Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Koshari Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Koshari

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-38 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2008

      I was a bit apprehensive about this since we haven't had lentils before, but I gave it a try and I'm glad I did. I used a jar of pureed tomato instead of chopped, and I mixed the sauce in with the rice/lentils/pasta before serving. My family all loved it, my 5 year old asked for more. Will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      Wow! I can't believe how good this was. It was a complete surprise; it didn't look like much. The only change I made was to use a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles and I didn't drain them. BTW, I think this recipe makes more than 6 servings, and it's vegan, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      In India, we make a very similar dish (rice and lentils are a must, no pasta) and the rest is very similar and guess what it is called - "Khichri". Now I know why the name is so similar. It is one of the best comfort foods (and filling) that I know from my childhood days.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      Big hit in our family! After reading the reviews, I opted to add an 8-oz. can of tomato sauce to make sure there was enough sauce - we love sauce. When all the components were ready, I mixed it all together, more like a goulash than chili. We loved it that way, though I'm sure it's no longer authentic koshari. It's great comfort food, and it reheats in the microwave like a dream, which is good, because this recipe makes a ton. Thank you for sharing this recipe, Sackville.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      This is one of my kids favorite meals, plus easy and economic to make! We always add allspice for warm flavor w/out too much heat. I cook up a big pot of lentils and rice w/carmelized onions and and a can of diced or crushed tomatoes @ the start of the week and use half for lentil soup and put the rest aside. Later in the week we have mac & cheese, smoked sausage, and baked beans w/corn. I make extra mac&cheese and immediately mix the leftovers w/the lentils and rice. Next day, all I have to do is add the allspice and heat it up. Usually we serve this w/taboulleh salad. So good and a total healthy hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      This was a fantastic dish - and it even freezes well! Yummy and filling. Two changes I made were reducing the cooking time for the lentils and adding some extra tomato sauce (I used 365 brand Roast Vegetable sauce).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      YUM! This came out really great. I halved the recipe and used brown rice instead of basmati. The rice/lentil mixture had too much water once the rice was cooked through, so I ended up straining it before mixing it with the pasta. I didn't have a can of chopped tomatoes, so I used a can of crushed and just added a little extra pasta sauce. I didn't use the food processor (though because of the crushed tomatoes, the sauce was smooth anyway). Wouldn't change a thing! Great, healthy recipe that I'll definitely make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      I loved this dish. It is so full of flavor that I had to overfill myself just so I could continue tasting this killer dish. I added a little mint and coriander to the sauce as well as a can of tomato sauce as suggested by previous reviews. I'm sure it would be just as good without the spices. I'll definitely be having this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      I loved this dish. The only thing I did differently (at the advice of other reviewers) is add an 8 oz can of tomato sauce to the tomato mixture. Next time I think I would prefer to use 1/2 cup rice and 1/2 cup of lentils in place of the cup of pasta. I will be making this on a regular basis!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Very good and very filling. I used a fresh chili pepper instead of the pepper flakes and fried them with the onions and garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Wow, very good and very easy too! I didn't think it would taste good since it didn't seem like there were enough spices, but it came out great! I just added a can of tomato sauce with the tomatoes, but other than that it was left the same. Thanks a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      just what I've been looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2007

      I eat Koshari at least once a week Its one of the most delicious dishes you'll ever eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      This was good - although I had to add a little salt. My 3 year old LOVES it and keeps requesting 'shari :-) Tom added chicken to it and it was really good! A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      This was good. I also had not enough sauce for the lentils/rice/pasta. And it was just a little too onion-y for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Very good, and easy. The amount of tomato sauce I ended up with was too little to go with all the lentils/rice/pasta. Next time I'll add a couple fresh tomatoes along with the suggested canned tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2002

      Outstanding!!! This was wonderfully flavourful and very hearty, even though each serving "appears" small. I used yellow lentils, small shell pasta, fresh tomatoes, olive oil and red chili powder. The garlic adds the perfect kick! Thanks Friedel, this was perfect! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2002

      This was a good recipe, but I think I will add some different things to it next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Koshari

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.9
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    15%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes