Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / L - C Gluten Free Basic Flax Meal Focaccia Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    L - C Gluten Free Basic Flax Meal Focaccia Bread

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      I first reviewed this Sept. of 2008. Since then I have made minor changes. I now often use 1cup blanched almond flour and 1 cup ground flax. Was I pleasantly surprised! Even my kids like it! I added dried onions. I only used 1/2 tsp of salt and the 2 TBspn of sugar. A definite winner here. I can have bread again....Yippeee!!!! Cream cheese, butter, you name it can go on this. Thank you ever so much for posting. This is a wonderful easy GF and DF recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Try the version with half almond meal. Freezes well. Then, for a fabulous indulgence, thaw, sweeten with sugar-free breakfast syrup, and top with a dollop of sour cream. Rich, sweet, nutty and minimally damaging!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2013

      Followed this one exactly, and I loved it. Baked this on oiled parchment and got 12 generous servings. I think next time I might leave it a little thicker for easier slicing open to make sandwiches, but the thinner outer bits were good out of the toaster without being split. Next time I might add some seasonings, but really, this is a great plain bread so you can use it with either sweet or savory things, so I'll probably leave it as is. Thanks for sharing! Update: Made this into a blueberry muffin bread with the addition of Splenda, cinnamon, maple extract, and about 1/2 to 3/4 cup frozen wild blueberries. If it seems dry I add about a tablespoon of Greek yogurt. Ups the carb count a touch for the whole batch, but also ups the fiber, and tastes like a muffin. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      for GF it was okay, but I couldn't eat more than one piece. Next time I'll toast it and put peanut butter on it, but, I don't think I like flax.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      I had some variations to my recipe because I didn't have have everything called for.I added 1/8C Carob flour in place of 1/8C Flax meal(I couldn't find any Almond flour, like some posters had suggested),I used 4eggs because that was all I had,& I accidentally used Baking Soda instead of Baking Powder,& I chose to only use 1T of Splenda(1-2T called for)...So, my bread came out really dark and I don't know why. The texture was fine for me, reminded me of pumpernickle which was very nice,& the height was about 3/4", which seems shorter than in the photo,but that may be because of the baking soda instead of the baking powder;also this height is perfect for a sandwhich.Also,because the color was so dark,I could not tell when it was 'browning' so I just took it out of the oven @ ~22min.I ground my own Flax,so I don't know if the color difference came from the flax, or from the carob flour(which is the same color as whole wheat flour,beige).I also wonder if the recipe in the picture may have used golden flax?(BTW, I looked online and carob flour has about 2-3 times the amount of carbs as flax meal,another reason I used so little of it,& also tons of fiber.I thought it would add a little depth to the flavor also.)The flavor is fine to me, but the DH didn't like it at all (he's very picky abt foods)- I told him I would try again w/variations,such as more sweetner-the full 2T,&add some of the savory items like other posters suggested-rosemary/basil/thyme/seeds like sesame/sunflower/poppy. I will post again if it is different (lighter/taller/better tasting to DH :).I submitted my pics of the dark bread.
      **I will also make a variation (w/real sugar)for my GF-DF nephew&sister-in-law.They will be happy with the texture vs. other GF (&DF)breads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      There's a huge body of thought on the net that eg. Splenda is really dangerous. eg. check out Dr. Mercola. Obviously sugar also not desirable, and I fancied a savoury bread. So.............I cut out the sweetener altogether, and used some dried rosemary, both mixed in and sprinkled on top. Delicious! Only criticism, I think one teaspoon of salt was a bit much, will use three quarters of a teaspoon or less next time. Delicious toasted.

      Read more: http://www.food.com/bb/viewtopic.zsp?p=5372869#5372869#ixzz1EWlBSLbm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      This is really good! After weeks without bread, I'm happy to have something to eat with a bread-like, cake-like, consistency. This reminds me of corn bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! Very easy to make! It turned out very good and both my kids (1 and 3 years old) loved it!!! Thank you for sharing it! It is so hard to find a wheat-free bread that does not contain rice flour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      This was great! I hate the flavor of flax and I loved this! I used it to go on the side of a vegetable soup and its perfect for dipping in the soup because it soaks it up wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Superb! I needed to create a gluten-free lunch menu for a ladies lunch and included this. It was amazing, and has been added to my cookbook. So easy and delicious. I used some Italian seasonings and sesame seeds in the bread, and sprinkled the top with sesame seeds, too. I'm going to try this with Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup (Ruth's White Bean and Ham Soup) next (another quick, easy and yummy recipe). Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      I made a batch last night and it was SO easy! I toasted a piece and ate it plain this morning! I reduced the salt by half and I could still taste it so next time I'll only use 1/4 tsp. It is very basic so it would be VERY good with herbs or cinnamon or nutmeg added depending on the use you are intending it for... sunflower seeds or dried fruit would be nice additions as well. I'm sure it will work well for sandwiches and be tasty with PB, cream cheese, butter or jam on top. I baked it for the full 20 this time and it was "done" but pretty spongy so I think I'll add a few more minutes to the bake time of my next batch. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      A very good basic recipe. Would lend itself well to the addition of herbs and spices to vary the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Extremely filling, hearty bread. I love this with chicken salad! It is really good toasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      This was a nice gluten free bread. On its own, I'd give it 3 stars because, though I like the texture, it tastes very much like health food. I jazzed it up a little by spreading some margarine on it and sprinkling it with a little dried Italian seasonings and some parmesan cheese. It was much better then. I'll be making this again to make sure I'm getting all my fiber and Omega-3's. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I was so happy to find this recipe. I am on a very strict low carb diet and finding a bread with less than 1 carb a serving was so exciting! I changed the recipe a bit and used 1/4 cup of oil, 1/2 t of salt and I used a muffin pan. Very easy way to portion it out and they were delicious. It reminded me of a very dense buckwheat/whole wheat bread. I look forward to trying some different variations in the near future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      I didn't really care for this but DH liked it. I think if I make it again I'll use 4 eggs and really spread the batter out on the pan to make it thinner. It tasted very eggy to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      I'd forgotten about this recipe and how much I liked it. After I got on the scale and realized it's time to get more serious about the carbs, I pulled this out again and made it. It's terrific. Thank you (again) for posting it. PS: I just made it again and realized I was short by 2/3 cup on the flax seed meal so I substituted almond meal flour - terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I made this for the first time yesterday. I'm on the South Beach Phase 1. Im not craving carbs, but I like some type of bread with my egg white/turkey sausage sandwiches and this is perrrrrrrrrfecto. I made half (just in case I wasnt gonna like it) but now im gonna make it the full version. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      Not very good at all. Won't ever make this again. tasted just like flax and eggs. Very disappointing. Would be a LOT better with flour in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      What a godsend for the low-carber! I followed Happy Woman's advice and used 1 cup flax and 1 cup soy. It came out great! I also added 1 tsp dried rosemary which goes really well with the heavy, nutty flavor of the bread. I'm sure I will be making this one every week and will be sure to experiment with other additions to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for L - C Gluten Free Basic Flax Meal Focaccia Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.5
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    77%
    Total Fat 15.9 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 77.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 320.0 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    artificial sweetener

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes