Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kumquat's Panzanella (Bread and Tomato Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kumquat's Panzanella (Bread and Tomato Salad)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2011

      unfortunately i was out of olives and wine vinegar. i used a good extra splash of balsamic and olive oil instead and had to use garlic powder but this turned out lovely all the same. like a big bowl full of bruccetta! i used toasted stale brown bread, which was fine, and added a bit of dill. this would lend itself well to variations, will make often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

      I can't believe that I waited this long to make this! Ready in a snap, simple, tasty ingredients and relatively healthy. I omitted the onion and made the mistake of doubling the dressing when it seemed like it wasn't enough to coat the bread- big mistake so next time I'll stick to the recipe :-) I added some shredded rotisserie chicken too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This was fabulous! And very easy. I omitted the olives and used white cheddar. I also included the olive oil. This made a fabulous side dish and will be made frequently in the summertime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      I had been waiting for the longest time to make this recipe. We finally got heirloom tomatoes and I splurged on fresh mozzarella. This is wonderful! Summer Party in your mouth wonderful! We did omit olives (DH preference) otherwise, made exactly as written. DH thought the recipe was well written and easy for him to follow. We will be sharing this recipe and enjoying as often as possible. Thank you so much for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      We liked it! Thank you for a great idea Kumquat. I will definitely be making this again, but next time I'll go ahead and use the olive oil as the vinegars were too dominant for our tastes. I used regular olives and fresh mozzarella. Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      As a Holiday gift my father bought some very special tomatoes from Florida, since it's cold and there are no local tomatoes, nor garden tomatoes. I quickly went to this recipe as I had seen it and saved previously this fall and it was specific to using the best quality ingredients. I loved, loved this recipe. I had some sourdough bread left and toasted that in the oven for a bit, until a bit crisp. I followed this exactly although I did add a bit of extra virgin olive oil at the end. Oh this is wonderful, wonderful. I will always use this for all four seasons, and those quality tomatoes really do make a difference. Thanks so much for posting this beauty, Kumquat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      This has become my favorite salad for the summer. I had fresh garden tomatoes and cherry tomatoes, which I mixed together, fresh basil that a friend at work gave me and a fresh loaf of sourdough bread that I just made and toasted in the oven as suggested. I didn't measure anything just put it all together to our liking and what I thought we could eat so I can't comment on the ingredients as written. Excellent combingation. I did add one clove of garlic finely chopped. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      Wonderful Salad! Love the dressing. Served it to guest last night and it was an instant hit. Used some of my leftover sourdough bread. I did not add the salt to the dressing, however added fresh garlic. Served over a bed of baby greens. Very pretty. Found that we needed more dressing than the original recipe so would suggest making 1 1/2 times the recipe for four people. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      We really liked this salad. I tripped across the recipe the same day my DH came home from the store w/2 loaves of Ciabatta bread I had never eaten before, but he bought on sale (I’ll let you guess why). In my book, that’s a sign. I made the salad as written, but had no mozzarella & just used grated Parmesan. I enjoyed the bread in it & it was light enough to be ideal for most hearty Italian meals. Its versatility makes it special. Adding pepperoni, mushrooms & pasta = a satisfying 1-dish meal … or … adding baby shrimp &/or avocado = a lovely lunch salad, etc., etc. Thx for posting this keeper for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      DH is the reviewer, because I don't eat fresh tomatoes. I subsituted regular black olives for the Kalamatas, at his request. He liked the salad, and I thought it was very pretty. However, too much onion in his opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2005

      Great salad everyone raved about the taste served this with a bbq Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2005

      I cut down on the salt, otherwise made as directed; made it with heavenly Villa Manodori balsamic vinegar. This is unbelievably good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kumquat's Panzanella (Bread and Tomato Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (262 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 288.9
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    22%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 18.1 mg
    6%
    Sodium 1154.8 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 15.0 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites