49 Reviews

These are scrumptious!!! I made them yesterday for this mornings breakfast and I hardly have any left ...the kids found me deep frying them and tried to eat them all. Mine didn't rise up as well as I had hoped but I think it was my fault ( I don't think I kneaded them long enough) but It didn't really seem to matter they taste wonderful and I will be making another batch this weekend for all the teenagers that crash at my house, Its a cheap and easy breakfast! I made large ones and I ended up with 36 I didn't have a doughnut cutter so I just used a mayo jar lid and it worked fine. I didn't have alot of sugar for the glaze so I put some strawberry icing on some with sprinkles , cinnamon and sugar on some and sprinkle some with confection sugar and they all turned out great! Thanks so much for this recipe it was costing me quite a bit to buy enough doughnuts for everyone here!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halloweencat01 March 05, 2009

These were very good. I made them at my husband's request (he's a doughnut fanatic). They are light and airy, but we didn't find them to be quite as light as Krispy Kremes. I made them Friday night so that they would be ready to enjoy Saturday morning and found that the glaze (before it had time to sit overnight) tasted pretty strongly of powdered sugar. However, the next morning the glaze tasted just like a doughnut shop glaze. The best thing about these doughnuts for us was that they didn't get rock hard...even after sitting in a container for over 48 hours after making them. I will most likely make them again. They were definitely easy to make (especially for being my first time making homemade doughnuts). Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outnumbered By Peanuts June 23, 2008

I did not get to actually taste these, because the dough came out so soupy that I had to toss it out. I doubt I'll try it again as there are any number of recipes out there that I know work well for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve November 30, 2013

Recipe was good, but nowhere near as good as Krispy Kreme's. It was fun to make them but a lot of work. Probably wouldn't make them again but its worth trying once.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktcoffey May 29, 2011

The dough of tis doughnut is delicious, but cooking them so that the dough is thoroughly cooked was less than expected. I had doughy centers, which I remedied using the microwave. Perhaps they are supposed to be moister in the middle. I never had a Krispy Kreme, so I would not know. Anyway, I will modify my cooking a bit next time, making smaller doughnuts before deep frying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michigan Review February 05, 2011

These were good. I had never made doughnuts before so it was quite the experience for me. The four star rating is due to the fact that we didn't feel like they tasted that much like Krispy Kreme. I'm not sure I would make this very often because it's fairly time consuming but it it good to know I have a good doughnut recipe to use if I need it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life December 30, 2010

Simply Superb! Living in that part of the world that has no good doughnut place.... I was thrilled to make these doughnuts two days in a row. It was simply delicious, soft and tasty. I used the chocolate glazing for half of it. The kids loved it so did their friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janoo November 26, 2010

To make with one package of yeast, scale recipe down to 18 doughnuts. Can't wait to make and review - no Krispy Kreme shops now that I've left the states, sadly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FuzzyKiwi June 19, 2009

The taste is great,but I am having a problem with getting the oil at the right temp. without a deep fryer. But a bigger problem is the dough is not firm enough to hold its shape as I try to put it in the oil. I have tried a spatula, tried heavily floured flat cookie sheet and sliding them in but nothing works. They taste good even if they are not a nice round donut. Problem is I want to open a little donut coffee shop here in Mexico and I would like for them to look like donuts. Local donuts here are terrible, so I think they would do good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doug112442 May 16, 2009

oh my god these were amazing!!!! I threw all the ingredients in the bread machine, they turned out great didnt change a thing!! And they did taste like crispy creme!! Deliscous!!I recommend that you cut the recipe in half or a quarter ! it made way too many doughnuts and I ate the majority of them, so much for my diet !did I mention that they were amazing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ApplePieBrownie May 12, 2009
Krispy Kreme Doughnuts