Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kung Pao Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kung Pao Chicken

    Average Rating:

    318 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 318

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2003

      First, let me say, kung pao is my husband's current favorite dish. And that the only place he's found that it's good is P.F. Chang's. So, to suprise him yesterday, I made this. It was so easy to make, AND it was delicious. My husband was amazed - and said it was one step below P.F. Chang's, but above every other Chinese restaurant we've tried around here. I thought it was better. Next time, I will double the sauce, so that there is something to put on the chicken. And I will make it a bit hotter...I'll beat P.F.Chang's with this yet! Fantastic dish, PanNan, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      Excellent flavor and sooo easy! Next time I will double the sauce, because we like it "saucier," but I won't change a thing! The recipe doubled perfectly. I used 2 tablespoons of fresh minced ginger and fresh birds eye chilies instead of dried. YUM! This will be a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Dbl the sauce part of the recipe if you like to have some sauce with your rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2003

      Very good! I actually tripled the sauce, added an extra clove of garlic, and added extra pepper flakes. My husband absolutely LOVED this, and says it's better than the kind he loves at our favorite restaurant. :) Thanks PanNan for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2003

      Yum! This was great. I too will double the sauce next time and I will also add extra peppers to make it even more spicy. (We like things hot in our family!!) Thanks for the great meal. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      I have never had kung pao chicken before, but i thought this was sooo good! I didnt think there was enough sauce so I would double or triple the recipe for that next time. Also, I added more peanuts. Cant wait to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Fantastic Recipe! My hubby and I love this one and so it's a regular in our house. I changed it a bit to make it healthier. I toss the chicken in Whole Wheat Flour instead of the cornstarch and I use honey instead of sugar. Thanks for a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Great recipe! I added fresh chile peppers, water chestnuts, and bean sprouts and served it over basmati rice. I might double the sauce next time, but I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2011

      This was delicious! When I make it again, I will double the sauce. The only ingredient I didn't have was the rice wine vinegar, so I used 3/4 T. of vinegar and 1 1/4 T. water. It irritates me when people rate the recipe but change the ingredients. I didn't change anything and thought it was so yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      WOW I don't know how this recipe woudln't get 5 stars. The only thing I changed was I tripled the sauce and used black sesame oil. I couldn't find light, but after the way it turned out I wouldn't use anything but black for fear it wouldn't taste as good. This recipe is quick and easy!! Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Perfectly excellent! We had company over, and one of our guests was a Vegan, so we made two batches, one with chicken and the other with firm tofu and black mushrooms; no other adjustment was needed. Both were very fine! Made for Pool Party Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      PanNan! This is fabulous! I did double the sauce, only because everyone else had, and we like sauce. And how easy is this to make? Can you believe I've never had Kung Pao Chicken? Really! And I'll never buy it from a restaurant, either. I can make it myself. :) As I said, this was very easy to prepare, and very quick and easy to cook. Any beginner can do this easily, and any experienced chef will find it easy and delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      can't believe i've never rated this recipe, i've used it for years! it's absolutely so easy, simple, but very delicious. my husband and i love it! i used distilled white vinegar instead because it's all i have on hand usually, and instead of dry roasted peanuts, i just use a tbsp or so of creamy peanut butter. tastes great. i've tried it with crunchy pb and it's not very pleasant! i also have tried this with chopped green peppers ~ that was the best kung pao chicken EVER made in my house. delicious! thanks for a winner

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      I thought this recipe was great! I added some carrots and celery for some extra flavor and color, and next time I think I'll double the sauce because it wasn't enough with the veggies added in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Tonight I ran into a problem.... I have chicken, but none of my usual ingredients!!! I ran into this one, looked over the ingredients, and since it was the first one I saw that I had everything for, (and i love kung pao) I decided to give it a whirl. It turned out GREAT! a big hit with the teen - and for me, personally, I dont like chicken much. however i was wishing i had had more chicken, because with how much the other two eat, theres usually not much left for me. (usually not a problem, as im not big on chicken) but tonight, this became an issue! lol. I loved it - but made a few changes - I added 1 tsp of garlic powder, and 1 tsp of onion powder which i added along with the minced garlic, green onion and red pepper. aside from that I found I needed to add a little more corn starch to the chicken, (more like 3 TB)

      whole family loved it. :D :D a big hit I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Delicious and easy to make! I made it with Ramen noodles and made extra sauce. Excellent! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      This is definitely a keeper! Quick, easy and delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This was very good. I forgot to pick up a chili pepper and didn't have any rice wine vinegar. Instead, I used a couple dashes of hot sauce and half vinegar/ half cooking sherry. We ate it over plain white rice and it was very satisfying! Also doubled the recipe, but it still didn't last a day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2004

      Wonderful! I subbed red wine vinegar for the rice wine vinegar seemed to work just fine. I recently fell in love with this dish at a chinese buffet- couldn't believe my luck when I found this recipe...Sooooo good. Like many others I would double the sauce. I will add extra garlic and crushed red pepper next time. Served this with veggie egg rolls. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2004

      We have been on a Chinese food kick for a couple weeks now and this was wonderful! I served this over brown rice cooked with vegs. My whole family enjoyed this meal. I will definately make this again! Thanks PanNan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kung Pao Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (340 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 703.2
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    25%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 1052.6 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 83.5 g
    27%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 45.5 g
    91%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites