184 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very easy and simple to make, and tasted delicious. I didn't have sesame oil or green onions, so I used vegetable oil and regular white onions. I also used more ginger and garlic, but I think I could have used even more of both. The chicken was moist and delicious, and not too salty at all. I did what another reviewer suggested, and put the oven on "broil" for the last ten minutes, after flipping the chicken thighs skin side up. The skin did indeed crisp, but it also burned a little bit. No biggie at all. It tasted good and looked even better. Phenomenal, easy, quick recipe. Serving suggestion: I served this with rice and garlic kale. We spooned the juices from the baking dish onto the rice and mixed it in. It was a little greasy but it tasted great, and the kale lightened it up, and could also be mixed up with the rice. No one needed to season their food further, which almost never happens. I only left off a star because I've had better, but this was truly a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
corinna b. February 01, 2015

Excellent and easy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedhairMac December 15, 2014

We used boneless skinless thighs, and marinated in the morning, before baking in the evening. I added a couple dashes of red pepper flakes to balance the sweet, and reduced the sesame oil to 1 tb. Baked for 30 min, then flip the chicken, and in for another 15. Perfect! Served with Trader Joe's microwaved organic jasmine rice steam packs and some steamed broccoli. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef BeeGee December 04, 2014

Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
909692 November 14, 2014

I gave this 4 stars only because I prefer the skin to be more crisp. Otherwise it was VERY TASTY!!! Didn't have any green onion, so I used yellow onion. Will make this again, but will broil it a little just to crisp-up the skin. THANKS for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman June 13, 2014

Great flavour, simple preparation. I let the chicken marinate for 3 hours. Reduced the heat to 350F and it was done in the same amount of time. I used a dark sesame oil which is very strong so I put in about 2 tsps of that and made up the rest with canola oil. Even though I used low sodium soy sauce, I still found it very salty, so may reduce that or add a bit of water next time. Thanks for a great recipe that I will be sure to use again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word June 08, 2014

Substituted vegetable oil for sesame. Marinated boneless thighs for two hours. Rather than baking I grilled the thighs. Served with spicy rice dish and steamed broccoli fresh from the garden. Very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsoul51 June 05, 2014

I wanted to try something new. I stumbled across this recipe and i followed it to the T...I increased the number of pieces to 12 and marinated the chicken pieces for 6 hours I baked it covered for 2 hours on 325 then the last hour uncovered ( 3 hours total) it browned nicely and the taste was amazing. I did add brown sugar to thicken the juice but it didn't work but it was a winner for dinner with my kids. I served it over steamed rice and broccoli ..... Can't wait for leftovers .... This is a new one for the books...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazzijai June 03, 2014

This was delicious!!!!!!! Will be making this recipe again and I can't wait!!! My husband and I love it! I realized I had bought skinless chicken thighs though, it still tasted great but I will have skin on thighs next time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Boyardeena April 17, 2014

This is outstanding! But do NOT substitute for the sesame oil. I tried it, and it just wasn't even close. Use the sesame oil, and I suggest garnishing with some toasted sesame seeds as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich March 15, 2014
Korean Roast Chicken Thighs