Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Koshari Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Koshari

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2011

      Excellent. I liked this very much. I admit that I am a big time meat eater, and the only reason I made this was because I am trying new dishes that use Basmati rice. I'm glad I tried this one. The only thing I did different was to add a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce a little more, otherwise did as instructed and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2014

      My vegetarian daughter loves this dish. She asks me to make it at least once a week. She likes things spicy so I add a tablespoon of red pepper flakes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2013

      Interesting dish. I thought it was too spicy but others liked it a lot. It's always fun to try other cuisines!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      Recently had this dish at Abu Tarek, the place visited in Bourdain's Cairo episode. There, chick peas are served with it. Separate stainless serving dishes arrive with the fried onions, chick peas, lentils, hot sauce and tomato sauce in each. Also a steel pitcher is on the table, containing "garlic vinegar." So you can adjust to taste, and, as I like to do, keep them separate, and mix as you go, which keeps it interesting. <br/><br/>A few labor-saving suggestions: use a garlic-based pasta sauce, adding cumin and fried onion and sri racha hot sauce to it; a product at the Chinese markets called "Fried Scallion" is very close to the fried onions used. You can skip many of the ingredients and it will still be delicious, but the onions are key.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      Well this was quite good! I was worried that it wouldn't be too flavorful, so I added cumin and chili powder to the tomato mixture, and some garam masala to the lentil mixture. It was just right that way. I also left out the pasta. This made a great meal for meatless Monday- thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2013

      I made this for Egypt in my cooking adventures around the world and it turned out quite well! I accidently made it a bit too spicy by adding more crushed red pepper, but my husband loved it that way. Thanks!
      http://hetzelkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/10/egypt.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      very tasty. I froze a lot of it for later, and I am eating it reheated now; I wouldn't say it freezes well. If you're planning on freezing left-overs, be sure to cook everything very lightly (perhaps it's just that pasta and lentils don't freeze well). I agree with another reviewer, more sauce would be nice! Next time I would use 2 cans of tomato...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Wow! As did another reviewer, I saw this on No Reservations and was so curious I made it for my mother and father the next day! Dad doesn't like onions so I only diced one in with the sauce and kept the four cloves of garlic. Like others said, I would DEFINITELY recommend getting two cans or more of tomato, only one can likely won't be enough. Very flavorful and delicious. Make sure you crisp some onions in the pan and put them on top, it's to die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Wow! Delicious and seems versatile. This time around I didn't do anything 'extra', just made it straight as the recipe called for. We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This was not a favorite of my family's. I thought the recipe looked a little bland, so I took a few suggestions from the other comments. It just didn't come together the way I expected.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I made this recipe for some of my friends from Saudi Arabia. They could not believe how close it was to the Koshari they had grown up with. On their advice I added chicken bullion to the liquid and it turned out perfectly. I will definitely make this dish again and again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

    • on December 16, 2009

      Loved this recipe. However, I made some tweaks to it that I thought added to the flavor. After caramelizing the onions and garlic, I added the cooked pasta to the pot and fried it a little bit with some of the juice from the tomatoes. I also added a little bit of chili powder and some chicken bullion to the lentils/rice. I could see myself eating a big bowl of this on a cold day. Definitely comfort food! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Very Tasty! This may be due, in part, to the type of canned tomatoes I used: Aylmer Accents Chili Seasonings. I just realized that I didn't cook any pasta.. and I've finished 2 helpings! :D :D Maybe I'll add some to the leftovers when I have them tomorrow! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      I really liked this dish a lot. I did put the sauce into my blender and smoothed it out some. I think it tastes even better on day 2! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a healthy, hearty vegetarian main dish. Although I think it definitely could be jazzed up some to make it more exciting...depending on personal taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      I used tomato sauce so I wouldn't have to blend it and used double the amount of sauce based on other reviews. It was good and filling but a little bland. We put hot sauce and parmesan on it and enjoyed it that way. A really good nutritious vegetarian meal on a budget! We'll be having this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I saw it on "Anthony Bourdain" and I had it at Al Masri, and Egyptian restaurant in San Francisco. I'm always looking for new veggi dishes. I found it rather dry on my first go round so I doublrd up on the macaroni and a jar of ragu sauce the second time through. I note that it's served with hot saucce and a vinegar garlic sauce, so I dded s bit of white wine vinegar to irt and served it with Sriracha sauce for a prety good "Down home" flavor. That works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      We tried this last night and weren't thrilled with the results unfortunately. I used extra tomatoes and half a can of tomato paste to increase the amount of sauce as some others suggested but it still didn't seem to be quite enough. My husband gave it 2 stars, but I'd like to give it another try with more sauce and maybe some fresh spinach mixed in. It was easy to make (although it used quite a few dishes) and made a lot, which is good for our family. The kids also ate it well and it was very healthy. Thanks for the idea to build off :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      We weren't sure what this would taste like, but it wasn't our favorite. I do like the lentil-rice-pasta base, and we'll definitely use that as a foundation for other dishes that better suit our palates. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Koshari

    Serving Size: 1 (203 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.9
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    15%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 12.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 13.0 g
    52%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    20%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes