190 Reviews

Made exactly as written. Excellent dinner I would serve to company! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen L. June 26, 2016

I was hesitant to make this. Thought the soy sauce would overpower the dish (let alone marinade the chicken for hours), but this was wonderful. I ran out of soy sauce, so used 1/4 cup Ponzu sauce also. Added a source of sweetness (pureed dates I had in the fridge), a yellow onion, garlic, and some hot sauce. I love this dish. You can add anything to it to twist up the flavors a bit. 1/2 cup of soy sauce is the perfect start to a great chicken dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jashley1000 May 07, 2016

Simple, economical, delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanie s. December 20, 2015

Absolutely delicious. A little salty, maybe less soy or reduced sodium soy, but definitely a keeper. Served over brown rice. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
903635 December 20, 2015

This was really good. The flavor was really subtle on the chicken, but the skin was delish! Definitely my favorite part! I followed the recipe exactly, but I think next time I'll do 2 Tbsp of sesame oil and 1 Tbsp of hot chili oil for some spice. I also added toasted sesame seeds to the top of the chicken too. It was really good. You could also add a little more ginger powder or use fresh ginger for more of that flavor because you couldn't really tell.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myersse.2015 October 24, 2015

I'll give it five stars if you substitute 2 tablespoons of the sesame oil for olive oil or vegetable oil, 3 tablespoons of sesame is overwhelming. I used bone-in thighs and marinated them for a couple hours in the sauce. Cooked it at 325 for a half hour, flipped the pieces and cooked it for another half hour, flipped it back skin-side up and put it in the broiler for 5 minutes or so to crisp it up. Put the sauce in a gravy strainer at the end, as there was a lot of oil sitting on the top. Served over rice and vegetables. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michael B. March 26, 2015

This was very easy and simple to make, and tasted delicious. I didn't have sesame oil or green onions, so I used vegetable oil and regular white onions. I also used more ginger and garlic, but I think I could have used even more of both. The chicken was moist and delicious, and not too salty at all. I did what another reviewer suggested, and put the oven on "broil" for the last ten minutes, after flipping the chicken thighs skin side up. The skin did indeed crisp, but it also burned a little bit. No biggie at all. It tasted good and looked even better. Phenomenal, easy, quick recipe. Serving suggestion: I served this with rice and garlic kale. We spooned the juices from the baking dish onto the rice and mixed it in. It was a little greasy but it tasted great, and the kale lightened it up, and could also be mixed up with the rice. No one needed to season their food further, which almost never happens. I only left off a star because I've had better, but this was truly a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corinna b. February 01, 2015

Excellent and easy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedhairMac December 15, 2014

We used boneless skinless thighs, and marinated in the morning, before baking in the evening. I added a couple dashes of red pepper flakes to balance the sweet, and reduced the sesame oil to 1 tb. Baked for 30 min, then flip the chicken, and in for another 15. Perfect! Served with Trader Joe's microwaved organic jasmine rice steam packs and some steamed broccoli. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BeeGee December 04, 2014

Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 November 14, 2014
Korean Roast Chicken Thighs