101 Reviews

I'm so happy to have the recipe! I made it last night and it tastes just like the soup at La Madeleine's! It was easy to make and everyone loved it. I used canned, crushed tomatoes and 1 can of chicken broth with enough tomato juice to equal 4 cups of liquid. A new family favorite!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngphyl March 05, 2002

The only change I made was using light evaporated milk instead of cream. This soup with deliciously simple to make and tasting.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie August 21, 2002

This is quick and easy to make and the flavour is wonderful. I used canned tomatoes and fresh basil. I would lighten it up next time by using a lighter cream or milk. Actually, we kept "testing" it as it simmered and both of us agreed that it would make quite a nice soup without the milk at all. I will make this again soon, and often.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Call Me Martha November 11, 2002

I made this soup yesterday. After reading other reviews I added a tsp of minced garlic and onion powder and salt in when I simmered the tomatoes. I used canned whole tomatoes and fresh basil and I used 3 cups tomato juice to 1 cup veg. stock. I did opt for the lemon juice based on other reviews also. It came out really good. Not exactly like La Madeline's but pretty darn close. I think it was a little thinner than LaMadelines version. I think next time I would use another cup or two of tomatoes and I think it would thicken it up a bit. Overall very good and would certainly make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naisy December 03, 2012

we loved this soup. It does remind me of Lamadeline's soup. We eat there quite often. I did'nt have fresh basil so I substitued about 3 tsp. dried basil. I also used 3 cups tomato juice and 1 cup chicken broth. I also added about 1/8 cup sugar. This soup was wonderful. I will be making this in the winter months.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG October 07, 2008

The first time I made this recipe, I pureed hot tomatoes. Big mistake! Next time, I used pre-pureed tomatoes from the can and it tasted the exact same. Since then, I have used the pureed tomatoes in a can and substituted half of the tomato juice for chicken broth. Yum!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy June 06, 2012

The best soup I've ever made. The whole family loved it. My kids asked to take some for lunch the next day. Will be making again soon. The recipe is simple and I used my Vita-Mix to puree the tomatoes and basil together. Turned out perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aletatrout_8747887 January 13, 2012

Pretty good. I made as written, with the exception of using 1/2 canned tomato and 1/2 fresh (come on it's a drag to peel and core tomatoes) (oh, and I also added 1 tsp garlic, and 1/4 c onion). I wonder if it's possible to cut back on the cream and butter? It was very filling, and a beautiful color. I used 14 (big) leaves of fresh basil, and it may have been OK to use a bit more (wasn't a strong basil taste to me). I also added lemon, but it didn't say how much to add, so maybe 1.5 tablespoons. I think balsamic vinegar might be a nice touch. I pureed half the soup, and left half "chunky" and mixed it together. Served it with Havarti and Gruyère grilled cheese (which when dipped in the soup put it into the next galaxy).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu September 21, 2011

Yum! The lemon juice is a must. It was delicious. I used a can of cruushed tomatoes as well as frozen chopped basil cubes. Delish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mosma August 03, 2011

I have never been to La Madeleine, so I can't say how close it tastes to their version. I didn't puree the soup, as I had a VERY messy and painful experience last time I tried to puree hot soup, so I just finely chopped the basil beforehand. Also, I added garlic powder and onion powder for a bigger flavor. Finally, I topped with grated Parmesan cheese. The leftovers didn't last long!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bread'n'Butter January 25, 2010
La Madeleine's Tomato-Basil Soup