14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Turned out great but will use a bit less spice. Loved it on our salad with Korean tacos.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 22, 2014

This was delicious! I did add some ginger, cut back a little on the sesame oil but otherwise followed the instructions. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf May 15, 2013

I made this in hopes it might take the place of a similar marindae/sauce from Trader joe's that they no longer carry. My SIL loves it on cooked asparagus - I can't wait to have her try this. This worked great as a sub!! We will use this often - I'm looking forward to trying it on a cabbage salad next! Made for ZWT6 - Asia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva May 29, 2010

This was lovely over our salad tonight. I halved the recipe and that seemed enough for our family for one meal. Instead of the chilli flakes I used about a teaspoon of sambal oelek and a teaspoon of caster sugar and cut right back on the garlic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies August 13, 2008

I put this over a broccoli salad. While tasty, a bit overpowering in saltiness and sesame oil (and I used reduced salt soy sauce). The chili pepper flakes give just the right amount of heat to spice any salad up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers July 10, 2008

I was a little hesitant with the amounts of soy sauce and sesame oil - but they blended so well with the rest of the ingredients. Have found some Korean recipes here on Zaar that have become family favorites ... now I have a salad dressing for salads to add the next time I make them. Made two mini individual salads - found I really love this with the cabbage combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry July 06, 2008

This was nice. I 1/4'd the amounts used it in a mixed salad with tomatoes and some crunchier veggies with it. We left out the sugar, but used everything else as written. Liked the flavour of the sesame oil, found the soy sauce a little too heavy with the tomatoes. Definitely works well with crunchy type salad veggies and would be great with asparagus or broccoli. Really good as a dip for spring rolls. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 04, 2008

Tasty, easy, and handy but I will use less sesame oil next time. I did use the suggested amount of red pepper flakes and liked that very much. I used ours over a simple salad of water chestnuts and red pepper. Thanks for sharing, Kumquat the Cat's friend. Made as part of ZWT4 for the Flying Dutchess'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal June 02, 2008

This was very tasty on a simple salad of some Bibb lettuce. I might cut back on the sesame oil just a bit next time, but enjoyed the zip from the vinegar. Made for ZWT4 as part of the Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles. Thanks- ~Sue

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau May 27, 2008

Made & reviewed for ZWT 4 ~ Kumquat's Kookin' Kaboodles! Well Captain Kumquat, I have to tell you that this is one AWESOME salad dressing! We had it tonight on our salad with chicken. I will never eat any Korean / Chinese / Thai food again without this! Thanks for an amazing recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia May 26, 2008
Korean Style Salad Dressing