28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

There's a huge body of thought on the net that eg. Splenda is really dangerous. eg. check out Dr. Mercola. Obviously sugar also not desirable, and I fancied a savoury bread. So.............I cut out the sweetener altogether, and used some dried rosemary, both mixed in and sprinkled on top. Delicious! Only criticism, I think one teaspoon of salt was a bit much, will use three quarters of a teaspoon or less next time. Delicious toasted.

Read more: http://www.food.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?p=5372869#5372869#ixzz1EWlBSLbm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belitacan February 20, 2011

Superb! I needed to create a gluten-free lunch menu for a ladies lunch and included this. It was amazing, and has been added to my cookbook. So easy and delicious. I used some Italian seasonings and sesame seeds in the bread, and sprinkled the top with sesame seeds, too. I'm going to try this with Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup (Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup) next (another quick, easy and yummy recipe). Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mthome February 20, 2010

I made a batch last night and it was SO easy! I toasted a piece and ate it plain this morning! I reduced the salt by half and I could still taste it so next time I'll only use 1/4 tsp. It is very basic so it would be VERY good with herbs or cinnamon or nutmeg added depending on the use you are intending it for... sunflower seeds or dried fruit would be nice additions as well. I'm sure it will work well for sandwiches and be tasty with PB, cream cheese, butter or jam on top. I baked it for the full 20 this time and it was "done" but pretty spongy so I think I'll add a few more minutes to the bake time of my next batch. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Motivated Mama June 27, 2009

Extremely filling, hearty bread. I love this with chicken salad! It is really good toasted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saraghina March 14, 2009

This was a nice gluten free bread. On its own, I'd give it 3 stars because, though I like the texture, it tastes very much like health food. I jazzed it up a little by spreading some margarine on it and sprinkling it with a little dried Italian seasonings and some parmesan cheese. It was much better then. I'll be making this again to make sure I'm getting all my fiber and Omega-3's. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DreamoBway March 11, 2009

I was so happy to find this recipe. I am on a very strict low carb diet and finding a bread with less than 1 carb a serving was so exciting! I changed the recipe a bit and used 1/4 cup of oil, 1/2 t of salt and I used a muffin pan. Very easy way to portion it out and they were delicious. It reminded me of a very dense buckwheat/whole wheat bread. I look forward to trying some different variations in the near future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreamarie_007 February 10, 2009

I didn't really care for this but DH liked it. I think if I make it again I'll use 4 eggs and really spread the batter out on the pan to make it thinner. It tasted very eggy to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 19, 2009

I'd forgotten about this recipe and how much I liked it. After I got on the scale and realized it's time to get more serious about the carbs, I pulled this out again and made it. It's terrific. Thank you (again) for posting it. PS: I just made it again and realized I was short by 2/3 cup on the flax seed meal so I substituted almond meal flour - terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Woman October 03, 2008

I made this for the first time yesterday. I'm on the South Beach Phase 1. Im not craving carbs, but I like some type of bread with my egg white/turkey sausage sandwiches and this is perrrrrrrrrfecto. I made half (just in case I wasnt gonna like it) but now im gonna make it the full version. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barussell September 05, 2008

Not very good at all. Won't ever make this again. tasted just like flax and eggs. Very disappointing. Would be a LOT better with flour in the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jiji April 12, 2008
L - C Gluten Free Basic Flax Meal Focaccia Bread