Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kumquat's Spicy Oriental Stir-Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kumquat's Spicy Oriental Stir-Fry

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      Simple to make, I made Perfect Basic Brown Rice for the rice. I ususally make stir fry with more oil, this time I used some of the veggie stock to steam them in the wok and then added a little oil when cooking the tofu. I wasn't a huge fan of the hoisin, but the boyfriend loved it. Made for a light late lunch. Thank you very much for posting. Made for ZWT 6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2008

      DH and I had this stir fry for lunch today. It is very nice! We used ground beef in place of the tofu and I omitted the sugar snap peas because I didnt have any on hand. I also used an orange bell pepper in place of red because that is also what I had on hand. Otherwise, I followed all ingredients and directions as posted. I thought the rice simmering in vegetable broth made for a nice flavored jasmine rice that was perfect in moistness (not too dry). I might try that trick with other dishes in the future. DH and I might like to try beef or chicken broth for our sauce next time, however, because it might make it a little thicker and give it that meatier flavor we carnivores were looking for. Thanks for posting this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      What a great stirfry & very easy to make. I didn't have any cooked chicken, so stirfried some after marinating with soy sauce, chinese rice wine & cornstarch. This complimented the sauce beautifully. I used minced garlic & sambal oelek instead of chili sauce with garlic & also left out the vegetable broth, as I didn't need any extra sauce. Added celery and zucchini. Thanks Kumquat for sharing this keeper. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Super! The flavors meld wonderfully, and you can adjust the spiciness to your liking by adding more or less chili sauce. I added slightly less, because I had never cooked with that item before, but could have added what the recipe called for without calling 9-1-1 to put out the fire. :) I used both sliced chicken and salad-size shrimp, added 1c sliced mushrooms, and doubled the amount of bell pepper and still had plenty of sauce to coat. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Fantastic! The blend of the sauce were..what can I say? So oriental, so delicious! Every ingredient for the sauce is vital to make it real good. Without any of it, it would be different. Soy to give it a bit of saltiness, but with the sherry wine evening it out coz of its sweetness and the hoisin for it's slight sweetness, unique taste and at the same time, gives color to the dish, chili sauce with garlic (what's a chinese dish w/o garlic) and a thickener combined with veggie broth to give more flavor to the vegetable dish. I made this for the WT4 Diabetic challenge so had to add more veggies which was cabbages, eggplants and green peas (didn't have sugar snap peas). I'm not much of a veggie eater, but this impressed me! Thank you, Kumquat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Yummy recipe Kumquat; I didn't find Hoisin sauce or arrowroot here so made it without, my sauce was quite thin but was still tasty. I added veggies that I had to hand: peas and leeks took the place of sugar snap peas. Everything came out very well and DH liked it. Please see my rating system, a lovely 4 stars :)Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      Nice stir fry! I chose to make this the night before for lunch the next day. So much better than a frozzen lunch. Quite easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2006

      I used the tofu in this recipe and even my DH was okay with it. I did brown it a bit before adding to the veggies. The sauce here is very nice. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      Excellent stir-fry! I liked the sauce combination, though I probably used a little more chili sauce than called for since I like it hot, and the sesame oil gives a wonderful note. One tip, tought: I would suggest stir-frying or giving a nice long saute to the tofu first to crisp it up -- it won't add to the fat, just cooking time. Thanks for another stirfry sauce to add to the stable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      A resounding five stars given all around our table tonight! As luck would have it, the hoisin sauce in my fridge happened to be Lee Kum Kee. The sauce was fabulous. I used sambal oelek instead of the chile sauce, and it made it wonderfully spicy (read HOT). I used very thinly sliced chicken which had been stir-fried with garlic and ginger. I also used broccoli instead of the snap peas. Otherwise I followed the recipe. This will be a new favorite around here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      A really excellent stir fry, perfect for people who don't want their food too spicy. I used chicken for this and found the sauce was particularly good. I always want garlic in my stir fries so will add some next time. Thanks for posting a simple but very tasty recipe - I'm looking forward to leftovers today!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kumquat's Spicy Oriental Stir-Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.6
     
    Calories from Fat 48
    14%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 920.8 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.1 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 11.0 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chile sauce with garlic

    vegetable broth

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes