt it was ok but weren't as wowed as all the other reviewers seem to be. Next time I may use the broth option with the tomato juice and add the optional lemon juice. Hopefully these will add the flavors to wow us. I will update my review and make necessary changes to the star ratings when I make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      I've had better. It was ok everyone ate some. My son asked if he could add something to it and put in potatoes and said that made it better. I probably won't make this again. Sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      This soup was very very good! Next time I will try to cut own the amount of butter, don't think it's necessary. I used 2 cups of tomato juice and 2 cups of chicken stock. It was delicious! Try it! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for La Madeleine's Tomato-Basil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.2
     
    Calories from Fat 205
    84%
    Total Fat 22.7 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 14.1 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 71.2 mg
    23%
    Sodium 344.3 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes