Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Korean Roast Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Korean Roast Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    179 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 179

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2010

      So simple, quick, and delicious. The green onion is not a must, chopped yellow or white onions work fine. After making this about 10 times, I now put all the ingredients in a gallon size plastic bag the day before and marinate it overnight. I increased the amounts of garlic and ginger. The first time I made it, some of the sauce burned a bit, so I cut back the oven temp to 325-350 and just cook it a bit longer. Delicious every time and never get tired of it. My 16 y.o. daughter's favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I made this 2 times within 4 days. The 1st time I used bone in thighs with skin and it was good but the 2nd time I used boneless skinless thighs and marinated for 2 hours and it was PHENOMENAL!!!!! My husband was beside himself and made noises all throughout the meal :O) I was so proud because not only was it AWESOME, it looked just beautiful! I garnished with green onion and served over white rice with eggrolls. I have been telling anyone who will listen how fantastic this recipe is! My hubby said it was in the top 5 all time awesome meals I have cooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      This was really good. I took out a package of bone-in, skin on chicken thighs out of the freezer, there were five pieces in the bag. I let them thaw over night, mixed up the sauce ingredients in the morning, with a few changes, didn't have honey, so I used brown sugar, sprinkled some hot pepper flakes for zing, and I did not use three tablespoons of sesame oil. I would NEVER use three tablespoons of sesame oil in anything. It would be totally overwhelming. I used just one tablespoon.I don't normally have such a strong opinion but I made the mistake once, in a marinade for grilled salmon. I couldn't go near sesame oil for two years. I poured the sauce ingredients into the bag with the chicken and left it all day in the fridge. Baked as directed, turning twice, once every twenty minutes, ending with skin side up, and turned the broiler on the last five minutes or so to crisp up the skin as another reviewer suggest. Served with white rice. They were excellent! Moist and tender and not too salty at all. Thanks so much! I love fast and simple, these were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This has become one of my go-to recipes. It is great! I prefer skin off, bone in thighs. I usually cut down on the soy sauce and replace some of it with water or use low sodium soy sauce. I also add red pepper flakes or cayenne to give it some kick.
      Absolutely delicious over rice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      oh WOW! i had been eyeing this recipe for nearly a week, as i had some frozen thighs, desperate to be prepared. after reading through all of the reviews numerous times, i tweeked only a few things. i did end up marinating the thighs, overnight. i used a ginger-infused soy sauce [i think fresh ginger would have definitely punched it up quite a few notches], a pinch and a half of brown sugar, and a shake of red pepper flakes. i scaled it down to two thighs, baked for thirty minutes before turning, and ten more afterwards. i have never roasted such moist chicken, EVER. the flavor was delicious, and everyone was quite pleased. thank you so much for unfreezing my chicken thighs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      This is a keeper-we all loved it. I did put this under the broiler so the skin to get crusty. Served this with Easy Chopped Buttery Crunchy Broccoli Saute and Easy Garlic Rice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      Made this last night for dinner and WOW! I only used 4 thicken thighs with skin and the bones but used the full amount of sauce. I did marinate them for about 2 1/2 hours and then baked them. I used fresh ginger, 1 large clove of garlic minced and added about 1/4 tsp. chili garlic sauce for some kick. Oh yes, as some other reviews suggested I added just a little cornstarch (to thicken a little) and about 1 1/2 Tbls. of brown sugar (for more sweetness). The chicken was soooo moist and flavorful...just perfectly done! Served with Oriental Asparagus and Mushrooms#160213 and Kittencal's Best Chinese Fried Rice With Egg#347607. What a fabulous meal...DH wants this again next week! Thank you for a wonderful recipe to put in my Favorites of 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      This is a lovely recipe, we did enjoyed the chicken. I used bone and skin on thighs. Unfortunately the temperature was too high and our chicken burned. It still tasted good and had nice texture, but there was no sauce to speak of....and we peeled off the burnt skin. I love all the ingredients in the sauce and will make this again, but at a much lower temperature. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for Best of 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      I've had this recipe saved for awhile in my cookbooks, and decided this was the night to make it. I read some of reviews (there is a LOT!), so I adjusted the recipe. I used half of the sesame oil, half of the honey (because I don't like overly sweet meat), and cut the soy sauce with a little water so it wouldn't be too salty. I used fresh ginger, more garlic, and put it under the broiler to crisp up the skin some. I used bone in chicken thighs, which I let marinate for an hour or so in the sauce before putting it in the oven. I toasted sesame seeds to adorn it along with chopped green onions, and served it with rice and green beans. It was wonderful! So, am I rating a recipe that's not true as written, even though I used all of the ingredients, or just listening to others who have tried it? I think we can all use our own tweaks, and if they turn out, great! So, thank you all of the past posters for your tips! I will make this recipe over and over because it was so good, and we loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      I used reduced sodium soy sauce & 1 T. sesame oil (trust the other reviewer that stated too much sesame oil will ruin a dish) & bone in chicken thighs. This was so tender & delicious. I let it marinate in a freezer bag overnight, used sliced vidalia onion (which carmalized beautifully while baking). This will be a repeat in our house for sure. Note: I baked, covered with foil for about 45 minutes and then removed cover for an additional 20 minutes. Kids all but licked their plates. Served with Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung (which we thought was just ok) & Korean Spiced Kidney Beans (which was a wonderful side with the chicken), lastly, I had steamed broccoli on the side. Thanks for sharing, this one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Boneless, skinless chicken thighs were used and cutting the cooking time to about 45 minutes. The sesame oil and honey were both reduced somewhat. After the chicken came out moist and tender, the sauce was placed in a pan on top of the stove and a touch of cornstarch added to thicken. The thickened sauce was spooned over the chicken and then it was sprinkled lightly with sesame seeds. I will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

      This was GREAT!!!! The family loved it. I made a few minor changes though:
      I only used 1 1/2 tablespoons of sesame oil. It can be really overpowering
      I added about a teaspoon of minced orange zest, which added a citrus element to the chicken.
      1/2 tsp - 1tsp of red pepper flakes and it was perfect!
      I loved this recipe. Definitely added it to the rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      YUMMMM! Made this as written without any alterations to ingredients. I did marinate for an hour in a ziploc bag before putting in a PAM sprayed baking dish. Everyone walking in the door wanted to know what was for dinner because it smelled so good. The chicken was moist and wonderfully flavored. Although the chicken was really good on its own, after removing the chicken from the baking dish I emptied the rest of the sauce into a saute pan, added a couple tablespoons of brown sugar and reduced the sauce by half. The sauce really made this dish out of this world. Just a bit of extra sauce on each chicken thigh to go with the steamed rice and it was absolutely amazing. Fantastic quick, easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      The whole family loved these last week so much that they've asked for them again tonight! Thanks a bunch Petunia! Second time around I thickened the sauce at the end with some cornstarch. Yummy! My 9 yr old picky eater at 3 pieces!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      I made this recipe as written, but I gave it only 3 stars because it was just too soy-eee ( ok, not a word) for me. It probably would be much better if tweaked somehow, but then I wouldn't be rating this recipe fairly; ie: I would be rating my adjusted recipe, which many posters tend to do when rating a recipe. I wouldn't make this again, without rethinking, and adjusting the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      This was really good! I think I'd like just a bit more of a spicy bite to the sauce, so I'll add either chili flakes or chile garlic sauce next time. I cooked 2 thighs, but made half of the sauce and served it over jasmine rice. Additionally, I minced the white part of the green onions, but kept the green parts to garnish the completed dish, giving a fresh crunch to it. This was fully cooked after 45 minutes, I checked the temp after 20 minutes and flipped the pieces over at that point to finish cooking. The flavors of sesame, honey and soy were very nicely balanced I wouldn't change anything about the ingredients except to change the ginger to fresh- I always prefer fresh ingredients when I can get them. Very nice- I may try using this as a marinade, and cooking the chicken on the grill. Thanks for a wonderful dinner; I'm already looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      This was really very good. The aroma of the sesame oil alone was heaven. It made lots of sauce which I served over Basmati rice and got nice comments on. I would have enjoyed the sauce being a little thicker is my only comment. Maybe adding a little cornstarch with the other ingredients would accomodate this. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Great easy recipe. The taste was good, but not eye popping delicious, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I basted every 15 minutes, but i think marinating is a great idea. Next time I may try it in a crock pot. I will definitely be making this again - especially if it works well in the crock.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      So easy and so good. This is a keeper recipe especially for all the working mom. I added 1 tablespoon of garlic chili because my family likes spicy food. Everything else was the same. Man, is it good. I used the same amount ingredients on 14 drumsticks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      I didnt change a thing with this recipe and it was great. Served with white rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Korean Roast Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (132 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 281.5
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    62%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 78.9 mg
    26%
    Sodium 1078.3 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 6.9 g
    27%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites