Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / La Madeleine's Country Potato Soup (Copycat) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    La Madeleine's Country Potato Soup (Copycat)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2009

      What a wonderful copycat! I was cooking for a crowd so had to triple the recipe, and it still turned out lovely. I made two small adjustments. First, I removed the thyme before adding the cream. I accidentally added too many sprigs and was afraid of it being overpowering. Second, I pureed the soup in my blender before serving. I had to do it in small batches, removing the center piece from the blender's lid and covering the hole with a cloth to allow the steam to escape. It resulted in a wonderful, creamy texture. My friends and family really enjoyed this. I'll be making it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This recipe tastes nothing like La Madeleine's potato soup. I was highly disappointed. It was, perhaps, the most bland soup I've ever eaten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      This is exactly how it taste at LaMadeline! I LOVE it!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      This was an easy and more importantly, an authentic recipe. My son loves La Madeleine's Potato soup. I can't wait to see if he loves this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      Great soup. Made it twice now, very happy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2003

      This is a very good Potatoe Soup recipe.The thyme was a nice touch. Will be making this again. Thanks Lizzie-Babette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      .This is a great soup thick and hearty. Served it with a piece of french bread and a salad ,a complete meal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      I started out following the recipe than got into my element... First I had no leeks and no cream. Well if I had things my way I would have got cream but the powers that be are uber health conscious so I had to use... oh my God, I can't bear to say it... SKIM MILK ARGGGHHHHHHH every chef's nightmare I know. Skim milk is the antichrist of cream. well I used some cornstarch mixed with evaporated milk to compensate. Thanks for the catalyst that sparked a wonderfull invention. I'm sure it tastes great following the recipe religiously but the kitchen works in mysterious ways.... (exeunt) I had to use chicken boullion cubes instead of stock. When I added the potatoes and chicken broth, I threw in ham to add a smoky flavor. Warning to others, you dont need to keep the lid on while cooking it down, I don't think. Anyways, once it cooked for about an hour I thought it wasnt smooth. it was actually pretty chunky. I poured it into my food processor and mixed it up good. Warning, this makes a mess. the whiole recipe makes about 8 cups of soup so make sure your processor has that much capacity or more. I put it back on the stove to cook some more and it was STILL CHUNKY!. So, I used a strainer to get it to come out silky smooth like a bisqu in a restaurant. By now, probably, the soup is nothing like what the original recipe would have created. other spices I added for flavor: a pinh of allspice, a pinch of cayenne, a good deal of pepper ( the soup seems pretty blaand without it), 1/2 packet of G.W. seasoning and broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2003

      This was a great soup and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2003

      Wonderful potato soup!! We will certainly make this again when we are looking for a treat. It is very rich with the cream, cheddar and bacon. I used salted butter and left the salt out, had no unsalted. Also scaled it down to 2 portions, it worked out fine and was very filling. Wonderful taste with the leeks and onions. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for La Madeleine's Country Potato Soup (Copycat)

    Serving Size: 1 (446 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.8
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    43%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 54.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 467.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.1 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh thyme

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes