Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kosher Perfect Matzo Balls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kosher Perfect Matzo Balls

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2010

      I never knew there was a scientific method in making matzo balls. My husband grew up with soft ones and we are German; therefore, we like them hard. BTW, for an awesome dish......take your leftover hard matzo balls, slice them in half, and flat-side down slice them like you would an onion. Fry (any oil or butter) them with onion until slightly browned......Ummm, delicious! Unfortunately, we never have enough matzo balls left for frying. Try it, you'll like it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      Made the firm matzo ball recipe cause I didn't have baking powder. They came out wonderful. My husband loved them so much I'm making them for the third time today in one week. Going to stuff them with chopped liver and with soup and salad becomes a meal. Thank you, next Passover I'm going to insist on making the matzo ball soup. By the way Ken, I live in Israel where during Passover they take everything that isn't kosher for Passover and put it away. Baking powder is left where you can buy it cause it's kosher for Passover, and our matzo meal does not come with this recipe. Try being a little less haughty, maybe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Awesome matzo balls, even without the baking powder. I used shmura matzo meal for my husband and he loved them more than the ones I make year round. Thanks to you, I'm switching recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2008

      With respect Ken, baking powder is kosher for Passover with proper kosher certification, and this recipe never claimed to be kosher for Passover anyway so what is your point? This recipe offers choices for different out-comes in method of preparing matzo balls, something that is not on every box of matzo meal ever sold; why the sour grapes? In reference to a question on use of baking powder for Passover Rabbi Soloveichik said: "They're just minerals. What do we care about minerals?" In case you are wondering I am othodox, observant and a mashgiach (kosher supervisor). Try being nice and maybe a little more cautious to read something before you respond to it and maybe have half a clue what you are talking about next time. Have a nice day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      Outstanding. Having not grown up in a Jewish family I didn't have a bubbie to hand down her secrets, but with this recipe I found the fool-proof, perfect directions for matzo balls. I followed them to the letter for the soft version and they came out perfectly light and fluffy. Thanks for this great recipe Yosef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Recipe was great. A dear friend of mine shared an idea for matzo balls the other day. She never lets the mixture sit after it's made, but makes the balls and puts them in the soup/water immediately. The result, without baking powder, produces incredibly light matzo balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      This sounds interesting... I have heard of matzo balls before but never new how to make them or how you used them.... thank you for giving such a good comprehensive description... and giving good ideal on how to use them.... I will soon try them...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Delicious! I made the soft ones and DH went back for seconds. Tonight is Rosh Hashana at sundown. I have been ill all day so since I tagged this recipe in The Photo Forums's Tag game, I made chicken soup and these lovely matzo balls. Light & fluffy is how we like them. Served them in soup. Made for Help A Naked Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

      THE BEST!!!! I've been making matzoh balls for the 25 yrs. Always from the Streits box mix - sometimes they were ok other times like golf balls...
      This recipe is the BEST! The baking powder is the secret ingredient - I also added dill
      light, fluffy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      As a Catholic woman, married to a nice Jewish boy who grew up eating matzah ball soup, I needed help. This recipe is fabulous! I am so proud, I may even give some to the neighbors - if there is any left. The kids LOVE it too! The only change I made was to whip the egg whites separately and fold them in at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2011

      Best consistency of any matzoh ball I have tried and I have tried many over a long span. I added fresh dill and a touch of nutmeg- excellent

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      Very good recipe! Made the soft matzo balls last night and they turned out fluffy and soft on the outside, semi-firm on the inside. Yummy! Will try the firm recipe next time. For spices we used powdered onion, garlic, white pepper and salt (of course). Also added a couple of dashes of dried, minced garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I have made so many matzo balls in my life it is hilarious. This recipe is my absoluteyl go-to favorite. I have made them soft and firm and I just compromise - 1 tsp baking powder and 2 tsp broth. Btw, my husband's mother might make the single hardest matzo balls in life so I have now been crowned the point person in every holiday to make the soup. Btw, I use this recipe every time. And I am no sloucher, I have cooked in France and here in the US and I am jewish. I give this one a big five stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I was kinda disappointed with all the spices. I thought they'd make the flavor more exciting, but they did not meet my expectations. Also, I didn't like all the egg in this recipe. I think I'll just stick to normal matzah balls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      OMG. I just made this recipe. I have already eaten five. The soup won't even be ready for another hour. These are by far the best matzo balls I have ever had. Wow. I was unsure about which version to do so I used one heaping tsp of baking soda. For the four tablespoons of fat/liquid, I just skimmed the fat off the soup I was making. I added to the mixture: 1 tablespoon each chopped parsley, garlic and ginger I am now going to share this recipe with some of my J friends. What a treat! Thank you Yosef!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      Outstanding recipe. I've been using Molly Goldberg's recipe for years and always liked her recipe. But I wanted to try to make the Matzo Balls without having to beat the egg whites. They were even better that Molly's. I used olive oil for the oil, and everyone loved the flavor. We're thinking about making a huge vat of chicken soup with these matzo balls and marketing it as the perfect vaccine for the nefarious swine flu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      I made these for our temple's Passover Seder. I know I had to make the firmer recipe but they were just a tad too firm. The flavor was out of this world though! Everyone did enjoy it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      Baking powder is a leavening agent, specifically forbidden on Passover. I use this recipe except without the baking powder. It's on every box of matzah meal ever sold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2008

      Made these for 2008 Passover. I made the firm style and cooked according to directions w/added options (all except parsley). My whole family loved the flavor. I found the center just a little inconsistant with the outside of the matzo ball (which was a little lighter in texture) I am going to add 1 tsp baking soda to the firm recipe the next time. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      We are not Jewish but we love matzo ball soup! I made these and used them in "Jewish Penicillin" chicken soup with matzo balls and it was so delicious! The texture was just perfect. Thanks for sharing. Happy Passover!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kosher Perfect Matzo Balls

    Serving Size: 1 (450 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 67.3
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    55%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 41.3 mg
    13%
    Sodium 154.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites