Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Krautfleckerl- Hungarian Cabbage and Noodles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Krautfleckerl- Hungarian Cabbage and Noodles

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2011

      Who knew something so simple could be so good! I scaled this down for two, and I added a little bacon, frying with the onions and then adding the cabbage. I also used the garlic. It was so ggod I could very easily make this again tonight :) We don't eat cabbage often because I'm the only one who really likes it, but prepared like this, everyone likes it :) A real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Very, very good. My DH who doesn't like cooked cabbage even said it was good. Next time, though I don't think I will mix the salt and cabbage as it got a little salty. I maybe didn't get it drained well enough. Will make again. Oh and I added crumbled cooked bacon just before eating - yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      My Austrian grandmother made this when I was a child, it was my favorite food.
      Grandma used lard rather than butter and a generous amount of black pepper with fresh homemade noodles, sometimes made with duck eggs, which were about twice as thick as lasagna pasta and cut in paralellagrams 1 1/2" long. The thick noodles must be cooked 20-25 minutes "al dente".

      I like it best made with the addition of leftover roast pork loin cut in small cubes, one teaspoon of minced, fresh garlic and 1 - 2 teaspoons fresh ground black pepper. (slightly on the hot or "scharf" side)

      I've made Kosher style for my Jewish friends with butter or "schmalz" (chicken or goose fat) rather than lard and leftover roast chicken or goose. The goose is superb

      Sehr geschmeckt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2009

      This was good and easy to make. I had a bag of coleslaw mix so I used that instead of the cabbage. I did skip the step of adding the salt to the cabbage and letting it sit. I just added some salt to the finished meal. I added more butter then the recipe called for as the noodles didn't have much of a taste once I mixed them with the cabbage mixture. Once I added the extra butter, we enjoyed it more. Hubby still thought it needed something so he added some soy sauce but everyone else ate it as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      this recipe is just fabulous. when i make it i can't stay out of the pot. no one in my house can. we eat it until we are ill and then even after keep a plate of it nearby to pick at as we moan and rub our bellies. i'm so glad i tried it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      Very good and filling meal. I wanted to make this as more of an entree than a side dish so I added some sliced kielbasa to the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. I really enjoyed this dish and it paired really well with the pierogis that I had with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      I made this without the bacon and garlic and we loved it! I think the only thing I will do differently next time is use more cabbage and less noodles. Edited to add: I have made this MANY times now. I always leave out the bacon and garlic and add more cabbage. It's a terrific and satisfying dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

    • on November 15, 2006

      SO GOOD!!! I followed the recipe, but next time will try it with the bacon and garlic. The name intrigued me and I was so happy I tried it. Served it with German sausage and it was perfect together. This will be made in our house over and over again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      This is a wonderful dish. The onions and cabbage caramelize together with just the right sweetness. After reading your intro, I decided to fry a slice of bacon and added some garlic as you suggested. I skipped the butter and not having sour cream topped it with plain yogurt. This was served with some grilled sausage and whole grain bread for a comforting meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      WOW....I LOVED this recipe. Used the bacon and garlic. Also put in a green pepper. Didn't have any egg noodles and used penne rigate pasta instead. (Honestly this recipe doesn't even need the pasta). Almost didn't use the sugar but decided to at the last minute..I'm glad I did. Perfect!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      Gosh is this a good dish - just like we had in Vienna. I used real farm butter, and grated the cabbage. This dish ends up being so much more delicious that one would think from the simple ingredients - my DH liked it so much he did the dishes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Krautfleckerl- Hungarian Cabbage and Noodles

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 206.2
     
    Calories from Fat 84
    41%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 43.5 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1243.8 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes