38 Reviews

In India, we make a very similar dish (rice and lentils are a must, no pasta) and the rest is very similar and guess what it is called - "Khichri". Now I know why the name is so similar. It is one of the best comfort foods (and filling) that I know from my childhood days.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToCookForFamily March 01, 2008

Big hit in our family! After reading the reviews, I opted to add an 8-oz. can of tomato sauce to make sure there was enough sauce - we love sauce. When all the components were ready, I mixed it all together, more like a goulash than chili. We loved it that way, though I'm sure it's no longer authentic koshari. It's great comfort food, and it reheats in the microwave like a dream, which is good, because this recipe makes a ton. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Sackville.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama January 14, 2008

This was a fantastic dish - and it even freezes well! Yummy and filling. Two changes I made were reducing the cooking time for the lentils and adding some extra tomato sauce (I used 365 brand Roast Vegetable sauce).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tab Rhinotub January 02, 2008

YUM! This came out really great. I halved the recipe and used brown rice instead of basmati. The rice/lentil mixture had too much water once the rice was cooked through, so I ended up straining it before mixing it with the pasta. I didn't have a can of chopped tomatoes, so I used a can of crushed and just added a little extra pasta sauce. I didn't use the food processor (though because of the crushed tomatoes, the sauce was smooth anyway). Wouldn't change a thing! Great, healthy recipe that I'll definitely make again, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mikey & ev September 22, 2007

I loved this dish. It is so full of flavor that I had to overfill myself just so I could continue tasting this killer dish. I added a little mint and coriander to the sauce as well as a can of tomato sauce as suggested by previous reviews. I'm sure it would be just as good without the spices. I'll definitely be having this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Le Cuisinier Exquis August 21, 2007

I loved this dish. The only thing I did differently (at the advice of other reviewers) is add an 8 oz can of tomato sauce to the tomato mixture. Next time I think I would prefer to use 1/2 cup rice and 1/2 cup of lentils in place of the cup of pasta. I will be making this on a regular basis!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biogirlie June 27, 2007

Very good and very filling. I used a fresh chili pepper instead of the pepper flakes and fried them with the onions and garlic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl March 31, 2007

Wow, very good and very easy too! I didn't think it would taste good since it didn't seem like there were enough spices, but it came out great! I just added a can of tomato sauce with the tomatoes, but other than that it was left the same. Thanks a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hippeastrum March 24, 2007

just what I've been looking for.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
serenity123 February 11, 2007

I eat Koshari at least once a week Its one of the most delicious dishes you'll ever eat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moustafa Nabil January 04, 2007
Koshari