42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM! Very good and spice can be adjusted for taste. (We inevitably added more red pepper as crazy Koreans!). Two tips: 1) We decreased the amt of sesame oil as we used the DARK asian kind (about half). 2) I par-steamed the broccoli before adding it to the stirfry so the other veggies would remain crisp. 3) I doubled the sauce to cover the veggies more, and it was great over rice/noodles!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emily Han May 04, 2009

We loved this sauce! I did add 1 teaspoon of oyster sauce which seemed to blend the flavors. I have made this often. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka December 22, 2010

Made for a very enjoyable meal, though I did fiddle with quantities using 2lb 12oz sliced rump steak and doubled the sauce but used about 2 cups of water with 2 tablespoons cornflour/cornstarch. Used the quantities of vegies specified and served with fried rice (done our way). The DH was doing the cooking (I did all the prep) and he chose to stir fry the vegetables first and heated up the sauce for thickening (hence adding more liquid for it was very thick) and then added the meat and stir fried vegetables (included snow peas) and made for a delicious meal and the DH has left overs for night shifts. The only change we would suggest is that instead of dried red pepper flakes to use fresh chilli- just personal taste. Thank you mikekey for a delicious meal, made the Potluck Tag. UPDATE - we have now made this recipe several times and has become a requested recipe but admit that there are always some minor changes depending on what vegies are in season when we make but otherwise what I have already added using fresh chillies and adding ginger this is one really good recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat February 09, 2011

Yummy! This was very good with a nice kick to it! I made exactly to directions except used veggies I had on hand and whole family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
traceyham423 December 30, 2014

Used venison (leftover roasted loin) and added at the very end. Doubled sauce. Very salty -- a low salt soya sauce would be better for our taste. Added more/other veggies than it called for; broccoli (3 cups), red pepper (1 large, 1 small), mushrooms (1 cup), onion (1 cup). Used 1/2 the red pepper flakes. Served over rice. This was a winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN December 28, 2014

Very good! I doubled the recipe and added red pepper instead of cauliflower, I also cut down a bit on the sesame oil. Other than that stuck to the recipe and really enjoyed it. I may try it with chicken or fish next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liljenn November 19, 2014

I don't write reviews often but I didn't want someone else to have their dinner ruined. 2 tablespoons of sesame totally ruined this recipe! Am I the only one that thought it was terrible, It made it taste sour. I used 1 tablespoon of dark sesame oil and doubled the rest of the ingredients and it wasn't edible. I have never found a recipe I couldn't save somehow but this one was it! I know sesame oil is strong that is why I only used 1 tablespoon and I was thinking this is to much. Did the rest of you use sesame oil? I used trimmings from a beef tenderloin and was so disappointed I had to throw it all away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratkat90210 May 20, 2013

Followed as written except for adding a touch of freshly grated ginger....loved the sauce. I definately will make this again and maybe change some of the vegies up when I need to clean my fridge. Thank you for posting. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 02, 2013

My son and his friends went wild over this. They said it was better than takeout. High praise from 11 year olds! I did double the sauce and added fresh grated ginger and extra red pepper. I used snow peas instead of cauliflower as that was what I had around the house. I also added in some of those little baby corns just because the kids love them. I think this would work with a variety of vegetables or shoots. It is great over rice or even Shirataki noodles for those watching the carbs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gennet J. January 26, 2013
Korean Vegetable-Beef Stir Fry