17 Reviews

looks legit - I'm Egyptian and grew up on this dish. Try modifying it however by not adding the cayenne pepper into the dish, but make a simple tomato sauce and add it to that. Then then top your plate with a little of the tomato sauce. Also, we add garbanzo beans as well. Just on top of your plate... enjoy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott W. April 20, 2016

Wow! We are studying Egypt in our home school, so I searched out a good lentil recipe. This fit the bill!! We all LOVED it!! Thanks so much for posting! I followed the recipe except the onion part since we are not fans. Instead I added a bit of onion and garlic powders to the sauce...delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Climbnyak November 26, 2012

We love this recipe! We've been making it for 25 years and it's still one of my favorites. Glad to see it on food.com.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mom 5 January 04, 2011

I found this in my more-with-less cookbook when looking for ways to use up a huge sack of lentils. I was amazed at how flavorful this dish is, even though I left out the green pepper for personal preference. The lentil/rice mix didn't have much flavor, but it was wonderful topped with the spicy sauce and the almost-caramelized onions. A great, economical, vegan meal. (and we are meat-lovers in my family!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply January 12, 2009

The flavors of this dish are amazing and just explode in your mouth when you put it all together! Let the pan cool a bit before adding the water. Like one of the other posters, I had a lentil malfunction! Great recipe, thanks for sharing this, Kaarin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maureenie January 11, 2009

Excellent Cheap Eats! I added sour cream to the top along with a bit more spice than listed. I also recomment the crushed chilis ... they give an extra pizzazz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desnydj October 14, 2008

This was easy, cheap, healthy, and delicious! Definitely adding it to my repetoire

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unspecified42 April 15, 2008

I had this dish a lot when I was in Egypt, and I would give this recipe seven or eight stars if I could! It's very authentic tasting to me. As another reviewer noted, you often find macaroni in this dish as well as the rice and lentils, but I actually prefer it without the pasta--it's much lighter tasting to me. (OK, and I'm really not a fan of pasta!) Anyhow, I love lentils, and this recipe is a keeper. I did cut down a bit on the oil (used just 2 T. total), but I followed the recipe exactly for the rest. The sauce was flavorful and not overwhelming, and the directions for cooking the rice and lentils together resulted in perfect rice and lentils! I used a somewhat glutinous rice because I plan to make the leftovers into "meat" balls, but I think I'd have equal success with plain rice, too. Thanks for a fantastic simple healthy recipe!***Editing my review to add that I tried this again using half green lentils and half small red lentils, and I'd not recommend using the small red lentils--they just dissolved away (I think they cook slightly faster than the green or something). Still tasted fantastic, but wasn't as pretty as it had been!***

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
velorutionista March 22, 2008

This is a good one! I learned a lot from the More with Less Cookbook as a young wife and mother. This was an early introduction to different ethnic foods. I love the textures of the rice and lentils.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. October 12, 2006
Kusherie (Egyptian Rice and Lentils)