38 Reviews

Excellent. I liked this very much. I admit that I am a big time meat eater, and the only reason I made this was because I am trying new dishes that use Basmati rice. I'm glad I tried this one. The only thing I did different was to add a couple of tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce a little more, otherwise did as instructed and it turned out great.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney March 09, 2011

My vegetarian daughter loves this dish. She asks me to make it at least once a week. She likes things spicy so I add a tablespoon of red pepper flakes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
penjomiles January 20, 2014

Interesting dish. I thought it was too spicy but others liked it a lot. It's always fun to try other cuisines!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg (CaymanDesigns) October 19, 2013

Recently had this dish at Abu Tarek, the place visited in Bourdain's Cairo episode. There, chick peas are served with it. Separate stainless serving dishes arrive with the fried onions, chick peas, lentils, hot sauce and tomato sauce in each. Also a steel pitcher is on the table, containing "garlic vinegar." So you can adjust to taste, and, as I like to do, keep them separate, and mix as you go, which keeps it interesting. <br/><br/>A few labor-saving suggestions: use a garlic-based pasta sauce, adding cumin and fried onion and sri racha hot sauce to it; a product at the Chinese markets called "Fried Scallion" is very close to the fried onions used. You can skip many of the ingredients and it will still be delicious, but the onions are key.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacknyc March 23, 2013

Well this was quite good! I was worried that it wouldn't be too flavorful, so I added cumin and chili powder to the tomato mixture, and some garam masala to the lentil mixture. It was just right that way. I also left out the pasta. This made a great meal for meatless Monday- thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer January 21, 2013

I made this for Egypt in my cooking adventures around the world and it turned out quite well! I accidently made it a bit too spicy by adding more crushed red pepper, but my husband loved it that way. Thanks!
http://hetzelkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/10/egypt.html

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jibchmarl January 10, 2013

very tasty. I froze a lot of it for later, and I am eating it reheated now; I wouldn't say it freezes well. If you're planning on freezing left-overs, be sure to cook everything very lightly (perhaps it's just that pasta and lentils don't freeze well). I agree with another reviewer, more sauce would be nice! Next time I would use 2 cans of tomato...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lrn2trvl December 16, 2011

Wow! As did another reviewer, I saw this on No Reservations and was so curious I made it for my mother and father the next day! Dad doesn't like onions so I only diced one in with the sauce and kept the four cloves of garlic. Like others said, I would DEFINITELY recommend getting two cans or more of tomato, only one can likely won't be enough. Very flavorful and delicious. Make sure you crisp some onions in the pan and put them on top, it's to die for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardenstomp March 09, 2011

Wow! Delicious and seems versatile. This time around I didn't do anything 'extra', just made it straight as the recipe called for. We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tamalita62 February 11, 2011

This was not a favorite of my family's. I thought the recipe looked a little bland, so I took a few suggestions from the other comments. It just didn't come together the way I expected.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lc9988 January 03, 2011
Koshari