Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Kosher Jewish Pickles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kosher Jewish Pickles

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2012

      Well, being from Jersey, having worked for years in NYC and frequented many of the Jewish delis, I needed my fix, a good Kosher pickle. In Utah, pickles and pizza aren't like in NYC, not in the slightest. So, I tried this recipe and others. I followed this one to a T - Stop the Clock! These are exactly, repeat exactly, what I remembered and craved. Yes, the liquid turned cloudy but the results were spot on. And, no vinegar; he's right, no vinegar! I don't know how the others who turned up their noses at this recipe got their end product, but I'm going all in, 5 Pickles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      @BitOBar: your brine turned cloudy because your salt had additives in it. It's not unsafe, just unsightly. You can leave it alone. I use pickling salt, which is absolutely pure sodium chloride with no additives, which prevents the brine from getting cloudy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2012

      Wonderful recipe! I was so happy to find this, I worked for many years in a Jewish deli and these were always my favorite pickles, reminds me of the ones from Carnagie Deli in NYC too. Question though, after the 5 days, I put them in the fridge, they taste wonderful, but brine is cloudy, should I change the brine now?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      I grew up in New York City, where I found "Batampe" pickles to be the best, and was able to buy these on the east coast. This recipe worked perfectly, I am thrilled with the pickles which rival my favorite. As a home gardener I am having a bumper crop of pickles this year and and expect to start batch number two and many more. I bought a one gallon jar a Wallmart new with stainless steel top, it can hold about 15 pickles just cut all other ingredients in half, and use of dry dill weed of 1/2 teaspoon works well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I followed the recipe and it has been a week. Just now tasted them and they taste spoiled. Will not waste my cucumbers on this recipe again.
      Sharon from NC

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2011

      I tried this recipe three different times and followed the directions to the letter.
      The pickles are gross and can't be eaten. Any other recipes that work would be greatly appreciates. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      Fabulous pickles and soooo easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      We've tried this recipe only in smaller batches. We altered the ingredient measures to the amount of pickles. Our whole pickles came out great, just a little on the salty side. However we tried some sliced ones and everytime they come out carbonated and they are nearly impossible to eat.... any pointers or tips??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2009

      Almost exactly what I was looking for! They're definitely the traditional Jewish pickles i remember from my childhood at Ronnie's Deli in Orlando (which I've been craving for forever!). The reviews concerning salt confused me - the recipe as I see it posted says 1/4c salt, which is exactly what I used. I actually think they were a tiny bit bland (I like pickles a little salty), so I'll use 1/3c salt next time, and up my dill and pepper/coriander by a little. I also might pack the dill/spices in with the pickles rather than put them on top. I didn't use grape leaves. I see other recipes calling for the addition of day-stale rye bread, and I might try that next. All in all, simple, crunchy, delish, and true to tradition. My family and I are already gobbling them up and reminiscing about the great pickles of days gone by! Thank you so so much for posting! This will be a frequently used recipe in my house for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I did not grow up on the East Coast, but I recently had lunch at a deli in LA "Nate and Als". We loved the crisp pickles and wanted to duplicate them. Your recipe did it. Easy and Great! But next time I will use a bit less salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      The pickles were really good. I only used about a little over a half cup of kosher salt and they turned out just fine. I thought using a full cup of salt might make them a little too salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      After great anticipation, following the recipe exactly, and 7 days of waiting, I was very disappointed to find these pickles inedible. They smelled great but were way too salty. Now, it could be that I didn't have enough cucumbers to fill the jar, so I had about 1/3 less cukes than the recipe required, but not sure that this makes a difference?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      Sorry, I thought these were way too salty. I have made these type of pickles before and never used that much salt, but I tried the recipe anyway and had to throw them all out. Check out the other recipes for these type of pickles and they use half as much salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2007

      Perfect dill pickles -- very garlicky. After five days, the brine was getting to be murky, so I drained it, rinsed the ingredients, replaced them in the jar with the pickles and new salt brine and put them in the refrigerator. I gave them to my dad on father's day, and they didn't even make it home from the party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      OMG, I LOVE you!!!!! I have been searching for this recipe for soooooooo many years!!!!! I use to make these years ago and had been told they tasted like New York Deli pickles! I live in Oregon, so that meant a lot! I don't use corriander or peppercorns, but do use a whole cayenne pepper and tons of dill heads. I also always have a problem with leakage so I invert the jars (I use wide mouth quart canning jars) in a glass baking dish and then add some of the brine until it covers over the lid ring and I never had leakage again! I also keep mine out for 10 days! OMG, I am so thrilled to see this recipe again! I wasn't sure of the brine strength, now I have it! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kosher Jewish Pickles

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 15

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.6
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    83%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1903.2 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.4 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    27%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh dill

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes