Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kusherie (Egyptian Rice and Lentils) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kusherie (Egyptian Rice and Lentils)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2012

      Wow! We are studying Egypt in our home school, so I searched out a good lentil recipe. This fit the bill!! We all LOVED it!! Thanks so much for posting! I followed the recipe except the onion part since we are not fans. Instead I added a bit of onion and garlic powders to the sauce...delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      We love this recipe! We've been making it for 25 years and it's still one of my favorites. Glad to see it on food.com.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      I found this in my more-with-less cookbook when looking for ways to use up a huge sack of lentils. I was amazed at how flavorful this dish is, even though I left out the green pepper for personal preference. The lentil/rice mix didn't have much flavor, but it was wonderful topped with the spicy sauce and the almost-caramelized onions. A great, economical, vegan meal. (and we are meat-lovers in my family!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      The flavors of this dish are amazing and just explode in your mouth when you put it all together! Let the pan cool a bit before adding the water. Like one of the other posters, I had a lentil malfunction! Great recipe, thanks for sharing this, Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      Excellent Cheap Eats! I added sour cream to the top along with a bit more spice than listed. I also recomment the crushed chilis ... they give an extra pizzazz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This was easy, cheap, healthy, and delicious! Definitely adding it to my repetoire

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I had this dish a lot when I was in Egypt, and I would give this recipe seven or eight stars if I could! It's very authentic tasting to me. As another reviewer noted, you often find macaroni in this dish as well as the rice and lentils, but I actually prefer it without the pasta--it's much lighter tasting to me. (OK, and I'm really not a fan of pasta!) Anyhow, I love lentils, and this recipe is a keeper. I did cut down a bit on the oil (used just 2 T. total), but I followed the recipe exactly for the rest. The sauce was flavorful and not overwhelming, and the directions for cooking the rice and lentils together resulted in perfect rice and lentils! I used a somewhat glutinous rice because I plan to make the leftovers into "meat" balls, but I think I'd have equal success with plain rice, too. Thanks for a fantastic simple healthy recipe!***Editing my review to add that I tried this again using half green lentils and half small red lentils, and I'd not recommend using the small red lentils--they just dissolved away (I think they cook slightly faster than the green or something). Still tasted fantastic, but wasn't as pretty as it had been!***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      This is a good one! I learned a lot from the More with Less Cookbook as a young wife and mother. This was an early introduction to different ethnic foods. I love the textures of the rice and lentils.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

    • on January 15, 2006

      Pretty good. The sauce was good too but I had to add around 2 cups of extra water because my pan was really hot and everything just flash evaporated when I put it. I also thought it was weird to brown the lentils but then it really helps them keep their shape and prevents them from getting mushy. Maybe I will use this technique in other lentil recipes.. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      A very nice, tasty and healthy recipe. I am really pleased with how the lentils and rice turned out together, and I love the browned onions. I followed the recipe exactly except that my celery was not very leafy so I added some celery stalk. I will definitely make this again...I am editing my former review from here to say that this is even better the next day - the flavours in the sauce blend really well. Next time I will make the sauce in advance. Highly recommended! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This is a good version of the Egyptian Kosheri dish, but I was surprised that it didn't include the traditional pasta. I know, it sounds insane to have rice, pasta, and lentils in one dish, but it's so much heartier and more delicious with the addition of the elbow maccaroni. It's also strange that the recipe calls for dried chilis rather than jalapeno or fresh chilis. And it's important to add fresh chopped parsley (flat leaf, not curly)to the dish for authentic taste. Egyptians use fresh herbs in everything. One break in tradition that we have started to do is add bits of cooked chicken to the dish. It's a great way to use some of that left over rotisserie chicken. I hope this is helpful to anyone interested in tweeking this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Bunny Mom's review was particularly helpful as I watched out for spitting lentils and also the stock boiled quickly, I added extra. At first, frying the lentils first seemed an unusual way of doing things, but it did give them a slightly different flavour. Very good sauce and I loved the onions on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2005

      Serveral years ago I made a kusherie recipe that was not even close to how great this recipe tasted. The tomato sauce in particular was outstanding, but all three components of this recipe blended very well together. The yogurt I served this with also went well with the meal. I reduced the oil by more than 1/2 and used tomato juice in the sauce. I'd have to agree with bluemoon downunder's comment that a prep time of 10 minutes is low because of stove supervision time, yet the recipe overall takes the stated time to make. Thanks VERY much Kaarin, going into my keeper file:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      This recipe involves some fairly active (rather than passive) cooking time, but it was not difficult to make and the end result was so satisfying: highly nutritious and absolutely delicious! I used a red rather than a green capsicum, because I find red capsicum more flavoursome. This recipe has a wonderful blend of flavours and textures, and is also visually appealing. I served it with Rita L’s Cucumber Salad Cucumber Salad. A fabulous Middle Eastern meal. Thank you for another great recipe, Kaarin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      This is tasty, healthy, and easy....what more can you ask? I must confess to a bit of a mishap on my part. After browning the lentils for 5 minutes, I had a very hot saucepan. When I added the boiling stock, there was quite a reaction...lentils popping and flying all over the place. I think I quickly boiled away a little too much of the stock, because as the rice and lentils cooked, I ended up with slighthly crunchy rice. I had not thought to add a little extra stock after the lentil popping experience :) I'm sure that if I had not let my pan get quite so hot, I would not have had this problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kusherie (Egyptian Rice and Lentils)

    Serving Size: 1 (374 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 484.3
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    18%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1185.0 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.3 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 16.2 g
    64%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    56%
    Protein 16.9 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites