38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C.Luna November 14, 2010

I made this recipe for some of my friends from Saudi Arabia. They could not believe how close it was to the Koshari they had grown up with. On their advice I added chicken bullion to the liquid and it turned out perfectly. I will definitely make this dish again and again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellewoods808 April 18, 2010

Loved this recipe. However, I made some tweaks to it that I thought added to the flavor. After caramelizing the onions and garlic, I added the cooked pasta to the pot and fried it a little bit with some of the juice from the tomatoes. I also added a little bit of chili powder and some chicken bullion to the lentils/rice. I could see myself eating a big bowl of this on a cold day. Definitely comfort food! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canned_ham December 16, 2009

Very Tasty! This may be due, in part, to the type of canned tomatoes I used: Aylmer Accents Chili Seasonings. I just realized that I didn't cook any pasta.. and I've finished 2 helpings! :D :D Maybe I'll add some to the leftovers when I have them tomorrow! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 November 18, 2009

I really liked this dish a lot. I did put the sauce into my blender and smoothed it out some. I think it tastes even better on day 2! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a healthy, hearty vegetarian main dish. Although I think it definitely could be jazzed up some to make it more exciting...depending on personal taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laughing in the Kitchen August 21, 2009

I used tomato sauce so I wouldn't have to blend it and used double the amount of sauce based on other reviews. It was good and filling but a little bland. We put hot sauce and parmesan on it and enjoyed it that way. A really good nutritious vegetarian meal on a budget! We'll be having this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 July 18, 2009

I saw it on "Anthony Bourdain" and I had it at Al Masri, and Egyptian restaurant in San Francisco. I'm always looking for new veggi dishes. I found it rather dry on my first go round so I doublrd up on the macaroni and a jar of ragu sauce the second time through. I note that it's served with hot saucce and a vinegar garlic sauce, so I dded s bit of white wine vinegar to irt and served it with Sriracha sauce for a prety good "Down home" flavor. That works!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paul_cowan September 23, 2008

We tried this last night and weren't thrilled with the results unfortunately. I used extra tomatoes and half a can of tomato paste to increase the amount of sauce as some others suggested but it still didn't seem to be quite enough. My husband gave it 2 stars, but I'd like to give it another try with more sauce and maybe some fresh spinach mixed in. It was easy to make (although it used quite a few dishes) and made a lot, which is good for our family. The kids also ate it well and it was very healthy. Thanks for the idea to build off :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama August 26, 2008

We weren't sure what this would taste like, but it wasn't our favorite. I do like the lentil-rice-pasta base, and we'll definitely use that as a foundation for other dishes that better suit our palates. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan Courtney June 15, 2008
Koshari