Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kukkakaalilaatikko Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kukkakaalilaatikko

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2010

      We liked this a lot. I skipped the caraway seeds because I used seeded rye and I thought the kids might not like so many. I also skipped the butter because I steamed the cauliflower. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Yummy comfort food! I made the mistake of using a very stout beer, which was a little much--so next time I'll use a lighter beer. Other than a little more punch from the beer than we would have liked, my DH and I loved this flavor combination. (My 4-year-old just picked out and ate the cauliflower--I think the beer and caraway were a little pungent for kid-sized taste buds). I will certainly keep and share this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      Hi Ms*Bindy, loved your recipe! What a great combination! The flavors melded beautifully and I loved the taste of the caraway seeds! Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

      I brought this dish to a pot luck and throughout the evening I repeatedly heard "Who make the cauliflower, it's great!" I too steamed the cauliflower so it wouldn't be so crunchy. I was at the assembly point when I realized my cassarole dish was too small, so I dumped everything in the crockpot, set it on "high" for about 3 1/2 hours and it was perfect! I've added this to my "favorites" cookbook. We'll definitely have this again! Thank you Ms*Bindy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      I thought this was just fantastic! I loved the caraway and cheddar in this dish. I will make it again. Thanks! Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      This was very good. Far from my usual low-fat fare, I was hoping to make the adjustments myself because the recipe sounded too good to pass up, but my neighborhood grocery store was uncooperative (no low-fat cheese that day) so I splurged. I did omit the butter though by steaming the cauliflower. This is similar to a veggie strata with beer. I used both seeded rye bread and added the extra caraway seeds. I baked for 45 minutes, checked and baked another 5 as I'm not a fan of undercooked eggs. Next time I will try this with egg substitutes and low-fat cheese. Thanks Bunny Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      We really enjoyed this as a side with our steaks. I dried my bread cubes in the microwave, but otherwise made as recipe stated. Thanks for a delicous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Different but very tasty, and very easy to make! I just used dry bread cubes that I had in my freezer and added in some cayenne pepper and Parmesan cheese, it's a great one-dish meal, that is similar to a stuffing casserole, but much lighter in texture. I think I will cut the beer back slightly next time I make it. Great recipe Bunny Mom!...thanks Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      We found this to be quite yummy. Hubby liked that there was beer in it. I used a pumpkin ail and served with a side of acorn squash, which really made this a nice autumn inspired meal. We could taste the beer in the bread. I can see why a child might not be into the taste, but we liked it. I think that next time I will steam the cauliflower as it was a tad bit hard and I'd like to cut down on some of the fat. The cheese, however, will stay as it realy helped to make this dish. Love the caraway seeds. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      I thought this was great! 1 child fell asleep early & the other (8) hated it. I think it was the caraway seeds in the bread - I was unable to get unseeded bread. Easy complete meal in 1; comfort food! I might steam the cauliflower next time just to get it a little softer - or would that make it untraditional Finnish?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kukkakaalilaatikko

    Serving Size: 1 (363 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 591.1
     
    Calories from Fat 396
    67%
    Total Fat 44.0 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 26.1 g
    130%
    Cholesterol 330.7 mg
    110%
    Sodium 771.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 34.4 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rye bread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites